We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot & lovely staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppy's on the Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great spot & lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

We went as a group for the Port Vila Ocean swim. Poppies was a relaxing place to stay & as we were in a beachfront Villa, swimming was easily accessable from our front deck. Great staff kept the Villa spotless & nothing was too much trouble. Our only (small) complaint was that there was nowhere to dry togs and towels.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diver201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    140
    40
    15
    5
See reviews for
149
135
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

Great location, right on the lagoon. About a 15 minute walk into Vila, or walk up the (steep!) hill to the road with buses running by every few minutes. Lovely gardens, 2 nice pools, very friendly staff. Bungalows are well appointed, ours was a lagoon front spa bungalow which has lovely views from the porch, the bed and the spa. We spent a bit of time taking the kayaks out on the lagoon, would have liked to have a little catamaran though. Really the only negative is that the bungalows are quite close together, and not very sound-proof. We often heard people talking in the mornings, and the couple in the room next door being amorous (a lot) ;-)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWFAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

Had a wonderful time at Poppys. We were lucky enough to stay in a lagoon front bungalow. Nice views and a spa bath in the room. Lovely. The surrounds of hotel were nicely landscaped with pools and huge trees. Good location on that side of Vila because the trade winds blow through and cool you down.

Our room was right on the far left of the resort next to some local homes - good for local flavour as they often travel by boat out the front of the hotel. You do get to hear their roosters in the middle of the night though :)

A couple of minor negatives. I would probably only eat at Poppys for breakfast and the island night. Other than that I found the menu pretty uninspiring, and expensive for what you got. Service was slow too (not just island time slow either - we didn't really experience this elsewhere in Vanuatu, this was just slow...). Also the manager was very keen to sell us a transport pass that did seem like good value if we were staying for a week. It didn't work out worthwhile for us and the manager was a bit standoffish when we said we were not interested.

On the whole though our issues were minor ones and I would definitely go back to Poppys. The staff are friendly and the outlook and location are great.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clank88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

Poppy's is nice for families, especially if you like an Australian flavour away from home. There were a few irritating guests there who whinged at the top of their lungs over their hamburgers and seemed to think Vanuatu compared unfavourably with Terrigal, but that's not really the management's fault! We had an el cheapo unit up on the hill with a balcony overlooking the lagoon, which was simple but good, then a few days in a waterfront bungalow, which was very, very nice. It's all comfortable, in nice gardens, and even though it doesn't have the glam of Le Meridien etc it's a good little tropical base.

The little kitchenettes were good, even in the cheap rooms, and the local staff were sweet. I got a pretty good massage from Nora.

Highlights included the proximity to Port Vila (you stand at the top of the driveway and wait for a passing taxi, ie anyone with a car, and it's a 5 minute drive) and the fresh hibiscuses in the rooms each day. Lowlights would only be the Australianess of it; we would have liked a place with more local flavour, but lots of people like an island adventure during the day and a place more like home to come home to I guess.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luciaandwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victpria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

One tends to remember to negatives strongly and consider the positives a norm.
Negatives
No Air Con, depending on when you travel it will be needed to cool the romm down enough be able to sleep. Poppy's porviding portable air con would do the trick
Got charged a AUD40 for no reason and it took a 2 weeks , 2 phone calls and 1 email to get reimbursed
Staff Manger Brian was a bit off hand and directed us to a cafe for lunch without declaring a bias: he was the manager/owner of the cafe as well.
Mgt refused to cook Coconut crab we bought from the market, we would have been happy to pay for the privilege but that was a slightly abrupt 'no, discussion is over'
Island Night felt a bit overpriced, compulsory airport shuttle with Melanesian Tours (owned by the owners of Poppy's) was a bit of 3rd line forcing
Positives:
very reasonnable facilities, compared to the "outside wolrd". ie the bathroom is luxury compared to average home facilities, I would agree with the 4 stars in the context of the country.
Awesone view, Garden, pool etc, caters perfectly for a mix between laze around and discover the island holiday
Overall very fond memories and positives outwigh the negatives

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alvin__286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

Poppys is what I expected, and I was happy to stay there.

It's a place where you can escape the challenges of life in Vanuatu, but be close enough to Port Vila to get a local experience. If you are expecting all the creature comforts of a holiday in the developed world, you shouldn't go to Vanuatu. But if a sleepy, relaxing holiday in the humid tropics is your thing, then Vanuatu is a good option (and Poppys should be on your list).

I would recommend booking either a beachfront or a garden villa. The Lagoon View villas are up a very steep path and a long way from the pool and waterfront. I upgraded after one night, and I wasn't the only one.

I found my beachfront villa to be a delight. It takes a night or two to come to terms with the humidity. Yes the fan is loud and yes little ants run around. But the quiet location, access to the pools, the pretty garden, and the friendly service makes for a great place to stay.

The staff make Poppys a great place. The ladies who clean the rooms would be among the lowest paid, but they will do you proud. The children who live adjacent to Poppys laugh and play in the lagoon. But to be honest they really are a lot of fun.

Downtown Port Vila is a 15 minute walk from Poppys. Be prepared to witness grinding poverty. Port Vila is filthy, and the lack of basic infrastructure is an eye-opener. But I never felt hustled in Vanuatu, unlike in Fiji.

A bus (aka a beaten up old van) will cost 150vatu. It is great value, and they are in plentiful supply.

Am I going back to Vanuatu soon? No. Would I go back? Yes. Would I stay at Poppys on the Lagoon? Yes.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel_SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

The staff at Poppy's are friendly and very approachable. We travelled with our 18mth old daugther Emily, who though we only stayed 5 nights many of the staff knew her by name. Our room was always clean and the beds were very comfortable and the view across the pool was lovely. Hot water was sometimes non existant but staff were quick to fix this once informed. Food from the cafe was lovely and reasonably priced. Our daughter loved the Little Tikes cubbyhouse to play in. Watch out for the hotel driveway as it is steep and full of pot holes. We would definitely come back and stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
1.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mangoes Resort
Mangoes Resort
#14 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Sunset Bungalows Resort
#9 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy's on the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy's on the Lagoon

Property: Poppy's on the Lagoon
Address: Captain Cook Blvd. Seaside, PO Box 920, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#19 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppy's on the Lagoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppys on the Lagoon is an award winning boutique resort located on Erakor Lagoon. With private beachfront, a tropical oasis of gardens and only a 15 minute walk or 2 minute drive to Port Vila's town center, Poppys is the perfect getaway for friends, family and couples. Poppys on the Lagoon has a wide range of accommodation options, from unbeatable value lagoon view studios to freestanding luxury bungalows, 2 bedroom apartments and huge 3 bedroom villas. All accommodation options enjoy modern comforts and all have kitchen facilities, private balconies and are furnished with beautiful tropical style decor. As a family owned and operated business, Poppys will feel like your home away from home in Paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Poppy's on the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy`s On The Lagoon Hotel Port Vila
Poppys On The Lagoon Hotel
Poppys Lagoon
Poppy's On The Lagoon Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing