We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tradewinds Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tradewinds Villas
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I spent just one night at Tradewinds on a brief stopover before flying to Tanna. Valerie was incredibly helpful, especially as we arrived very late due to a delayed flight. As we sorted our stuff out she called the local restaurant to make sure we could still get dinner and then got the security guard to take us up there. We had arrived in darkness so hadn't a clue where we were! The next day we had chance to take in our surroundings and were pleased it was in a nice area and not far to the centre. We liked the fact that you get to see something of the local life just by wandering down the road. Our room was immaculate and had basic provisions (tea/coffee/milk/sugar) so we could make a drink before setting off and didn't have to worry about buying these things just for one night's stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenfern60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie T, Owner at Tradewinds Villas, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As we all understand how tiring and frustrating travelling can be, we try to provide extra care for our guests so that they can begin to relax as soon as possible.
We trust that you had a pleasant trip back to the UK and France and would be happy to have you stay with us again next time that you visit Vanuatu.
Kind regards
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    43
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
30
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and found it to be comfortable and friendly.I found Valerie to be really helpful for me as a solo visitor,giving me lots of tips to make my explorations easier.The accommodation is self contained and separate from other bungalows,with TV and air con-essential even in "winter."The position is good,being within walking distance of town(as long as you are reasonably fit),but especially in that you are surrounded by the suburbs,and not a sterile western resort.My first evening I came across an outdoor church service,where I stayed to listen and was welcomed by the people and entranced by the childrens choir.I am so glad i stayed here,that experience made it memorable.

Room Tip: bungalows individually situated and not too close together.I found no.9 to be good.A bit noisy if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 557jill557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie T, Owner at Tradewinds Villas, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for your review Jill. We are pleased that you were able to meet the local people and spend some time with them.
They are all very friendly and only to happy to welcome strangers into their midst.
We wish you happy travels in your next adventure
Kind regards
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Oamaru, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Valerie was a great host and shared many things about Vanuatu. She even took us the supermarket on the first day and told us how to get home.
The outlook was superb. The staff were lovely and accommodating. We were given fresh bananas and a coconut. They met us one night we walked home.
The rooms were comfortable. The beds were great. All the items in the kitchen were available once Valerie got come microwave safe dishes. An inventory had recently been done and they must have gone missing after that. It was good to have the washing line. the loungers by the pool were comfortable.The gas hot water was a challenge and hard to mix. As electricity is expensive the lighting was dim which was a challenge for my elderly father. The television could have been clearer and more channels would have been helpful for the wet days. The information book in the room needed some updating.
Overall a pleasant stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: One overlooking the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie T, Manager at Tradewinds Villas, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for your review Julie. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the fresh produce straight from our gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hedland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed at tradewinds for 4 weeks during June/July 2013 with a group of friends. I stayed in yhe large self-contained 3 bedroom house with 2 bathrooms, a generous sized living area and great outdoor area overlooking the Erakor lagoon. There is a TV with Australian TV channels and a DVD player in the living area. Tradewinds is a short 2 min walk from the hospital, 15min walk into town and buses pass by regularly. The resort is quiet and great if you're looking to avoid the crowds. Valerie's support and service to us over the month was better than anything I have ever experienced. She was always happy to answer questions and organise tours for us, and we often came home to fresh coconuts or bananas on our doorstep. The rooms are serviced 3 times a week, to an excellent standard of cleanliness and the grounds are kept spotless by the friendly gardener. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable stay at an affordable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessbabydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie T, Manager at Tradewinds Villas, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for your review Jess. It was great to have your group stay with us and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time here. We are always happy to help out where we can and I'm glad that you were able to sample some of the fruit from our gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed in a studio bungalow for 1 month. This was the best find for value for a safe one person self-contained accommodation close to the hospital (just a few hundred metres walk across the road and through the village) and a convenient and safe walking distance to town. The studio could accommodate up to 2 people. Valerie went out of her way to make me feel at home, even driving guests once to town, providing maps and tips about the local area, organising tours and activities for guests. The gardener would put coconuts and bananas from the garden on the table for the guests. Electricity never went out, the gas stove worked well and water pressure was decent. There was one free load of washing each week. This was not a luxury 5 star accommodation room but very suitable if you are looking for a comfortable home while working in Port Vila. The only critiques I had was that the shower head was cracked, the shower head holder would come apart and the toilet would clog up at times but these were not big problems. It was a great place to call home for 1 month and Valerie and the staff were very accommodating. Would definitely recommend for future guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie T, Manager at Tradewinds Villas, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Hi Sandy, Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you and I'm glad that you enjoyed the little extras from our gardens. Thank you for your critique also - it has been rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

I have stayed at Tradewinds on a few occasions and always found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. Location is excellent, far enough removed from the main town to avoid traffic noise, but a short walk or bus ride has you in the bustling heart of Port Vila.
Managed by the lovely Valerie, nothing was too much trouble - from arranging a Tanna trip to setting up a surprise day spa visit for my partner - thanks Val.
Yet another wonderfully relaxing break from the crazy reality of the Australian business world!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomTerrific52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We spent one month in Vanuatu volunteering at the hospital. Tradewinds satisfied all our needs providing us with a self-contained, 4 bedroom 2 bathroom townhouse in close proximity to the hospital (2 mins walk) and town centre (15 mins walk). This was a short-medium term rental, however the majority of rooms are one-bedroom vilas.

Valerie the owner, was more than hospitable and helped us organise any travel and tours we wanted to do. The views over the lagoon were stunning and it was a much more peaceful and quiet part of Vila to come home to after a long day.

The townhouse was clean, serviced twice weekly and had a well stocked, fully equiped kitchen. The bedrooms were spacious with either a queen bed or two singles. The house could easily sleep up to 8 adults.

The resort itself doesn't have a wide range of facilities, however restaurants and other attractions are nearby. Washing clothes is expensive ($10 per load), however this is comparable to other resorts.

If you're wanting luxury with everything at your doorstep, Tradewinds is not the most suitable, however for longer stays Tradewinds is like a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KyriaEmka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie T, Manager at Tradewinds Villas, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us Kyria. It was a pleasure having you and your friends here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.5 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Bungalows
Treetops Lodge & Bungalows
#47 of 48 in Port Vila
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#21 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
6.6 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#26 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#38 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#29 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seachange Lodge
Seachange Lodge
#3 of 31 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Villas

Property: Tradewinds Villas
Address: Captain Cook Avenue, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradewinds Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced Air-conditioned Studio Bungalows Serviced 3 Bedroom Townhouse Serviced 2 Bedroom Apartment Experience the relaxed comfort of home while exploring the unique culture and beautiful lifestyle of Vanuatu. Overlooking the serene waters of Erakor Lagoon, Tradewinds Resort offers self-contained bungalows in the peace and quiet of the 'suburbs'. A 10 min walk will take you to the fresh fruit and vegetable markets in town, or a short stroll to the local restaurants when you feel like dining out. The air-conditioned bungalows also have ceiling fans and can be configured as twin share or double. The kitchenette is equipped with microwave, jug, toaster, and full-size refrigerator and includes crockery and cutlery and cooking utensils. For the family or small groups, the 3 bedroom Townhouse or 2 bedroom apartment overlooking Erakor Lagoon would be a great base for your Vanuatu adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tradewinds Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Port Vila
Tradewinds Villas Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing