We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Vila Chaumieres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Chaumieres
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

What a wonderful place for a gel-out holiday. After 9 weeks touring around Europe (He) decided to take me to Vanuatu for my birthday and we chose Vila Chaumieres as the one. The resort consists of bungalows set in beautiful gardens. The owners Ursula and Richard were really nice and very hospitable, nothing was too much trouble for them. The staff were equally attentive - Elece in the front and also Alick who was the restaurant host. Food was exceptional as was the wine list. We were fairly late getting down to breakfast every morning but no worries - the tropical breakfast with fruit and croissants/toast were great and included in the price. We hope of course to return, but in the meantime will recommend to friends and relatives. The coconut crab is the signature of Samson the chef - fantastic - huge - a definite share.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slwityk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Vila Chaumieres
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked for a meal- what a beautiful place- nice romantic, we had table 4, best table for overlooking the water. The meal was amazing- I have never had such a choice as a vegetarian and the presentation- vegetable coconut curry in the coconut! My husband enjoyed his steak too, presentation and taste of the food the best we had on our trip- even the little touches, warm bread and butter, cold water. The only comment would be th e clash of noise from the romantic music to the noise filtering down from the next resort of what sounded like a local dancing night. It is a bit of of a way out of the centre of town so my tip would be to catch one of the local buses down negotiate your fare first we paid 500 vats for two and then we negotiated for him to come back and pick us up at a set time too at the same rate as there is not a lot of traffic around the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank den003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Myself and my cousin just spent 5 nights at Vila Chaumieres and loved every minute of our stay. The comfy, roomy bungalows set in beautifully maintained gardens and the restaurant extending over the lagoon made an idyllic base for our island stay.

The owners Richard and Ursula went out of their way to make us feel welcome. As neither of us are swimmers, snorkeling wasn't an option, but Richard and Ursula gave us lots of ideas for alternative activities and recommended and booked some awesome trips for us. They also gave is lots of helpful tips for navigating the island.

The food at the restaurant was beautiful and their complimentary breakfasts are a great inclusion. The restaurant accommodated us with a late lunch when we arrived at 3pm, and the meals we ate there were the best we experienced on our trip.

We loved coming back to this private oasis at the end of the day, and enjoying a hot chocolate before bed on their garden terrace. The resort has a peaceful yet friendly and laid back atmosphere, and we enjoyed chats with other travellers staying at the resort or visiting the restaurant in the evening.

Local buses passing regularly outside made it very easy to get into town cheaply and quickly. I would highly recommend this resort as a base to anyone going to Port Vila on holidays, and as an adults only resort it would be highly appealing to those seeking a kid-free getaway.

Thanks Richard and Ursula, hope to see you again someday! :)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just spent five very relaxing days here in a lagoon view room. WONDERFUL ....adult only...tick.....lovely food...tick....lovely room...tick...wonderful owners and staff...tick....I have recommended this place to friends and work colleagues and you MUST try the Seafood Platter for Two

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have just returned from a fabulous relaxing week at Vila Chaumieres. Ursula and Richard were so helpful, even joining me (a single person) on an excursion. The view, relaxing surrounds, art in the garden (clever Ursula), staff service and meals were the best one ever. Coconut crab and seafood crepes highly recommended! Watching the sealife in the lagoon below the restaurant as one eats is a pleasure as is kayaking the waters early in the morning - magic! I will return, see you next year Ursula and Richard and a million thanks for the best distressing holiday ever.

Room Tip: Both lagoon rooms and bungalows spacious and beautifully presented with original art
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

After reading fantastic reviews only, we booked three nights at Vila Chaumieres for a stay in September. Our rooms were nice and clean, but if you're after al tropical lazy holiday, this is not the right place to stay. The small lagoon beach displayed on their website actually belongs to the neighbours (private) and not accessible by guests. There's a small but slightly grotty pool with a couple of chairs, so there isn't really a place to kick back and relax, which is what we were after. The lagoon isn't very inviting to swim in we thought.
The restaurant is very nice but expensive. Richard and his wife were very nice and friendly but we experienced other staff to be disinterested and sometimes a bit rude. Overall, the hotel is good value for money but probably better suited to those who want a base for island activities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunseekers-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A big thank you to richard and his team. We have a super relaxing week with them. The staff were always so freindly and courtious. The room was excellent all the things you needed. The bed was comfortable too.

The food was excellent alway. Spot on the the quality and ingredients.

Many thanks. Nic and Cheyne

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheyne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
1.9 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
303 reviews
4.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
205 reviews
4.7 mi away
Angelfish Cove Villas
Angelfish Cove Villas
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Chaumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Chaumieres

Address: 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £70 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila Chaumieres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Chaumieres is a child-free Resort set in a lovely tropical garden on the banks of Erakor Lagoon. Renowned for its excellent restaurant, and situated just 4 km from the centre of Port Vila, it offers a peaceful retreat to the discerning traveller seeking an alternative to the large tourist resort, but still within easy reach of all facilities and holiday amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Chaumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Chaumieres Hotel Port Vila
Vila Chaumieres Port
Vila Chaumieres Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing