We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Nearby Hotels
Chantilly's on the Bay(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel And Casino(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Erakor Island Resort & Spa(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Nasama Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Melanesian Port Vila(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mangoes Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
CoCo Beach Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
186
154
45
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
186
154
45
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisland nightsteep drivewayfamily poolbeachfront spabanana pancakesgarden view bungalowdogs barkingno air conlarge balconyserviced dailytwo bedroom apartmentspa bathfriendly resortbeach frontfull kitchenclose to townstaff were wonderful
Filter
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I have just spend a superb 6 days at Poppys with my three kids ( 5,10,16). Despite the age differences all of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay . The location within walking distance to the town centre was great - the driveway is steep, but we all had no problem with it nor the walk to town - a great way to see more of the town and its people. The apartment overlooking the pool was great - the bedrooms were spacious, a well equipped kitchen and all was beautifuly clean and well serviced each day. The overhead fans provided a lovely breeze and certainly no need for air conditioning. We wanted a more intimate, friendly place to stay , that made us feel we were in Vanuatu, rather than stay at an impersonal, trendy resort and we were not disappointed. Great personal service including a welcome from both the manager -Gary and the owner Peter , when we arrived . We knew all the staff within the first few hours and we felt like an invited family friend rather than a paying guest! The setting next to the Lagoon was perfect and the Cultural feast was great. We also stayed at Friendly Bungalows in Tanna which is also owned by the same person and that was an amazing experience and well worth doing. Nothing was too much bother for the staff at Poppys. We will return! There was a good mix of young couples, families and elder couples - all had space to enjoy Poppys as it is so well designed and laid out.

Room Tip: The family two bedroom apartments are great overlooking the pool, close to the lagoon and all amenities. One can sit on the balcony and relax whilst kids play
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The best thing was the super friendly, helpful staff who made us feel like family. The lagoon front room was peaceful and there was always something happening on the lagoon to watch. The location next to a village gave us a true local flavour. The gardens and rooms were spotless. The steep driveway did keep us fit but you can get a taxi into town at the door for $4.00. The range of guests included retirees, young families, young singles, even a wedding party but there's always somewhere secluded to sit and chill out. We enjoyed this much more than we expected and I can't work out where that "bogan" comment came from. The smiles from the staff are contagious.

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon front room away from the family area.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi11a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I just got back from staying here for 9 nights and i cant say enough good things about poppys. We stayed in a 3bedroom 2 bathroom place up on the hill. It was more like a house then anything else. When we walked in for the first time the view was amazing! You walk into a big balcony with table and chairs, then into another door to the house. It was so nicely done up with flowers everywhere and just a really nice place.You dont even need to worry about walking your own bags up there as they do that for you. There was the main bedroom with a double bed and a bathroom (not small either) and a walk in wardrobe. Big lounge room with tv and DVD player,kitchen with everything you need. Another bed room with 2 singles and also another bedroom with a double bed. Another bathroom and thats only down stairs, there is a upstairs bit with 2 singles. so it was fairly big. We had a little pool just next to/under our place, which we were lucky enough to pretty much have to our selfs untill the last few days.I only went in it once, was a little chilly for me but alright.
Yes there is alot of stairs were we were staying but i think it was so worth it. it was cleaned everyday and always clean. They would clean up all out dishes everyday and put them away for you even.
The people there are so nice and really will go out of there way to do anything for you to make your stay as nice as it can be.
Poppy's has 3 pools, a kitchen. kayak you can take out for free, lovely places to sit and chill out. lovely gradens all around around and just nice!
One night we went down to let them know that out oven wasnt working and they were so nice about it, asked if we wanted to use there oven or even keys to another appartment to finish cooking.He was also going to come up and look at it that night but we said not to worry as we just wanted to let them no. It turns out it was never broken but we were just doing it wrong haha
This place is so nice and they make you feel welcome.I would come back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goingawayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

4 of us and a baby travelled for 7 nights so a place that was self contained plus having facilities was what we needed...poppys was the best of both worlds. Upon friends recommendations we stayed here and found it to be exactly what we were looking for....great staff, personalised service (the owners were wonderful) and an attitude that made us feel like we were staying with friends rather than paid accommodation made it very enjoyable........its nice to know the staff by name rather than seeing different faces every day. highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Poppy's is unique, quiet and friendly. One should not expect perfection when coming to these places in 3rd world countries, the infrastructure is lacking and thus keeping any complex up to OZ standards is almost impossible, one needs to go with the flow, and enjoy the experience for what it is. The lagoon side bungalows are amazing and ours was SPOTLESS as it has been all 3 times. The 3 bedroom ones have a full kitchen and two large bathrooms. You get coffee and croissant delivered to your terrace, by beaming happy staff who will do anything for you.. you can have a massage for $20 0nsite and your nails done in a grass hut overlooking the lagoon for $10.... and go anywhere in town in a bus which go non stop for $1.50.....go for a paddle in the lagoon early morning, and enjoy the 2 pools in the lush tropical grounds... yes there are steps and a steep driveway, all the better for higher ground in a tsunami ...... older people need to take that into account and stay near the bottom of the resort. Management are onsite daily and are attentive and approachable

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews