We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Melanesian Port Vila
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for one night in between flights. The Melanesian is tucked down a drive and looks a bit dated from the outside, but the rooms are very clean and modern with all the conveniences you need. We stayed there on recommendation from one of the owners of a resort on Aore Island as she stays there every time she goes to Vila. Staff were very helpful and friendly upon check in and took our bags up to our room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kruzesales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Kruzesales,

Thank you for your wonderful comments received. Our hard working staff from the house-keeping do their best in ensuring that the rooms are well cleaned and maintain for the comfort of guests. Also to mentioned our front desk friendly staff as they strife in providing a professional service to any guest arriving or leaving the hotel. Your comments will be forwarded the departments concern for staff appraisals. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Melanesian Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for one night due to flight rescheduling as a lay over before flying home.
The Melanesian is about a 10-15 min walk out of town. 1800 VT by taxi from the airport. There was a problem with our voucher at check in but this was sorted out reasonably quickly. The buildings from the outside look dated and apartment block like but the room was surprisingly clean, contemporary and well appointed. The Melanesian was fine for one night but I wouldn't personally choose a hotel like this to stay for a longer period given all the other close by island style resorts available. It was a good base for the night, we were able to arrange late checkout (11am) and our bags stored after while we walked around town and visited the museum (especially interesting after visiting Tanna Island) which is just a block or so away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hayley16067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Hayley,

Thank you for your positive comments. Located in a convenient location close to the National Museum, supermarket, and close to the business center makes it easy for our guest to look around. We do have our upgraded Orchid room that is newly renovated and it has given the hotel a new face uplift. Please talk to our reservation staff on your next visit to Vanuatu for an orchid room. We hope to receive you on your next visit and thank you for staying with us for the one night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Melanesian is in perfect location only short walk into town. The reception was nicely furnished and the staff (especially Adam) were friendly and helpful. Wifi was also available at the reception for free. The pool and meals area was ok but in need of repair but the pool was big, with plenty of outside seating. The food at breakfast was fine and the food at lunch was not too bad but there was a long wait for it. Even though the pool and meals area was in a big need of a renovation, the rooms which had already been renovated were nice, clean and modern, a big improvement from the rest of the hotel (it looked like they were slowly doing the rest of the hotel up due to the construction heard next door). A good medium standard hotel, which should get better as it gets renoavted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juju2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Juju2411,
Thank you for your positive comments well received. The renovation in the rooms has really upgraded our image and also give more comfort to our valued guest. The pool area is still under renovations and expected to be completed by November 14. We thank you for the comment on long wait for meal, which we will forward to department concern to ensure that we improve in that area of service. We hope that we can make your next visit enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

As an extended family of nine we stayed here just for the day due to flight rescheduling. In spite of our short stay the staff couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. The reception staff organised our rooms and food vouchers quickly and seemed to appreciate how tired we were after getting up at 3.30am to catch a flight to Port Villa.
The rooms are surprisingly good, stylish and modern. Bathrooms were lovely.
Meals were great. Walk to town easy and pleasant.
Special mention has to go to a young worker called Adam who had a knack for anticipating our needs and going out of his way to assist us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allycabally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Allycabally,
Thank you for your wonderful comments well received. We try our best to welcome guest and ensuring that their stay with us is hospitable. Your comments will be forward to department concern for staff mention appraisal. We hope that you will visit us next time our in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Mel is a little out of town atop the hill Kummel highway.we would stroll down town,15 mins or so, but get a taxi back.
No bad stuff about this place.well presented grounds,nice pool/ bar.good brekkie in open area.rooms are clean and fresh,serviced daily.super friendly and accommodating staff.
Excellent free dance shows poolside,book early.
Gambling on site if you wish.
Port Vila is ok to look around.some good bars,cafés etc on the foreshore.
Prices about the place are ok except on cruise ship days when everything is more costly.
The Mel is also near to some supermarkets that represent better pricing for snack etc than downtown.
Keep in mind when crossing the road,driving is on the right hand side
I'm sure we will return for number 3.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John1358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear John
Thank you for your positive comments well received. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our house-keeping staff maintain the cleanliness of the rooms and restaurant staff always welcoming guest to the hotel. Your comments will be forward to department concern for staff appraisals. We look forward to receiving you at the hotel on your number 3 visit to the hotel and to Vanuatu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My spouse and I stayed at ‘The Melanesian’ for a one week holiday to Port Vila in Dec 13. Before leaving, we read the reviews posted on Trip Adviser which happily proved to be correct. 'The Melanesian’ is a great ‘character’ hotel providing something close to an authentic experience of Vanuatu culture- to help there is cultural entertainment on Sunday, Wednesday and Friday. As others wrote earlier, the Melanesian is not a resort but it is a good three star (plus) hotel just five minutes’ walk away from the CBD. Indeed for us this was the attraction being easily able walk into town, see the markets, catch a ‘bus’ or go shopping at nearby Bon Marche supermarket Numbatwo. The hotel is not over-priced and is a great place to stay. We found the recently refurbished rooms to be quiet, clean, neat, well kept with good working mini-bar and air-conditioning; there was also access to local, international and Australian TV channels. The food was quite good; I’d recommend trying the local beef and the Tanna coffee. The hotel pool and bar was a great place to relax around or have breakfast in the morning; and it was here we came to know a number of the hotel staff and met two other Australian couples who were ‘regulars’ having stayed at the hotel many times before and were an excellent source of local information. The staff come in for a special mention because of their friendliness, one gent even provided us with a pineapple from his own garden. On our last day we had a late checkout at 1200 which was really appreciated. The only slight downsides was that room service always seems to always ring out and it was easier to go down to reception and there should be a non-smoking area. This hotel is highly recommended as being at a very good standard and representing good value for money. Our thanks to Lucy, Eamon (head waiter) Jonathon, Carol and Rinette for a lovely holiday and we hope to come back again one day.

For those that want to know from other blogs, sites etc: the power points are AS/NZ 240 volt; the Vatu is roughly the same exchange as the Australian dollar; use Evergreen Tours –suggest not using ‘Adventures in Paradise’; Radio Australia is 103.0FM; BBC is 99.0FM; try Jill’s Cafe; try Tusker Beer; try the local markets, great banana, paw paw etc and not expensive; yes when cruise liners visit the prices do go up – but not too much; try the local bread – batards (rolls), cheese and vegemite - great; the fresh water is safe to drink in Port Vila; try catching a ‘bus’ its’ cheap (150vt=$1.50) and you get to meet locals who are friendly; it is safe to walk around in the day time; try getting a ferry to Erakor island and good day out; a six pack of Tusker Beer is 1200vt-$12.00 at the supermarket – but not available after 1200 on a Saturday; do visit Mele Cascades; take care crossing the narrow and not so well maintained roads which are often quite busy; note cars drive on the right side of the road; try Bon-Marche supermarket at Numbatwo which has all the brands you would find in a medium sized Woolworths in Australia; visit Leaderprice supermarket which sells completely French brands; church services are available and provide a wonderful insight into local culture – Catholic: Sacre Coure Catherdral Sunday: 0830, French, Bislama; Paray (nearby the Melanesian) 0900 , English, Bislama. Others include Anglican, Presbyterian and Church of Christ.

Room Tip: Stay on the the first floor facing the pool area; this is away from the busy ground floor eating, ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnOG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear John O,
Your comments well received by the hotel. We are definitely located in a convenient location, close to town and supermarkets - ABM Nambatu and Leader Price. The maids take extra care in maintaining all rooms to the comfort of guests as well as the restaurant staff who attend to guest effectively. Your comments will be forwarded to the departments concern for staff appraisals. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and the staff were part of making your stay enjoyable. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Melanesian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here for a week on a business trip. The entrance to the hotel doesn't promise much, but the rooms were surprisingly modern. Didn't try the pool but the food was quite good. If its a lousy day the wind and rain tend to blow through the outdoor restaurant, as there is no sheltered area other than overhead thatching. Good excuse for room service. Internet was a bit patchy but mostly OK, and its pretty close to town - about a 10 minute walk

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Front Office Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Ian G,
We are definitely located close to the heart of town and close to two supermarkets. We are currently reviewing and upgrade our cuisine which should give more options to our guest in their choice of food. Please ask our friendly staff for any specials of the day that our chef can offer. Thank you very much for your comments and feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Vanuatu and also to the Melanesian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.2 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
543 reviews
2.9 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#22 of 47 in Port Vila
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
181 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
2.1 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melanesian Port Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £75 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is a must see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing