We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Studio at Poppy's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I loved my accommodation at Poppy's. I had a beautiful studio with all the mod cons of kitchen, bathroom, bed and dining table, and a deck with a table and chairs with a view of the lagoon. Bliss! And only a short 10-15 walk to downtown Port Vila, and within walking distance of museum, parliament and supermarkets. It wasn't noisy for me at all, but I am an early riser so the birds did not annoy me. It is part and parcel of Vanuatu's culture. The service was helpful and the food simple but plentiful. I scratched my ankle and silly me forgot my antiseptic creams and lotions so ended up with a bad infection that a bunch of antibiotics resolved when I got home. Would happily return for another stay.

Room Tip: It can get quite noisy if you are right by the family pool (one of 3) which is also near reception a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sheree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We returned last week after a week staying at Poppy's. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the loveliest people! Our 2 bedroom villa was spacious and comfortable but it was very noisy at night: Poppy's is next to where the locals live and every family keeps a rooster, so we were woken at 5am every morning. Also the window blinds are not blackout so as soon as the sun rose, so did we. Breakfast is simple but plentiful. The pools were great if you have small children but our boys aged 9 and 10 found the pools inadequate (too small) so only went for a dip twice in the week we stayed there. Best thing was the location: 15 minute walk into town, although the driveway is very steep: I was hot and sweaty by the time I got to the main road. Also take your own snorkelling gear and reef shoes, it costs to take the gear from Poppy's out on day trips and it was hard to find gear that fitted and the reef shoes were very worn.

Room Tip: No idea if other rooms were quieter, maybe ask for one up on the hill - we had a lagoon view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyErhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne W, Guest Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hello FamilyErhardt,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. They certainly take it upon themselves to ensure all our guests have a wonderful time in Vanuatu and most importantly at Poppys. They will be thrilled to hear consistently excellent reviews of them!
We also appreciate you bringing to our attention the noise of the villages next to Poppys. We will always do our best to ensure that our guests are able to enjoy a relaxing and peaceful holiday. Unfortunately, the dreaded 5am roosters are a part of the Vanuatu livestyle and will be heard in most areas of the island. I hope that you felt comfortable enough to speak with our managers to see if we could help find a solution to ensure you had a restful sleep.
Once again, we thank you for taking to time to review us and help us to continue to improve our facilities :-)

Regards,

Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent a week at Poppy's and really enjoyed it. It was in a great location - accessible to town and to all that Vanuatu offers. The staff were super friendly and helpful, the food was good, and we had a great time. I have no hesitation in recommending it to friends visiting Port Vila.

However, on arriving home, my husband and I got really ill. Both of us were incapacitated for 4 days going back and forth from the toilet. We have since been told that we should have boiled all the water going into or near our mouths. I know there is no absolute guarantee that it is the water at Poppy's that caused our illnesses. However we urge the management to put up notices to warn the clients to ensure their water is boiled before drinking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancesAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne W, Owner at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Frances of Auckland, thank you so much for your review and alerting us to any concern with the water quality here in Port Vila, we have been very distressed to hear of your illness on returning home after a wonderful holiday here at Poppy's. As soon as we read the review, we have checked with all the relevant authorities here in Port Vila (Municipality and Unelco) and double checked online with SOPAC and smart traveller site for any mention of a drop in water quality. We have been assured by all parties that the drinking water in urban Port Vila( which supplies Poppy's on the Lagoon) is safe to drink. For anyone with concerns, or a reaction to the high calcium content in the water ( this is mentioned by the authorities on line) we have electric kettles in all our rooms at Poppys and we also sell bottled water. Again, we sincerely wish you both a speedy recovery and hope to see you back on your feet feeling better soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Poppy's on the Lagoon is a great place to stay. It is not some ubiquitous resort that could be anywhere in the world. It is a relaxing welcoming resort in amongst the real Vanuatu. Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Will help work out best options for activities and have lots of suggestions if you are stumped for ideas. A great place to relax and to use as a home base to access other activities.no fitness centre but who needs it when there is kayaking and swimming at your doorstep. Beachfront bungalows are fantastic with great views. They are all separate so less noise and get the breeze from the lagoon in the evening. The sounds of local families and their roosters/dogs/other livestock can be quite loud some still nights. Just make sure you wear yourself out during the day and /or bring some earplugs and you'll be fine. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalows are fantastic with great views. They are all separate so less noise and get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adrienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I could not fault Poppy's! Very family friendly, the staff were all absolutely fantastic. We stayed in a lagoon view two bedroom apartment which had an amazing view! Our son loved swimming in the family pool and the food at the onsite restaurant was great! We hope to return for our holiday next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaylovers87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hi holidaylover87,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Poppys. Our staff make every effort to ensure that your holiday goes above expectations and it is wonderful to hear that we succeed!
The 2 bedroom Suites are fabulous, especially waking up to the view of the lagoon....
We definitely hope to see you back again next year! Please ensure that you mention you are a returning guest when you re book as we love to make sure we spoil familiar faces!

See you soon,

The Poppys Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very personalised and friendly place, close enough to town, overlooking lagoon. Family friendly. I was travelling with my daughter and she really enjoyed the place. The staff were very accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: Get one closer to lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Landage W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne W, Owner at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you so much for your comments, we strive very hard to provide great value here at Poppys on the Lagoon, it is a lovely spot but most of all it is our staff who make Poppys a wonderful place to stay. And today is Albert's last day here at Poppys, we wish him well, he will be sorely missed as our onsite supervisor but will always be welcome as a friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at the end of a Vanuatu trip and it was a great choice. The resort staff are fantastic - so friendly and helpful! The rooms are spacious (stayed in a lagoon view) and clean and it was great that they provides umbrellas for getting to breakfast in the rain. If you have trouble walking, select a room in the lower half of the resort as there are a number of stairs to the top half. The menu is delicious (poppys burger, yum!) and you can take a kayak and go for a paddle around the lagoon. The barking/fighting dogs were somewhat annoying in the middle of the night but that is my only gripe. I would definitely recommend Poppy's to stay at!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellersamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.2 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
1.2 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
157 reviews
1.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#11 of 47 in Port Vila
1,568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy's on the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy's on the Lagoon

Address: Captain Cook Blvd. Seaside, PO Box 920, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#19 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £78 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppy's on the Lagoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppys on the Lagoon is an award winning boutique resort located on Erakor Lagoon. With private beachfront, a tropical oasis of gardens and only a 15 minute walk or 2 minute drive to Port Vila's town center, Poppys is the perfect getaway for friends, family and couples. Poppys on the Lagoon has a wide range of accommodation options, from unbeatable value lagoon view studios to freestanding luxury bungalows, 2 bedroom apartments and huge 3 bedroom villas. All accommodation options enjoy modern comforts and all have kitchen facilities, private balconies and are furnished with beautiful tropical style decor. As a family owned and operated business, Poppys will feel like your home away from home in Paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Poppy's on the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy`s On The Lagoon Hotel Port Vila
Poppys On The Lagoon Hotel
Poppys Lagoon
Poppy's On The Lagoon Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing