We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place in tropical gardens”
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangoes Resort
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We stayed here last spring and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was very nice, the restaurant food wonderful and the staff very friendly. The pool right outside our window was very nice but water cold. We had a full kitchen which was useful for catering for ourselves. Would recommend if you would like a nice, quiet place with very few children.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachsideretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

I stayed at Mangoes for a memorable 5 nights at the end of March.

After an exceptionally warm welcome from the owners I was lazing beside my very own pool with excellent lagoon views.

At the restaurant I was not only blown away by the seafood platter, but also the steak which was probably the best I have experienced.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this excellent holiday destination.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We stayed at Mangoes as our 4th stop on a 3 week trip in Vanuatu.

The hotel is located between the lagoon and the center of Port Vila. It is possible to walk from the hotel to the main strip (and we did) but only if you are experienced travellers. You need to cut through the grounds of the local hospital, a couple of parks and along a few local streets. I probably wouldn't try it at night (even though you will feel very safe in Vanuatu).

There are quite a few small pools in the hotel which is nice because you can usually find an empty one for a bit of privacy.

The value for money is excellent but as the title suggests, this is a nice hotel, not a resort. They do have free wifi in the restaurant/coffee shop area. The rooms are spacious and very modern. It is a very new hotel. Food at the restaurant and laundry service is well priced.

Air-conditioned rooms are optional, but the small surcharge is DEFINATELY worth it. Unlike Bokissa Island the air conditioner works all day. No stingyness in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perthdivetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

What an absolute delight, quiet retreat, no kids, relax, unwind, breathe, food was amazing, service was friendly, happy and full of smiles, accommodation with own private pool to slide into anytime - heaven. Upgraded to a Garden View Apartment with Plunge Pool & Aircon - small kitchenette so we could cook some local food from the markets only a 10 minute stroll into town, liked being away from the hustle and bustle of Port Vila. Thanks Emma for the beautiful flowers when we arrived and beautifully serviced room daily, thank you Richard for your great service and your friendship "lookem U soon", thank you to management and all staff nothing was too much trouble, in house massage for the two of us a must. Cold Tusker Beer - mmm, do a pool crawl with cocktails, after a big day, they will bring you anything you want to your room. The best honeymoon second time around ever. Must do trips Lelepa day trip - best every coral and fish amazing, Village Feast, Mele Cascade Water Fall, take a taxi to see the turtles, next trip back to Mangoes, Volcano and much more. Thank you to all management and staff for a truly wonderful honeymoon from "The Porters"

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank secondtime210210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

The resort is itself is nice enough, but it's miles from the town, not near the beach or the lagoon, it neighbours the local hospital and the sewerage works for the hospital, and the swimming pools are actually tiny. We arrived and left shortly after, chosing to move elsewhere and foot the extra cost for the sake of a better holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyTimeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

The 18+ aspect first got our attention but the lay out and privacy of the Resort soon won us over. We stayed for a week, and tried the Restaurant on the 1st night, and Ros was most helpful with any special diet or menu requests, The in house massage is a must, 1 hour for $18 AUS, the Flirtini's the King Size bed, ohh I want to go back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becntim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Very nice place good position. Staff very freindly and courtious. Security patrols at night. The hotel has beautiful gardens, and several pools. The pools are uheated and despite the ambient temperatures in the mid 30's the pools were freezing. The rooms were in the Vanuatu style dark wood good size, you can get a small oven and hob if you ask. We Enjoyed cooking BBQ once in a while. if you cook more than you need dont forget the evening security staff. Make sure you visit the hotel down in the lagoon, there is a path at the back of Mangoes, water sports (free to hotel guests) and a warm swimming pool await you, staff are very nice. Be sure you leave your toiletries and unwanted t shirts as staff will rally apreciate them. Food great, cocktails great. Bottle shops tend to close on the eve of a public holiday, so stock up proir. on the Island food and drink prices on par with Australia - bring your duty free in when you come.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ella2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#11 of 47 in Port Vila
1,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
713 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Address: Captain Cook Avenue and Rue de Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £79 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing