We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mangoes Resort(Port Vila)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ah Tong Motel(Port Vila)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Quest Apartments(Port Vila)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
186
152
43
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
186
152
43
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisland nightsteep drivewayfamily poolbeachfront spabanana pancakesgarden view bungalowdogs barkingno air conlarge balconyserviced dailytwo bedroom apartmentspa bathfriendly resortbeach frontfull kitchenclose to townstaff were wonderful
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

great service, welcoming warm people, an chanting lagoon, the bungalow at the lagoon beach are comfortable and cozy with a.c and jacuzzi . the restaurant with a good original food ,We have a great time there with a free snorkel,canue. we stayed 10 nights (7 + 3 after 2 night trip to Tanna) . The staff are eager to attend every needs , even the laundry is taking no moor then a 6-8 hours. perfect base to every tours in the islands and only 10 minutes walk from the center of Port Vila and the market. Culture night every tuasday!

Room Tip: For couples bungalow 17 are great
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The resort itself was lovely and peaceful, very small in the bottom section near the lagoon. Beautiful gardens, friendly staff. The food was very poor, not well prepared and small selection. Good location short walk to town for better food or buses easy to catch at the front gate. Getting to the front gate is a very steep uneven driveway or many many steps, but hey you got an appetite for when you reached the good food. Overall it is a small quaint place and for Vanuatu it was pretty good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda62x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed 6 nights at Poppys. Lovely place and wonderful staff/facilities. The complex is a nice small family run resort, quiet and discrete. There is a nice mix of units to suit both the family size, view and budget. You can walk into Port Villa in around 15-20 minutes. Nothing is too much bother for the staff who go out of they way to assist you. We stayed in one of the garden view units (#19) looking out at 'guess what' as well as a lovely and very private (no kids) pool. Beautiful unit with nice compact outdoor area with table and chairs which we used to the max!! Unit very clean and tidy, insect-free and serviced daily. Some of the local dogs do like to serenade you at night and we closed the ventilation shutters to minimise this. Very nice continental breakfast. Took advantage of the free kayaks which are very stable and spent a few hours (especially early morning) on the lagoon. There is quite a steep driveway leading from the complex to the road above, however if this is a problem you can requests the buses/taxis to take up up (or down). We ate at different local restuarants (including Poppys) and found these to be fairly reasonable (although slightly higher-priced that N.Z.). Locals are simply marvellous and friendly, with the children especially photogenic (they love doing 'high-5's' and invariably say 'Hi'. Considering the poverty there, it is a wonderful compliment to the locals that they are so friendly and outgoing. Use the local bus (minivans) with number plates beginning with the letter (B) to get around. They will take you anywhere in and around Port Villa for 150V per passenger. They are everywhere, there are no actual stops as we know them, so you only need to hail them, and tell them where you want to go. Quite often they will slow down and ask if you want a ride - you either do or you dont!! The locals don't beg or pressure you to buy (like Bali) and accept "No" with grace. Overall a great experience at a lovely establishment.

Room Tip: All of the accommodation seems ok. For couples wishing a 'kids-free' environment try the 'Garden View' units
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewZealandCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Poppy's for 7 days during August. We found it to be quite lovely. We had a room downstairs around the pool which was perfectly placed for access to Reception and the lagoon. We had complimentary breakfasts of fruit, lime juice tea or coffee and croissant or toast with jam. The driveway is a little steep and my friend wasn't able to walk up it because of a bung knee but we just asked reception to order us a taxi to come down to the bottom. In the end a bus came so the cost was the same as if we had walked to the top. The staff are lovely and Keith is hilarious, his laugh is quite infectious. We had a massage which was more of a tickle than a massage but was quite relaxing, and I had my hair braided by Marie who did a wonderful job. The dogs from the village are quite loud and bark all night which is annoying but in the end, you are staying on an island which is covered by small villages so there's really no getting away from it. I simply put in earplugs to drown the noise out. The food at Poppy's is simple but nice, especially the kumala soup. Keith organised all of our tours and they were well priced. The manager wasn't particularly friendly towards us but it didn't matter because the locals were. I would stay at Poppy's again if I was going back to Vanuatu - which I hope to one day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was our second stay at Poppys, the first visit was 3 years ago. We enjoyed our first visit with in January 2010 very much and were very happy to return for again. The location is great as it is so convenient to walk to town and the staff are very friendly. A special thanks to Albert and Rachel for their extremely efficient and helpful manner of dealing with guests. I would be happy to return again for a third visit to Vanuatu.

Room Tip: In 2010 we travelled with 2 adult children & stayed in the family Bungalow which was perfect for a family with lovely views and very private. In 2013 there were just the two of us so we chose the Beach Bungalow with a lovely location on the lagoon and near to the dining area and adult pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews