We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TOUCH OF PARADISE”
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mangoes Resort
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A TOUCH OF PARADISE”
Reviewed 20 September 2009

I will be updating this review on return to Australia as we are currently staying at Mangoes what a place ,you have the owners on site Rosalind And David who along with a fantastic team malke you feelat home .We arrived late at night but no problems the things that I have requested happenned you should have seen how the Moet was presented with candles the attention to detail is wonderful. the food well just put yourself in the hands of the team and you will not look back.it is a quiet relaxing resort a real recharge place ,it really is a jewel in this region our last trip to Port Vila in Jan 10 we stayed at Breakas which was good but Mangoes is just so much better . We have a villa with a private pool and if what meals in your room no problems with no extra charge.You will meet Spike the cat plus a very relaxed dog MOOSE who just loves everybody.I will update with photos shortly. Put in this way we will come back here.Thank Rosalind & David and the whole smiling team at Mangoes.
Andrew & Robyn

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obancas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    153
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
17
349
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We decided on Mangoes after extensively researching accommodation in Port Vila. One of our greatest criteria was to be within walking distance of town - a choice we came to realise is essential in this city. The walk is easy and the locals are all friendly.
We stayed in a lagoon view pool bungalow. The location is good with views across the lagoon. The bungalows are all private and are situated well on the compact site. The gardens and 3 (public) pools are all well maintained and give a real feeling of the tropics. The downside of the resorts location is that the back boundary (where our bungalow was) is a public thoroughfare for the locals. 24/7 we had people walking past our room - and at one stage had clothing items stolen from the verandah - so don't leave anything lying around in plain sight - even in your room.
The Mangoes restaurant was good. It is what we would describe as a good quality bistro meal. In the scheme of things this restaurnat is a little expensive compared to similar quality meals in the town. We ate somewhere different every night and paid a range of prices from about $AU18 - $AU35 for a main course (Mangoes is about $25).
Our greatest tip for Vanuatu and Port Vila is don't expect a really cheap holiday. We came across many people who were expecting a Bali or Thailand price 'cheap holiday' - you won't get one here. It's about the same as home. A beer is $AU4, lunch is about $AU5 - $AU15, dinner is about AU18 - $AU35. Busses cost about $1.80, taxis cost about $5. A guided day trip will cost $AU80 - $AU120.
You do not bargain with the local traders - however, you do reserve the right to say no!
We noticed that the scams were just starting here. The taxi drivers are starting to rip people off and some of the hawkers in the street aren't really above board - so keep your wits about you.
Glenda at Melanesian Tours was our greatset source of information, and the easiest way to book great adventures.
All in all, a wonderful trip, an excellent resort and a memorable holiday. We would gladly stay at Mangoes again. And will certainly be returning to Vanuatu

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cazivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stayd for a week in Nov/Dec 08 and had a great time. the trip was purely for relaxation and thats all we did! the weather was great, sunny each day. Mangoes is very clean and we had a great bungalow/villa room, complete with lounge and kitchen area, great and spacious. Not to mention our own plunge pool! I booked direct through the hotel and Callum the manager was extremely helpful. you can walk into town from the hotel, think about 15mins. the restaurant has superb food and extremely friendly staff. the light breki was enough and most nights we ate dinner at the restaurant rather than going into town. a great quiet place to stay if you want to chill out and don't need all the amenities of a large 5 star resort.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed at Mangoes over June and for the most part realised it was not entirely at our expectations. We travel every year to to a tropical destination. This "resort" was more like a retreat. Firstly- Good points-can walk easily to town to markets/supermarche for fruits, beer and baguettes etc for lunch. The room was purposeful, very clean and comfortable beds. The room service option was free as with the numerous inhouse movies. Very quiet -perfect for couples retreat.

Bad- long walk to beach, no sports activities -the hut is actually part of the Meridien below and incurs a charge, noone swims at the beach as it is actually an estruary. Pools are a tad cold. We spent most of our time in the sun at Erakor, LeLagon or Hideaway Island -a hassle each day to travel to...

However if you are after quietness/relaxing on a hilltop or more of the dora the explorer to get out and about; this is for you.
If you want to enjoy sun, have fun with your partner on kayaks/tennis/sailing, and have endless swims in the sea/snorkel consider another place so you dont travel everyday to a beach!

God value for money though.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2travelal0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We stayed at Mangoes Resort for 7 nights. The service was first class, great accommodation, very clean and great food. Would recommend this resort to anyone staying in Port Villa.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We stayed at Mangoes for 4 nights.
It has disappointments but after putting it all into perspective, I think that Mangoes it definitely one of the best places to stay in Port Vila.
Let me explain why…

The Good – good sized individual huts set in a beautiful garden. For dinner the best food and value for money we found in Port Vila. Great location and easy walk into town once you know where you’re going. The massage which was included in our package was excellent. The three swimming pools, not big but a great place to relax and cool off.

The Disappointments – for breakfast you can only choose one of three on the menu and the first morning they ran out of Muesli so that left two. The water sports hut really belongs to the Meridien so you only get a discount on water sports whereas if you stayed at the Meridien it would be free. The service at reception was not very friendly, you had to ask for everything, they didn’t even show us to our room when we arrived. Our room was serviced but never seemed to be cleaned very well, the bath mat went missing, the fittings in the bathroom were old and the taps dripped.

Port Vila is a beautiful place and I’m glad we choose to go there instead of Fiji or New Caledonia. The local people are lovely, the climate is great and the food is very good. You just have to get over the initial shock of how expensive the food and tours are and enjoy your holiday. You can always save a bit of money on lunch by going to the supermarket or fruit market and picking up a few beers to stock the fridge. Thanks to Glenda, from Melanesian Tours who have us some good tips and a couple of memorable tours

Putting it all into perspective, it’s easy to see that some resorts are really struggling in Port Vila and so they are trying to cut costs. After seeing some of the other resorts and hearing what others had to say about some other resorts, I think Mangoes was the best value for money and I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sun-Seeker091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed at Mangoes for 4 nights, we just called in for a price after a bad experience at another hotel. Tam the manager was exceptional, she showed us what was on offer for the 4 nights. We were in a lagoon room with plunge pool. The resort is very clean, very quiet, child free, the rooms are first class and the staff are pleasant at all times. Nothing was a problem, we were able to have meals and drinks delivered to our room for no extra cost. The restaurant is first class, about the same price as all restaurants is vanuatu, mains a bout 28.00 australian but worth every cent.
The grounds are imaculate and you can get a bus or taxi right out side reception.
We also liked spike the cat, what a charmer.
We enjoyed the massage in our room.
The beds an pillows were comfy and the linen was of good quality.
without doubt we would stay at mangoes again. and the two young managers are doing a great job. keep it up.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tassiefive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Property: Mangoes Resort
Address: Captain Cook Avenue and Rue de Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing