We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a small conference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Melanesian Port Vila
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Reviewed 23 November 2009

I organised a conference of about 35 people at the Melanesian in early November 2009. While it is not a luxury hotel, I found it clean and the service good, and the conference participants were all satisfied with the venue and accommodation. The hotel had charm and a local feel, and the participants loved the music and dance - though it was a bit noisy in the rooms for anyone wanting to sleep off their jet-lag before 8pm.

The staff were very friendly as well as being helpful, flexible and quick to respond to requests. The larger conference room was a bit dark and also served as a restaurant in the evenings, which I found a bit strange at first, but actually didn't pose a problem. They said the internet was unreliable, but we all had free wireless working in our rooms (as well as in reception and the poolside area) the whole time we were there. There was also an internet cafe, the only inconvenience being the lack of printing facilities.

A couple of groups of high school students came and went while I was there, and they were naturally a bit rowdy sometimes during the day, but again this caused us no trouble.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are organising a small conference and you would prefer local charm over 5-star luxury (or if you are on a tight budget!).

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orphanpiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2009

For a hotel, that was advertised as only being 3 and half stars, we were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable it was. Right from the moment we arrived, we felt welcome, the staff freindly and were always willing to help.

The room was clean the beds comfortable, and had free internet access.

The cultural nights 3 times a week were gimmicky but alot of fun, and was a pleasant way to enjoy the evening. The buffet BBQ on these nights delicious.

The food was perfectly fine and well presented and prices consistant to other hotel resteraunts around Port Vila.

Overall, we were happy with our stay and would gladly return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nattiej1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We stayed in a hibiscus room: spacious and clean. The staff is very nice. Breakast is really great with pancakes and waffles. The free internet wi-fi was working in our room (look slike it's not the case in all rooms). The location is close to the center of the city.
We were happy with our stay at the Melanesian but considered it was more a business hotel than a holidays hotel: staff is not really helpfull regarding touristic info (and we found the same with the internal travel agency), the pool and pool area are moderatly engaging. I would not recommend the Thai restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alja30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Me and my husband stayed at the Melanesian, and i thought it was a fantastic stay, we really enjoyed the staff, they were so friendly and very helpful with everything we needed, our breakfast was great every morning, and our room i loved, yeh it was abit old and needs abit of work here and there but for the price it was great, we visited other resorts and we were still very happy we stayed at the melanesian, we want to go back to Vanuatu in about 2 years time and for sure we are going to stay there again, i loved how close to the town it was and it was so close to everything you needed, i think it was beautiful and for sure we will stay there again in 2 years time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kylie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

My husband and I and our 8 year old son recently spent 7 nights at the melanesian. I too was a little wary after reading some early reviews. We chose this location as it was close to town, but mainly because with a small child we wanted a separate bedroom and also the ability to use cooking facilities.
We had a two bedroom apartment which was fully self contained including washing machine, cooking facilities and a spa. We are used to staying in 3 star resorts, and i can honestly say this was one of the best i have ever stayed in. The room was very clean, and very spacious, everything worked, and the staff were the friendliest i have ever met . We had no problems checking in or checking out and even though check out was 10am we could still leave our luggage in a secure room and use the resort facilities until we left at 3pm.
The pool area looks just like it does in the photos and was one of the best i have ever used, it was always spotlessly clean and there were always plenty of staff around maintaining the gardens etc.
Breakfast was fantastic, with fruit, cereal, croissants, toast , pancakes, waffles and eggs.
Probably the only thing i could say is that perhaps the location is not as good as some of the other resorts as it is not on the beach or lagoon. However there was always buses and taxis constantly driving past the motel entrance and it is very cheap to get a bus ( only about 1 to 2 dollars each for most locations.
The buses are way cheaper than the taxis and i would advise to only use a taxi if you have to, for instance when we arrived there were only taxis at the airport and it cost us 1800vatu to the motel (approx $20) whereas when we were leaving, a bus took us to the airport for only 600vatu ( approx $8). We did find out later however that if you reject a taxi the first time and say you are waiting for a bus the taxis are very quick to drop their price.
Hope this review helps anyone thinking about going to the melanesian

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

I must admit that reading some of the reviews had me a little worried, but I need not have worried. We stayed in an orchid room which was very clean.
It is a 3 star hotel and that is what you get, if you are looking for luxury then I wouldn't recommend it , but for a 3 star hotel it was clean, comfortable and relaxed.
The pool was spotless and we used it most afternoons when we came back exhausted from traipsing around the island.
The staff were fabulous, they were extremely friendly and tried their best to make our stay as pleasant as possible (they succeeded admirably).
The poolside bar served as a meeting place for us Aussies each evening.
If you are looking for great food, cocktails served with a smile then the Waterside Bar and Grill is the place to go. We went there on a Saturday night and the place was packed to the rafters and there was a live band (they were great).
If you just want a nice relaxed atmosphere (in other words nothing fancy) then I would definitely recommend the Melanesian Hotel.
I look forward to relaxing in Vanuatu again.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CroConnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Staff very friendly. Only drawback was some staff grasp of English. Our room had air conditioner although only used it a couple of times. Casino on site open to 3am and very noisy with people coming out. Oasis bar and grill service excellent. Excellent swimming pool. Drinks reasonably priced. Close to supermarket and 10 minute to centre of town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickyVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.2 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
157 reviews
2.9 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
1.1 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
200 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melanesian Port Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £61 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is a must see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing