We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Aussies”
Review of Kaiviti Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kaiviti Motel
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed Aussies”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you book online and pay - be wary. We booked and paid online only to find out upon arrival that the room had been double booked. They told us that the Kaiviti is often overbooked and that guests are moved next door. They put us up at a neighboring establishment, however the room was certainly well below the standard that we had booked and paid for at Kaiviti. This also meant that we were separated from the rest of the group we were travelling with. Whilst we were offered complimentary breakfast with our group at the Kaiviti, we found it totally inconvenient. They were able to move us back with our group for the second night but still not in the room we had originally booked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaivitimotel, Manager at Kaiviti Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. Kaiviti Motel does not make the practice of overbooking as indicated in your posting. Yes, there was an error with the on-line inventory on those nights and unfortunately we did not have another room that could accommodate 4 persons. As the booking was made on-line we did not know the age of the children and therefore sourced a 2 bedroom apartment at the motel next door in case the children were small. We apologise for the inconvience and will keep a better handle on the on-line inventory in the future so these sorts of issues are minimised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    35
    14
    13
    2
See reviews for
18
21
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed at Kaiviti for 2 weeks as part of a large group. I was in room 15 (1 dbl, 1 sgl) which has apparently been done up relatively recently. Kaiviti is host to many groups staying for more than a week and for good reason...it offers everything that is needed, is well located and at a reasonable price. It has a nice pool, a BBQ area guests can use free of charge, a laundry (500vt for washing, same for dryer), kitchenettes in all rooms (although not all have ovens) daily room cleaning and pleasant staff. It's not particularly resort- like, but doesn't pretend to be. With a 100metre walk to Leader Price or Au Bon Marche and about a 5 or 6 minute walk down hill to the central markets it is a great choice for those looking to stretch the budget by self catering. The main road can be a bit noisy at night but it didn't bother me, more that I noticed it and went back to sleep.

Room Tip: Beds in the recently redone rooms are, by all accounts, a significant mprovement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdcga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have travelled to Vanuatu several times and took the opportunity to try out a different Port Vila accommodation on this occassion wanting to find a place that would be suitable to return to with the children. We booked a basic room, through booking.com (NZD$252 for 2 nights). On check in the staff indicated that our room wasn't ready but that they would give us a 2 bedroom apartment instead (we assumed it was an upgrade). Although spacious and with a small kitchette suitable for self catering if you wished, the apartment was VERY dated (appeared as if nothing had been done since it was built, at a guess some time in the early 1970's). We decided against discussing the issue of our disappointment in the rooms standard as we had meetings all that day and the following day, and didn't have time to spare re-packing and all that it entails - as we were only there for 2 nights.

Examples of aged appearance: fold out sofa in lounge area had no seat support, so you sat on the springs and it was difficult to get out of. Candlewick bedspreads on the beds. Smelt of cat pee (or worse perhaps). Internal bathroom had no fan in it and there was mould in the paintwork. Carpet tiles upstairs were lifting and there were none under the double bed.

The pool / cafe / bar area (near the entrance) looked delightful but we didn't get to use it due to our busy schedule. The investment in building this area is where the owner has spent $ rather than renovating rooms.

Having said all this - the newly renovated executive rooms would be the only rooms that would be recommended at Kaiviti.

You will see from all our other reviews, that we are always positive about places we've stayed even when the facilities have been basic, however this time we have felt compelled to say it like it really is. I don't believe there is any excuse for this level of lack of quality - even at the budget end.

We have decided not to return to Kaiviti opting to go to other Port Vila establishments on our return later this year.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room you booked. Some of the rooms back onto Club 21 - casino next door and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwilanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed at the Kaiviti for a week from May 3, 2013, after noticing it on our 2012 trip when we walked past it most days. We thought the location was good right from the start, it is on the top of the hill just south of town near Au Bon Marche Numbatu, and Leader Price supermarket, as well as some restaurants. We then found that the rooms were being renovated and this is still occurring. We also met the very friendly and personable owners Ashlea and Brenton and decided it was on the list of places to stay.

We stayed in a renovated executive studio which has a fully equipped kitchen and good quality reliable wired internet. There is a TV with a good range of Aussie stations. The room was pleasant, clean and updated and the pool and bar/restaurant area, also upgraded was a most enjoyable place to swim, have a drink and have a meal. A BBQ is provided to cook the excellent and cheap meat available at Leader Price and ABM2 too.

However probably the most impressive part of the Kaiviti experience was the genuine friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff, if you needed information or assistance they were there in a flash. The smiles and warmth of the people was truly fantastic. As soon as you left your room in the morning the room service was completed without fuss, and always with a smile if you were poolside.

A final plus was the provision of fresh filtered rainwater. As the Vanuatu tap water can be a bit hard, having a high mineral content, it can be a bit tough on tender stomachs but the rain water tank was a wonderful provision. We could go and fill bottles to our hearts content.

Thank you Ashlea and Brenton, we will be back.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms are much better though a bit more expensive. Worth the extra for the included in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed 6 nights at Kaiviti. Have stayed many places around the world and this is one of the cleanest, nicest and affordable motels we have ever stayed at. Mrs Ashlea Terry is a most peasant person to talk with. She has a wealth of local knowledge and is able to recommend tours and places to visit. The Motel has a poolside bar and restaurant, ideal for breakfast, lunch and dinner, all at reasonable prices. Rooms have kitchen facilities, great for in-room food preparation. Rooms are being progressively up-graded, another good feature for future visitors. The proximity of Kaiviti to modern supermarkets and restaurants is another bonus. Can highly recommend dining at the nearby French restaurant L'Houstalet. Can also recommend the BBQ and Culture Night at the Melanesian Hotel, next door to Kaiviti. The Kaiviti is only a short distance to town, either to walk, or take one of the many local buses, an easy way to get around. Friendly staff. Can highly recommend to visitors planning a Vanuatu holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skryppy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A variety of different rooms and many with kitchenette facilities should cater for most short or medium term visitors - located close to several supermarkets and restaurants. A good sized pool and nice poolside area provides an opportunity for relaxation or simple but nice meals and drinks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daula22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a few years ago ad this is our third visit. The motel is in walking distance to shops, dive centre and massage business . Staff are friendly and very pleasant. We had room 32 and it had all what we needed. Basic cooking facility, working fridge, big tv, air cond and view to the harbor . Very pleasant. The pool is well kept, clean and refreshing. We only had lunch once at the restaurant below. On our day to fly out we per ordered a burger and the service was great. It is simple, nothing fancy, however very practicle accomodation. We will be staying here again next time. I also recommend the Philippino massage shop just outside the motel . Great service and truly a great massage. Nautilus dive shop is also in walking distance. Used them before and the service is good. Dive sites were what we wanted so a great day out.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Swissmiss6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.2 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#40 of 47 in Port Vila
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
#42 of 47 in Port Vila
32 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiviti Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiviti Motel

Property: Kaiviti Motel
Address: PO Box 152, Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaiviti Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kaiviti Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiviti Village Hotel
Kaiviti Motel Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing