We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Honeymoon destination!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangoes Resort
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon destination!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

My husband and I could not have picked a better place for our honeymoon! What a fantastic experience we had! Not only were the Mangoes staff extremely friendly, but the food was the best we had on the island. We had massages everyday directly in our room, which could not have been more relaxing. The girls are trained at the same place as those from the larger spas, and for ~US$20 for an hour massage - it could not have been nicer (did I mention they come directly to your room!?!?). Not only does each bungalow have its own pool, but there are various larger pools around the property to relax in. The staff puts fresh flowers in your room, on your bedside tables, in your bathroom, around the pools and in the restaurant EVERY day, which is such a lovely touch and just another example of the many small details that they do just right.

Mangoes is also conveniently located close to many other fantastic activities the island has to offer. One day, we hopped in a taxi and traveled ~10 min away to Hideaway Island to see some of the best snorkeling I've ever seen in the world, where there are little clown fish swimming in and out of bright anemones ~2 meters off the shore!! All taxis are ~US$5 around town, which couldn't be more convenient/affordable. Another thing that I found fantastic about Vanuatu (in general - not specific to Mangoes) was that not one person ever asked us for money. Apparently this is very rude culturally, so even if a person is trying to sell you something at their market stall, they will not say a word to you - they will just wait for you to ask a question and then politely reply.

We couldn't have had a more lovely honeymoon in Vanuatu, more specifically at Mangoes!! We were so glad to have had it recommended by a friend, and when returning to Vanuatu, which we will definitely do, we will be back at Mangoes!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrieKelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    150
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
17
342
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

The walk to town was hazardous to say the least, fighting your way through potholes and
avoiding rubbish strewn everywhere. And the smell from the drains was sewerage like.
The so called Resort? is situated amongst squalor, barking dogs and roosters crowing.
Was nowhere near the Lagoon but if you were fortunate enough to have one of the few
units you could see it in the distance.
The management showed no interest in any complaints, regarding cold shower, other peoples old cooked food left in oven, and the breakfast, we expected, as at other resorts to have a full continental but a light breakfast at Mangoes consisted of fruit and yoghurt
or fruit and meusli, or toast, not all three items - just one.
The meals at the restaurant fluctuated, sometimes good, sometimes horrid. The only saving grace was the happy, cheerful Vanuatan staff. They could teach the management something.
The unit was never cleaned properly, our girl, although had a bucketful of cleaners, only took a dirty mop into the unit.
We were disappointed in Air New Zealand promoting this Resort as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harvies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at Mangoes for 12 days, what a time we had! From the perfect view over Erakor lagoon to the the great food and drinks at the restaurant, it was paradise. Nice and close to Vila and an interesting walk through the local streets. Staff were great and I don't think a day passed that we weren't met with a a beautiful smile and Halo on our walk from the room to the restaurant. Met a great aray of people from young couples to older couples who were all there for their ouwn slice of paradise. Tours arranged from the comfort of the lounge area was very convenient, thanks Glenda! Recommend this place from the newly weds to those who are renewing their love.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank islandl0vers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

Our stay at Mangoes Resort was just what we needed. After a big day of diving out from Port Vila it was great to know that we were returning to our own private bungalow where we could relax and order drinks by the pool overlooking Erakor Lagoon.

The resort is well run with attention to detail apparent. Staff are friendly and capable and this was also evident from the high quality of the Mangoes restaurant. All in all it was a memorable experience and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icehouse00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maraekakaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

Mangoes was an exceptional well presented, well run, slice of heaven in beautiful Vanuatu.
I couldnt of chosen a more amazing place for me and my husband.
When you save up for a year and you get to your location and its a WOW it makes it all worth it.
Mangoes staff went out of their way for me and my hubby with service and knowledge of things to do and places to visit.
We found the restaurant was romantic of an evening, i felt after 21 years of marriage i was on my honeymoon again, the candles and flowers on tables was special and amazing.
The accomadation with its private pool was beautiful, i was so relaxed all week we just didnt want it to end!!!! Thanks Mangos we will be back. Maria and Andy Parker.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

The service from restaurant staff was very friendly and warm if on island time - not a problem! The ex pat staff seemed to leave the locals to it, we didn't have much interaction. What we did, was fine.

The room was comfortable and the bed gave a great sleep. It was a little dark during the day - good for at night though.

We enjoyed the location - just out of the heart of the main township so very quiet. But I could imagine this may not be to everyone's tastes. It did get pretty hot walking into town esp with the humidity (about 20 mins if you don't get lost like we did - OUR fault, nothing to do with Mangoes). But that made the ice cream all the more deserved. And the local buses / mini vans were a reward to catch home.

The resort had 3 pools which actually worked really well. With a number of rooms having private pools (not ours) we could always find a pool that was empty - we didn't have to share during our week there and apparently they were near capacity. Having a variety was quite nice too.

We ate dinner there once, very tasty and the service was... almost a little too tentative (at the table, chat, go away, come back and chat, going away,come back and check on meal etc - it was a quiet night, not sure if that makes a difference). Being a super friendly culture, the Vanuatan's chatted regularly round the resort and asked our names which they would then always use whenever they saw you round the resort which was nice.

We did order the 'famous' Mangoes Cheesecake through room service which did taste good though I wasn't sure it was mango flavoured and the picture in the promotional material was very different to what arrived.

We had a massage in our room which was fab! At times hurt but it was a good pain. It was so relaxing and definately worth while.

They were extending the deck while we were there which had a bit of noise but nothing that bothered us, I guess maybe finished now.

The resort is not close to the beach but with the pool selection (there is bound to be one just outside your door, not matter where you are) we didn't miss the beach at all. And there are beaches which are easy to get to if you want.

The resort is small and you certainly feel you have privacy from other guests even though the rooms are reasonably close together.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhubarb_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

This was my third visit to Vanuatu, and third stay at Mangoes. There are so many reasons I wouldn't stay anywhere else, but I'll limit them to those I think most relevant for you other travellers looking to stay in paradise!
1. Accomodation: The burres are beautiful, very private, and well appointed. This time we stayed in one overlooking the lagoon with a private plunge pool - talk about a room with a view, what a way to wake up in the morning!
2. No children. Enough said!
3. Staff: Always friendly and efficient, they kept our bungalow in pristine condition and were very attentive to all our needs - be it delivering the cocktail craving by the pool, room service or dining in the restaurant.
4. Activities: The managers at Mangoes had excellent advice on daytrips, transport and how to avoid the crowds on cruise ship day. Although I've been there a few times I still feel Vila and Efate have so much to offer.
5. Location: Close enough to walk (10 mins) to busy Vila town, where much of the action is. Taxis make night transport to clubs and restaurants easy, cheap and quick. It's so nice to come home after a busy day/night to peace and quiet.
6. The pools: My favourite is the waterfall pool, Mangoes has three big pools equipped with lounges and umbrellas. I recommend you spend at least a day of your holiday by the pool with your book, making the most of the yum poolside menu and delish cocktails. Yes, I like Piña Coladas!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank splorerkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Property: Mangoes Resort
Address: Captain Cook Avenue and Rue de Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing