We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Melanesian Port Vila
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We only stayed for 2 nights but we really enjoyed the hotel and were impressed by our room and the location. The hotel is close to town and we had no problem walking into town or paying the small fee to get a bus. The room and bathroom looked very crisp and modern and we really enjoyed the pool and poolside bar. The buffet breakfast included was absolutely amazing, the local tanna coffee, waffles, pastries, eggs, juice, fruit, etc, was definitely a highlight of our stay. The staff were lovely and the welcome drinks were a nice surprise.

Room Tip: We stayed in the orchid room which faced the pool and was a very short walk to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaysee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in providing a professional service to our valued guests. Situated in a convenient location close to town and supermarkets makes it easy to go places. We thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    156
    61
    13
    7
See reviews for
54
110
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Firstly let me say that we have stayed at the Melanesian many times as we travel there every year. We have always enjoyed our stays at the Melanesian, but not this time.
We were looking forward to enjoying the upgraded rooms and pool but alas the hotel did not value our loyalty. There were a number of issues:
1) Our room stank of smoke even though we had booked and given a non-smoking room. We were aware the hotel was full on the first couple of nights so we could not move and we felt the feeble apology by the manger was just lip service.
2) The room configuration was not as booked
3) We had to pay extra for a 3rd person, no problem with that except the charge was 90% of the room charge (yes almost double!), when we complained we received a small discount, but BUT WE WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN.

Next year we will book another hotel, so the hotel's policy of gouging for 3rd person will have produced a negative result for them.

I have rated as poor rather than terrible due to past performance, certainly not for this stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and comments received. We do apologies for the smell of smoke from guest using their balcony for smoking. Your comment will be forwarded to the department concern to action. We do hope that we can provide you with a room in one of our other building complex. Please talk to our reception or reservation staff for a non-smoking room. We welcome you any time on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here for the accommodation part, instead we went to The Melanesian for the food and entertainment.

We were staying at another accommodation, and although where we were was great, food was not something I would rave about.

We overheard a couple saying that they were going to the Melanesian for the buffet and entertainment. My partner and his mum then talked to the couple and we all (myself, my partner, our then 7 month daughter and my partner's mother) tagged along lol.

I have to say that Vanuatu people love babies and kids :) we arrived at the restaurant and we were seated promptly and the waiters and waitresses wanted to hold my little girl which they did for half hour, passing her from one person to another in full view where I could see her. This was great because I had time to eat and enjoy my dinner and enjoy the show.

The show consisted of men dressed in I think Vanuatu native costume and they danced their traditional dance and after the second dance, they invited everyone to try kava. It was really good because they involved people and we all felt welcomed and were being introduced to their culture.

Then came the food - for the price we paid which included entertainment and food - WORTH IT! I went back for seconds :-D
We arrived there at 6.30 pm and it finished at around nearly 9 pm.

The restaurant and entertainment area was upstairs and in the middle was the hotel pool. Too bad we forgot our swimmers.

Definitely recommend this place for food and entertainment!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank angelacharisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Angelacharisse,

Thank you very much for the wonderful comments on the evening feast. The staff on duty at the time will be commented on their assistance during that time and especially your baby. On your next visit, you may book with us to enjoy the friendly environment of the hotel, staff and also enjoy the Melanesian feast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

5 minute walk downhill to town (Port Vila). Clean rooms that look new as have had a recent renovation. Kind, helpful staff. Cultural nights three times per week. Not beachfront. Outside of hotel looks like approx 3 star Australian motel. Kids loved the pool, we loved the cocktails. We enjoyed our stay, but be prepared to cab/bus around to activities (cheap). Thank you for a lovely stay!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank X_LiliB_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear X_LiliB_X,

Thank you for your positive comments on the hotel. We look forward to having you at the the Melanesian hotel on your next trip to Vanuatu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold coast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at the Melanesian for a week in October 2013. We enjoyed our stay. The staff are excellent, very friendly and very helpful and informative. One staff member even lent us his phone as ours had run out of credit. The rooms are spacious with room for bags, bathroom with bath, wardrobe, safe, iron and ironing board. Rooms serviced daily. It is a short walk to large supermarket and walking distance to almost everything. It has a nice pool, great breakfast with lots of choices, cultural dance/kava tasting night, bar to order drinks, lunch and dinner and snacks. We stayed in room 104 which is on the ground floor and opens out to the restaurant tables and breakfast area. We loved being able to walk out our back door and sit down at the tables for breakfast. It seemed to be a good place for people on business trips with a conference room. It also has a beauty salon where we got a fantastic hot stone massage. Also a night club and casino is at the front near the road but away from the rooms so you don't hear anything. We were sad to leave. We would recommend the Melanesian.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor near the breakfast serving area are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Carmel,

Thank you for the wonderful comments well received by the hotel. Your comments will be forward to each department for staff appraisals. We look forward to see you again at the Melanesian Hotel next time you visit Vanuatu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at The Melanesian for a week in mid July – this was our fourth visit over several years and it’s always a pleasure to return. It’s in a great location, walking distance to town and several restaurants within a few blocks. As on previous visits we had a room on the top floor – the recent renovation has been very tastefully done and our room was very pleasant and spacious. What really makes this a great place is the friendliness of the staff – always smiling, friendly and ever helpful. The buffet breakfast is excellent: very fresh, plentiful and so much choice – another highlight. In fact all meals were good and the menu varied. Laundry service is fast and inexpensive. Our only negative comment is that we got tired of the loud music in the pool area – made more irritating by the fact that the one soundtrack seemed to play constantly, all day, every day - I never want to hear Taylor Swift wailing again! However, we spent a lot of our time exploring the island, so didn’t let it bother us too much. We will return to Vanuatu, and to The Melanesian.

Room Tip: The ground floor is fine if you want to be close to the pool and don't mind some noise, otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumnut2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Gumnut,

Thank you for your positive comments that will be forward to the department concern, however, the department concern is reviewing all the music selections played at the bar and hopefully a good selection of music will bring back the friendly relaxing environment around the poolside area. We hope you will visit us again in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

If visiting Vanuatu on holiday it is better to stay out at one of the resorts, but if you have a late or morning flight or want a day or two in Port Vila for cheap shopping then this is a great place to stay. It is walking distance to almost everything, it has the pool, good breakfast, cultural / Kava night, nice rooms and nice staff. Good also if staying in Vila for work.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear PhillyJoan,

Thank you for your positive comments well received. We hope you will visit or stay at the Melanesian on your next business or leisure trip to Vanuatu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.2 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
526 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
666 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melanesian Port Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Property: The Melanesian Port Vila
Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is a must see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing