We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for first time visitors to Vila”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideal for first time visitors to Vila”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Overall I enjoyed my stay at Poppy's and would recommend it to first time visitors to Vila. The staff were friendly and will happily provide advice and arrange tours for you. The food was good and reasonably priced.

Because Poppy's is on the lagoon you avoid the noise and traffic of Port Vila town centre, but are still within walking distance. If walking back from town be aware that you must walk up a step flight of stairs, not a problem just stop at the Brewery Bar for a beer before heading off, (you might also want to take a small torch if walking at night).

Poppy's variety of accommodation types allows it to cater for different needs. If looking for a romantic getaway you should probably go for a private bungalow and make use of the adult's only pool.

I stayed in a Lagoon view studio, which was up the 'hill'. These rooms are comfortable, well sized and have everything you need if self-catering (if you are self-catering there is also a BBQ for guests to use). These rooms can be noisy. Melanesian Tours is next door which means their airport transfer vehicles are moving in and out in the early morning.

Room Tip: Avoid Lagoon view if unfit, in-firmed or have a toddler
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandfl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    140
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
149
136
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

While I agree with some of the comments, overall my family and I had a great time as we accepted the challenges and the good points out way the bad...for us anyway.
The driveway is pretty dreadful however, so are all the roads and footpaths are often non existent.
This is not a rich place which is evident but the people we met were lovely and friendly including the staff at out resort. The smiles make you feel so good.
If you are going on a tour get to breakfast early as there is not much of a system and you do wait. We developed our own, whoever was ready first would go down and order for all, and for us the selection was more than adequate.
We ate there three nights including their Cultural Feast on a Tuesday and it was great. Excellent food and a wonderful explanation of it all. Well worth it.
We were in the three bedroomed apartment and it was perfect for us. You do need to be fit enough to climb the steps up there.
Negatives are that there are not enough deck chairs for the pools. There seemed to be about 6 to 8 for the whole resort and it can be noisy depending where your bedroom is. We were facing to the back of the resort and didn't have any problems but other members of family did.
So glad there was no air conditioning the open slats are wonderful for the evening breeze.

Room Tip: Choose something close to the lagoon if you have trouble sleeping or take ear plugs. I always take e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My family and I stayed at Poppy's for one week, and we had a wonderful time.

The resort itself is far from perfection, but to us it was a perfect holiday.

Pros of the resort
- lovely staff
- clean rooms
- beautiful setting and location, an easy walk to town
- wonderful Tuesday night spent eating the local food, drinking cava and listening to the band
- the resort Cat Leo is a gorgeous fluffball who curls up on your lap at breakfast time, a fun way to start the day for cat lovers
- canoeing on the lagoon

Poppy's staff member Keith set us up on a day trip around the island, a highlight of our trip as we did everything from swim in the stunning blue lagoon and experience the local Vanuatian village to taking a dip in the piping hot springs in the middle of a restaurant while we listened to the band play waltzing matilda for us.

Cons of the resort
- noisy roosters and dogs surround the resort, this of course is not the fault of Poppy's but does get annoying. I recommend taking earplugs.
- slow service, but who's in a rush on holidays?
- not enough deck chairs for the pool/lagoon area

Thank you to Poppy's for a wonderful holiday, there are some improvements that could be made but overall we had a fabulous time and we love Vanuatu and its people.

Room Tip: Take earplugs and a sleep mask, it will help your sleep quality immensely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureAndBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Isa, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Thanks to Poppy's. Definitely value for money for us staying in a Bungalow overlook the lagoon furnished romantically but completely relaxing and peaceful.

Management & Staff are friendly / welcoming and request or service are always answered with a smile and a laugh. You must try the Poppy's Burger from the restaurant sometime during your stay its delicious. Join in the fun of Island night and ask staff about the different places to visit.

Personally i would not book an Island tour again but use a Taxi and plan my own itinerary it is so much more enjoyable. We found a great driver and his family and are happy to share their contact details with others.

Room Tip: Bungalow on the lagoon we had the end one No 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirl-John52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Poppy's on the Lagoon was perfect for our situation...mum, dad and five kids! We had a large (4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms) self contained apartment which had a very well equipped kitchen and a big balcony with a bbq, very handy. Only a few things I would request to make our stay more comfortable - more towel rails in both bathrooms (seven of us and only two towel rails!), a clothes airer for hanging damp towels, swimmers, etc. A highchair would have made life easier for feeding the baby and the ceiling fans needed improving - seemed to be only very slow or too fast and noisy. Apart from that it was just right. The food and drinks were delicious and the service was good. All the staff were friendly and accommodating. Sam the tour bus driver was an absolute god send. He was very friendly and polite, he took us to the best sights around Efate, gave us good advice and helped us out the whole time we were there. The resort is pretty but could do with some upgrading. Overall our trip was great and well worth every cent. It was a fabulous first overseas trip for our kids, loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Poppy's on the Lagoon, Port Vila, Vanuatu is a fantastic place to stay for couples or families. The staff are very welcoming and friendly, the rooms are clean and the views amazing. The food and drinks are Australian prices, but very tasty and you definitely get what you pay for. Free canoes are available for use and the staff are more than happy to help book tours and offer local advice; and they all speak English really well. Only a 10 minute walk to the main drag. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: The Lagoon Studio's have a great view, but there are a few stairs up a hill - not for the elderl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just returned from a stay at poppy's, very underwhelmed - sadly. Booked and paid for transfers, no one waiting on arrival, it took me approx half an hour to sort it out, not a good first impression. Kept getting passed from pillar to post by the transport staff until I found a very helpful airport staff member who kindly called the resort for me. Transport staff recommended we take a cab and claim the fare from poppy's!!! The staff are extremely friendly and will assist you with any request for help however, the two bedroom apartments are in need of upgrading. The second bedroom had no wardrobe, merely two small drawers so had to live out of the suitcase, made harder by the fact there was limited space to put them This is marketed as a four star boutique resort, really only worthy of three at maximum. It is expensive - for everything. The menu offered is limited and the quality and cooking is questionable. As stated by other reviewers the driveway to the resort is disgraceful. It is full of potholes and is desperate need of improvement. All taxi drivers complain and I dont blame them, I wouldn't drive my own car down there. I had a very disappointing massage too whilst there, it wasnt relaxing and I felt very exposed as minimal protection of modesty, additionally had to get undressed in front of the masseur. The room was also too cold. I wouldn't recommend getting the internet either, it is expensive, extremely slow and drops out regularly. Very disappointed overall, was expecting great things and poppy's didn't deliver sadly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riehl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
1.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mangoes Resort
Mangoes Resort
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy's on the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy's on the Lagoon

Property: Poppy's on the Lagoon
Address: Captain Cook Blvd. Seaside, PO Box 920, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#19 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppy's on the Lagoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppys on the Lagoon is an award winning boutique resort located on Erakor Lagoon. With private beachfront, a tropical oasis of gardens and only a 15 minute walk or 2 minute drive to Port Vila's town center, Poppys is the perfect getaway for friends, family and couples. Poppys on the Lagoon has a wide range of accommodation options, from unbeatable value lagoon view studios to freestanding luxury bungalows, 2 bedroom apartments and huge 3 bedroom villas. All accommodation options enjoy modern comforts and all have kitchen facilities, private balconies and are furnished with beautiful tropical style decor. As a family owned and operated business, Poppys will feel like your home away from home in Paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poppy's on the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy`s On The Lagoon Hotel Port Vila
Poppys On The Lagoon Hotel
Poppys Lagoon
Poppy's On The Lagoon Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing