We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxing”
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mangoes Resort
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights at Mangoes in a Garden room and we loved it. The gardens were gorgeous and our room was lovely - a good size, clean and modern. Yes there are the roosters early in the morning but you get used to them and otherwise we found it quiet and peaceful. Our room had air con but we never used it. The windows and fans cooled the room well. I want to know where they got there ceiling fans as they were the quietest I've ever come across. The view from the lagoon view rooms would be lovely but I wouldn't bother with a private pool room as there are three to choose from anyway and we never had to share. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We had breakfast in the restaurant everyday and found the light breakfast included was tasty and more than sufficient. We also used the restaurant for lunch and dinner several times too and found it very good (separate review). The walk to town is only 10mins or so and is quite interesting though I didn't find it as rugged as some other reviews had suggested. There are always plenty of buses and taxis going past the resort too. We also took advantage of the in house massage which was excellent, prompt and very reasonable priced. You can walk down to the Holiday Inn on the Lagoon on quite a good track and use their pool and facilities for a fee. We went down and checked it out but didn't think much of the beach there though so went to Erakor Island instead.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights for our honeymoon and was absolutely perfect! EVERYONE was so well mannered, friendly and extremely helpful. Our garden view room was cleaned and serviced each day and even beautifully decorated with fresh flowers daily! The pool was very clean. Garden looks fantastic!! We were very well looked after and felt very welcomed. Meals in the restaurant were magnificent...even the cocktails! Planning on coming back to Vanuatu and will be staying here once again :)

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antara59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a fantastic relaxing stay

Thank you to Dave & Roz plus the boys & girls in the restaurant
Lovely location nice & calm plenty of swimming pools plus nice palm trees
Easy to walk to the beach or 10 mins to town
If you wanted to book a trip you can at reception every morning
Great place to stay plenty of taxis or buses
Just stay relax enjoy a drink at the bar or have a very nice meal in the restaurant
See you next time we come over

Room Tip: Any room they have 3 swimming pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Tim and Judi had the best tropical holiday,at the Mangoes Resort. The people,so helpful,friendly,funny,and caring..We had a pool near our villa,and swam everyday. The weather was fantastic ,no rain,and the temp was late 20s early 30s. most of the time. 10 Magical days in Vanuatu,,thank you,,you served us well. Hope to return one day..Cheerz.

Room Tip: Management do a fantastic job..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Best Holiday I have every had. Such a nice relaxing place to spend 7 days, and the food was delish. Thanks to Roz and Dave for all the tips on what to see and where to go. We are already planning our return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at Mangoes for 7 nights and it was the most relaxing enjoyable holiday either of us have ever had. We stayed in 2 different bures whilst there and both were great, the second was a lagoon view room with a pool which was absolutely stunning. It was very peaceful being an adults only resort. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The management were very accommodating and knowledgeable which was great for us as we had no idea about the local culture or activities.
The food was excellent and fresh with a large menu to choose from.
I cannot recommend Mangoes highly enough, I will be visiting again next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RoHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

On arrival we were upgraded to the new appartments at the Mangoes Resort. They were fully equipped with kitchen, lounge, dining, downstairs and a huge bedroom plus ensuite upstairs. On the balcony was a private plunge pool. There was a tennis court and an infinity pool in the grounds. The resort itself had a restaurant which was of an above average standard.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful. Really useful was the activities desk where you could book daily excursions and get lots of good advice about anything you might want to do.
There is a walkway down to town and we used it a couple of times (during the daytime) and we didn't feel unsafe at all.

Room Tip: Our apartment was great but we just happened to there at a time when the locals were celebrating a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
508 reviews
3.0 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Address: Captain Cook Avenue and Rue de Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £71 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing