We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Poppy's on the Lagoon was perfect for our situation...mum, dad and five kids! We had a large (4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms) self contained apartment which had a very well equipped kitchen and a big balcony with a bbq, very handy. Only a few things I would request to make our stay more comfortable - more towel rails in both bathrooms (seven of us and only two towel rails!), a clothes airer for hanging damp towels, swimmers, etc. A highchair would have made life easier for feeding the baby and the ceiling fans needed improving - seemed to be only very slow or too fast and noisy. Apart from that it was just right. The food and drinks were delicious and the service was good. All the staff were friendly and accommodating. Sam the tour bus driver was an absolute god send. He was very friendly and polite, he took us to the best sights around Efate, gave us good advice and helped us out the whole time we were there. The resort is pretty but could do with some upgrading. Overall our trip was great and well worth every cent. It was a fabulous first overseas trip for our kids, loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    140
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
149
136
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Poppy's on the Lagoon, Port Vila, Vanuatu is a fantastic place to stay for couples or families. The staff are very welcoming and friendly, the rooms are clean and the views amazing. The food and drinks are Australian prices, but very tasty and you definitely get what you pay for. Free canoes are available for use and the staff are more than happy to help book tours and offer local advice; and they all speak English really well. Only a 10 minute walk to the main drag. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: The Lagoon Studio's have a great view, but there are a few stairs up a hill - not for the elderl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just returned from a stay at poppy's, very underwhelmed - sadly. Booked and paid for transfers, no one waiting on arrival, it took me approx half an hour to sort it out, not a good first impression. Kept getting passed from pillar to post by the transport staff until I found a very helpful airport staff member who kindly called the resort for me. Transport staff recommended we take a cab and claim the fare from poppy's!!! The staff are extremely friendly and will assist you with any request for help however, the two bedroom apartments are in need of upgrading. The second bedroom had no wardrobe, merely two small drawers so had to live out of the suitcase, made harder by the fact there was limited space to put them This is marketed as a four star boutique resort, really only worthy of three at maximum. It is expensive - for everything. The menu offered is limited and the quality and cooking is questionable. As stated by other reviewers the driveway to the resort is disgraceful. It is full of potholes and is desperate need of improvement. All taxi drivers complain and I dont blame them, I wouldn't drive my own car down there. I had a very disappointing massage too whilst there, it wasnt relaxing and I felt very exposed as minimal protection of modesty, additionally had to get undressed in front of the masseur. The room was also too cold. I wouldn't recommend getting the internet either, it is expensive, extremely slow and drops out regularly. Very disappointed overall, was expecting great things and poppy's didn't deliver sadly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riehl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We have mixed feelings about our 7 night stay. Firstly, the horrendous driveway would exclude us returning. This is a poor image for the resort and management need to get it fixed. All taxi drivers complain about it also. We had a lovely bungalow on the lagoon but found the spa to be a waste of time since it took over an hour to get the minimum water into it which was then almost cold ! The views and gardens are lovely and well maintained which makes up for the lack of beach or snorkelling. The facilities in the restaurant and bar are basic and should be improved. The light breakfast is too light and should at least include toast since some people can not eat all those types of fruits. But, the staff are charming , helpful and very friendly. The Melanesian Night is really well done and most enjoyable. It is certainly a pretty resort.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra expense, the beachfront bungalow is the best accommodation given it is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotters_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorrigo
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had a beachside bungalow which was lovely.

The staff were wonderful while Nora and Estelle are simply to two NUMBAWAN masseuses in the entire world, worth the stay just to have a massage.

The gardens and pools were lovely and very well kept.

The driveway is a challenge but if you are not up for it a cab will pick you up at the door and take you to town for $5 - we preferred the walk up and then the joy if the local buses.

Our only gripe was the food. The price was reasonable but the cooking was ordinary. Luckily the surrounding resorts welcome visitors and their food is much better - something management need to address

Otherwise we would have given Poppys 5 stars.

Would we go, yes in a flash ....Estelle I miss you so ;)

Room Tip: The other rooms are back up on the ridge so quite a climb up the stairs. Not suitable for anyone wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewH233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We have just spent 7 days at this hotel which is promoted as 4 star accommodation. Based on our experience, 3 star or less would be more appropriate. The approach to the reception is down a steep and extremey rough road. Our room was away from the main area at the top of the hill with access by way of a series of uneven steps.

The view over the lagoon was pleasant and relaxing but the airport buses stopped outside the rooms in the middle of the night and thoughtlessly kept noisy diesel motors running for between 10 to 20 minutes while people and luggage were taken on board.

Probably the worst aspect of our stay and of particular concern to anyone with children, was the fact that most of the lifejackets provided for water activities were completely worn out with broken straps and torn covers.

The staff were friendly enough but the facilities we thought were fair to poor.

Room Tip: Aim to get a room at the same level as the reception centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murwillumbah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Small but beautiful and excellent value. As you step out of your taxi you are immediately embraced by Poppy's warm welcome and made to feel at home. Our Fare on the lagoon was the epitome of comfort and relaxation. We chose May for its quiet time and we could not have wished for a better holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
1.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mangoes Resort
Mangoes Resort
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
453 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy's on the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy's on the Lagoon

Property: Poppy's on the Lagoon
Address: Captain Cook Blvd. Seaside, PO Box 920, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#19 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppy's on the Lagoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppys on the Lagoon is an award winning boutique resort located on Erakor Lagoon. With private beachfront, a tropical oasis of gardens and only a 15 minute walk or 2 minute drive to Port Vila's town center, Poppys is the perfect getaway for friends, family and couples. Poppys on the Lagoon has a wide range of accommodation options, from unbeatable value lagoon view studios to freestanding luxury bungalows, 2 bedroom apartments and huge 3 bedroom villas. All accommodation options enjoy modern comforts and all have kitchen facilities, private balconies and are furnished with beautiful tropical style decor. As a family owned and operated business, Poppys will feel like your home away from home in Paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poppy's on the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy`s On The Lagoon Hotel Port Vila
Poppys On The Lagoon Hotel
Poppys Lagoon
Poppy's On The Lagoon Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing