We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mangoes Resort
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Why stayed at mangoes for a week in July. We booked a 2 bedroom villa with private pool. We chose Mangoes for the location, walking distance to town and views over the lagoon and it did not disappoint. Rooms were spacious and well equipped and perfect for a family of 4. The staff were terrific and went out of their way to help thank you Callum & co. The resort is well maintained and in a beautiful setting the view over the lagoon lovely. The staff were very helpful in suggesting tours/ places of interest etc to see we enjoyed our daily adventures? Only set back was the weather ! Totally out of anyone's control but staying at Mangoes certainly made that easier to put up with. Would recommend to any one and would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richmond3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    149
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
17
340
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely property well maintained and inviting.. Would certainly go back but not at the end of July.. Independence Day celebrations that go for a week abit much noise for us... did not spoil a great break with friends

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Mangoes for one week in a Lagoon view Room with private pool . Very peaceful as the Resort has a no kids policy.
Rooms were comfortable and clean set amongst tropical gardens
The staff were excellent and the restaurant top class.Highly Recommended. Will definitely return

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent 10 days in this Great place.Friendly staff.no kids and comfortable accommodation.close to town only a 10 minute stroll or 5 minutes by cheap buses or taxi.A very easy place to get around.Awesome pools.lovely food and great cocktails.will be going again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Love this place - didn't stay there on my last trip to Vanuatu, but vowed to return and so glad I did. Arrived tired from a hectic schedule to find a clean comfortable bed, spacious bathroom and awesome friendly staff - both the house-girls and in the restaurant. They remembered me from a previous visit and made me feel valued and well catered for.
Loved the meals (mmm bacon wrapped prawns and gorgeous fresh spring rolls - not to mention the passionfruit dessert - divine!). Evening happy hour was a wonderful opportunity to indulge in a cocktail or two! Mangoes Resort is far enough from town for it not to be intrusive and at only 300 vatu ($3.70NZ)Port Vila was a quick bus trip away (they pass the Resort every few seconds).
Although I made a few trips to the beach, a few trips to town, dined out - the largest proportion of my time was spent at the Resort enjoying the clean, clear pools and making friends with those staying there also. A wonderful holiday - and I can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canterburyvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Working to a budget we found Mangoes Resort to be great value for money. We found the staff friendly and unobtrusive; the chalet style room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Lovely, peaveful surroundings and only 5-10 mins walk from the centre of town. Restaurant was nice although we only dined a couple of times there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We had originally intended to book here for our honeymoon, but are glad we didn't. It's a lovely comfortable place but was much smaller than we realised and the food wasn't as good as we had been told to expect. It is also a bit away from everything which makes it difficult for sightseeing. That said it'd be a nice quiet place for a getaway.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Property: Mangoes Resort
Address: Captain Cook Avenue and Rue de Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing