We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plunge pool was green”
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mangoes Resort
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Plunge pool was green”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I booked a lagoon view pool bungalow with the express purpose of being able to use the private plunge pool when we felt like it. When we arrived I went to use the pool and it was green, tiles were peeling off the sides of the pool and some had fallen in the pool. Needless to say it wasn't at all inviting.

The next day I mentioned this to Management he said the filter mustn't be working and he'd get someone to look at it. Don't they check these things before guests arrive or do they just wait for people to raise it as an issue??? We came back to the room after a long day and the filter was on, the pool was super cloudy with chemicals and the tiles had been thrown up on the edge of the pool. No swimming for us again, no offer of an apology or to move us.

For the whole time we stayed we couldn't use the pool we had specifically booked and paid extra for. Totally unacceptable, we should have booked a cheaper room and just used the main pool but we weren't to know.

Overall the room was tired and not as it is written up on the website.

Also we paid 3,000 vatu about A$36 for use of the wi-fi ( most places it's standard as part of the room these days) being told we would be able to connect if we sat inside the front of the bungalow. Well we couldn't. I had to leave the bungalow and stand on the path outside to get any sort of weak connection or go and sit the lobby area, not what you want to do to read the paper on line or down load email. We felt totally gouged by this charge.

When I checked out no one asked how my stay was or if there were any problems. I was left with the feeling that we were just passing through and it didn't matter whether our experience had been good or bad.

Not at all good enough for a place that says "it will make your tropical dreams come true". Couldn't be further from the truth in our experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Melp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    151
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
17
345
13
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

After a week of staying at another resort in a shared accommodation for a wedding,my partner and I decided to spend our last night in port Vila at mangoes and have a bit of 'us' time to end our trip. From arrival I was instantly impressed by the great and welcoming service and charmed by spike the resorts resident feline who was peacefully napping in the sun. The resorts grounds are intimidate with a beautifully maintained tropical garden and we loved our villa, which to my pleasure overlooked one of the pools. My partner was feeling unwell in the afternoon do I took the opportunity to relax by the pool with a piña coulda and I could even see the scenery if the hills above the lagoon from my sun chair. The pool was delightful and I loved relaxing there as it was so quiet. A few couples came and went around me but I loved how secluded it felt even though it's on the edge of town. We enjoyed both dinner and lunch at the restaurant and boy oh boy the food was amazing! My lychee cooler cocktail was the most refreshing cocktail I have tried in Vanuatu and I recommend any guests to give it a try! (I might be slightly biased by my obsession with lychees :) overall I was very impressed by the modern look and we'll kept appearance and the staff were very professional. I wish we had of stayed a little longer as the location would have been a good base point,oh well a good excuse to come back! Great value for money, the only improvement needed I could see was better lighting in our villas (room 4) bathroom which was a bit gloomy. Will definitely be back someday!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently stayed for 7 nights and had a really delightful, relaxing time. Ros and her team of merry helpers were all charming and helpful. The breakfasts and coffee were great. It's a good distance from town - far enough to be quiet and peaceful, but everything is easily accessible. The bures aren't modern in style or furnishings, but quite spacious and comfortable. Only sorry we weren't told there were movies available via streaming as TV reception is dreadful, and we were both needing a fair bit of down time. All in all though we have lovely memories and would be happy to recommend Mangoes to others.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Lagoon View rooms. The views are really lovely and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Geni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent 7 nights here in late April, it was fantastic, the team at Mangoes were really lovely and helpful, we had bungalow with a plunge pool, which was great , late at night just jump in the pool and not have to worry, it was a really good size not to small and a good depth as well.
The in room massage was one of the best I've had, so relaxing and the oil she used was beautiful,the restaurant at Mangoes would have to have the best value seafood platter in all of Vila, giving you the choice of either the coconut crab or the lobster we choose the lobster which was amazing, it was cooked to perfection and had a creamy garlic sauce on it,that garlic sauce was amazing, another night we ordered room service as we'd been out all day and were to tired to go to the restaurant, the room service turned up really quickly and presented beautifully. While we were there we did a fishing charter and caught yellowfin and Wahoo, the restaurant /Chef cooked the fish for us , I would recommend Mangoes to anyone who wants to enjoy a child free atmosphere, and anyone who wants to relax but still be close enough to the town city, Well done Mangoes , we will be back :)

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a private plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tleesnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

From start to finish this beautiful little adults only resort was a dream to stay at, we stayed 3 nights and loved every minute, from the cute little bure's, the tasty meals and the wonderful friendly staff who look after you, I would definitely recommend this resort

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30Michelle1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a room with a pool and a lovely view over the lagoon. The room was great, as was the pool. But we had issues constantly with the hot water, when we notified them they sorted it out really promptly. But still no hot water in the hand basin. Linen was clean as was the room. Short walk into Port Vila. Food was only okay, and not a lot of other options nearby other than walking into town again! Lovely, well maintained gardens.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our locked villa was broken into when we went to breakfast and cash, wedding band, iPhone, and other valuables stolen.
We had already emailed our travel agent prior to the burglary on the poor food and awful service we received and as seasoned travelers it was our worst holiday yet. The taxi driver ripped us off charging $80 for a short trip. The receptionist was rude and treated us like we were an inconvenience. Our food was very disappointing especially the seafood which was surprising because we read good reviews but we found inedible, but we also had issues with the orders being incorrect with missing items and repeatedly had room service mistakes. Cutlery was not provided and also not replenished and we also had to ask for tea/coffee/ milk etc to be replenished considering we had a 7 day stay planned.
We cut our stay short and took the first flight home after the burglary and it was absolutely our worst holiday ever.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelbugs876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
386 reviews
3.0 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Property: Mangoes Resort
Address: Captain Cook Avenue and Rue de Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing