We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”
Review of Tradewinds Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tradewinds Villas
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We enjoyed our stay here. We used the unit as a base to explore Efate.It was nice to come home to air con, own kitchen, clean pool and lovely view.
The owners and staff are really friendly and helpful and someone was there on duty 24 hours a day.Our new unit was cleaned spotless each day and the property seemed very well maintained. KItchen was very good in 2br unit as we ate out at restaurants for most lunches and cooked at night then relaxed indoors or by the pool. Kids liked watching all their favourite drama shows on Aussie cable tv (7 and 9).

Collyne in the office is a gem and helped with local knowledge, bookling tours and sightseeing suggestions. All staff are great with kids and babysitting is arranged at a very reasonable price. Nearby villagers are very friendly but be aware they live in poverty. there is a small general store over the road for cold beer, bread , coke etc. Transport is cheap -300 vatu into Port Vila or 150vt per person by bus. Its an easy walk into town with restaurants (ie Coconut Palms, Mangoes)close by. It is quite safe to walk at night and the staff can give you directions at all hours.

This is a quiet and cozy small complex ideal if you are working short term or on an active holiday.If your holiday is mainly relaxing by the beach or poolside then you will need to visit some of the nearby islands and resorts, only a short ride away.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vegiemuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2009

We have just returned from a 10 day visit to Port Vila staying at Tradewinds resort. This was our third trip to Vanuatu and we were on a tight budget so Tradewinds was ideal for us as it was very reasonably priced. It is in a good location about 10 minutes walk into Port Vila and Mangoes, Poppy's and Coconut Palms resorts are close by if you want to eat out without walking into town. There is also a good supermarket at Nambatu which is another 10 minute walk. There is no on-site restaurant although there is a BBQ on Tuesdays.( This was not held while we were there as Mitch was away.)
We had a studio villa which was a good size for the two of us. King size bed rather than a queen which was great. A small kitchen area with two gas burners and a microwave and toaster etc etc. meant we could self cater for most meals. The units have insect screens on all the windows so no mozzie bites and each unit has a fan as well as an air-con unit . Really couldn't fault the standard of accommodation at all. A coin wash laundry would be a good addition, as it costs 1000 vatu per load ($16nzd) for the resort to do it for you, so we just washed things by hand and hung them out to dry (some units have a washing line)
There is a small pool area but unfortunately, due to the location on the lagoon side of the island, it loses the sun at around 2pm and is in the shade all afternoon. This was a downside for us as we were scuba diving every morning and wanted to come back to the resort and sit in the sun....
The other downside for us was the noise from the local village and road. Dogs barking in the early hours, bass music blaring, cocks crowing. Hardly conducive to a relaxing nights sleep or an afternoon nap....
All in all a very nice, well -priced resort but we would look for somewhere quieter next time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Easy walk to town, self-contained rooms means can eat some meals in. Get to experience local life with the village next door. Staff are really friendly and Tuesday BBQ with Mitch & Lynn was heaps of fun.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi10Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

hi there

I had the most incredible time in vanuatu and constantly wish i was back there!
We stayed at the tradewinds resort and loved it! we had room 19 (i think) which was really private and sort of had its own yard! it was awesum, but make sure you pull back the screen door when you go out of it, we had a bit of an issue with not seeing it! sorry again mitch! We loved the swimming pool and looking over the lagoon at sunrise and sunset was truely lovely.

We are all poor students so buying food from the market, (fresh bread as well) was something we did everyday. Dont be afraid to eat the food they make there, its incredibly cheap and really yummy, and no, we didnt get sick from it! take a camera for sure, the live crabs all tied up are really something :-/ (it was hideous)
being on a budget meant we couldnt do expensive stuff, but a day at iririki resort was brilliant and i highly reccomend it, we felt like movie stars sitting by the pool, with our (one) cocktail! I loved the snorkling there as the fish wernt as big as the ones at hideaway.
Mele cascades is a must see and you have to swim there! on the way back take a little detour to the lookout, you have to walk a short way off the main path, but once there you can see hideaway island and an amazing view towards the port, Its a great place to dry off and relax. we went to the secret garden, but there was a lot of reading involved and we honestly couldnt be bothered, i would recommend not going there, instead just go straight to hideaway island, its totally gorgeous there, but very busy and its a small place so you dont get really any privacy as there is only a limited space to sit on the sand. The snorkling there is astonishing as it is so crystal clear, it freaked me out a bit because there were so many fish and they were big! the water was bath water temperature so it was lovely to be in.

take the busses everywhere, they are great and really cheap. We made a decsion to tip, it is advised not to, but i beleive if you can you should, every bit counts in a place as poor as vanuatu.
All in all i loved vanuatu, it was a mix of poor and dirt and gorgeous and basic all at the same time. the resorts there are llovely as is the tropical plants and the water and the natural beauty of the place. I loved it and cant wait to go back.

Must do:
Mele cascades
Hideaway island
Iririki Island
the food market
the pizza place next to the markets that overlooks the harbour (cant remember the name), at dusk ,for a coke (gorgeous views) (dont nessasarily buy a pizza there, its really expensive, so was the coke actually but we felt we had to buy something to sit there and it was worth it).

2  Thank manea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

My daughter and I stayed at Mitch's resort for 8 days. The accommodation was spotless thanks to the lovely Ni Vanuatuan staff. We had a two bedroom, two bathroom unit with air conditioning in the bedrooms, and a lovely deck overlooking the Erakor lagoon.
We used the pool every day, and it was always clean.
I really enjoyed the complete lack of city noise. There were no intrusive thumping stereos, and the only cars you heard from the resort were the airport pickups.
Recommmended highly for those who want a peaceful break.
If you wanted to go down to the "bright lights" of Vila, then there was a better local bus service- very decrepit mini van buses, but good drivers- than at home.
I might add that the local people are honest, friendly, did not expect tips, nor were there any touts. Touts are the bane of many tourist destinations.
Lovely holiday.

Linda from Mount Maunganui, New Zealand

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaMtMaunganui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2006

This is a great budget resort. If you get this on a cheap package deal it is worth it. I'd score the rooms 4 star and the general facilities 2 star.
Good things: The rooms are new, modern and spacious. We took our child and they put 2 queen beds in our room and there was still lots of space. Nice and clean. Well equpiied kitchen (but no oven - just elements and microwave), new fridge, large balcony, nice bathroom (no bath). DVD and CD palyer, TV tuned to Oz sport and childrens progs. Friendly staff, nice wee pool
Bad things: No restaurant. Not near the lagoon. No access through Poppys and not in a swimmable area. This was a bit of a major for us and really amounted to the ONLY problem. Located opposite a not very attractive village (about the only "slum" bit we saw).
But you can catch buses and taxis everywhere. Locals are dead friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jhgfhsdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Perth, West Australia
13
Reviewed 24 October 2005

Stayed with Mitch and crew for a week , played golf , went fishing - caught and tagged a MARLIN had some great food and went home feeling like we had had a holiday. Resort is a great place to chill and Vanuatu is a great relatively unspoilt and uncomplicated destination. Will go back

Stayed: August 2004
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.2 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
159 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
362 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ripples on the Bay
Ripples on the Bay
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coconut Palms Resort
Coconut Palms Resort
#31 of 47 in Port Vila
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Villas

Address: Captain Cook Avenue, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £37 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradewinds Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced Air-conditioned Studio Bungalows Serviced 3 Bedroom Townhouse Serviced 2 Bedroom Apartment Experience the relaxed comfort of home while exploring the unique culture and beautiful lifestyle of Vanuatu. Overlooking the serene waters of Erakor Lagoon, Tradewinds Resort offers self-contained bungalows in the peace and quiet of the 'suburbs'. A 10 min walk will take you to the fresh fruit and vegetable markets in town, or a short stroll to the local restaurants when you feel like dining out. The air-conditioned bungalows also have ceiling fans and can be configured as twin share or double. The kitchenette is equipped with microwave, jug, toaster, and full-size refrigerator and includes crockery and cutlery and cooking utensils. For the family or small groups, the 3 bedroom Townhouse or 2 bedroom apartment overlooking Erakor Lagoon would be a great base for your Vanuatu adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tradewinds Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Port Vila
Tradewinds Villas Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing