We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Seas dream”
Review of Vila Chaumieres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Chaumieres
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“South Seas dream”
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Vila Chaumieres is the most romantic of restaurants in a quiet and simply stunning location. I have been there on two different trips to Vanuatu and both times the experience was magical and memorable. Located on the edge of Erakor Lagoon the restaurant is a simple fare like structure on the very edge of the lagoon. The water is lit to attract fish and crabs which makes for free entertainment as you enjoy your meal. The palm trees across the narrow lagoon are also lit and look romantic and ghostly. The food is top notch and the service excellent. The new owner is a friendly and hospitable man who made us feel welcome and as if were eating in his own home. On the first occasion I dined there large white blossoms floated past us every now in and then, as if someone was upstream dropping them in the water just for us...it was so romantic it nearly brought tears to my eyes. I will never go back to Vanuatu without enjoying an evening at Vila Chaumieres...a real highlight!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank samatjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    50
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
124
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2008

We stayed at Vila Chaumieres for 10 days and loved every minute. It's under new management and they are working really hard to freshen up the place. The rooms are basic but roomy and there are only a handful - a huge plus. I'm not a fan of the resorts where you are just another number. Service is personal and friendly, the location is great and the dining is sensational!! If nothing else you should definitely come and try the coconut crab! The restaurant is rustic and romantic - it's set over the lagoon and is possibly the best food on the idland!

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank h0tch0c0late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We've just returned from what we would describe as the best place you could possibly want to stay at if you're looking for small and intimate. We stayed in Room 5 which we would highly recommend as it overlooks the quiet restaurant and lagoon. They are all air conditioned which is rare for a small place as only the bigger hotels (and not all of those are either) are air cond. as electricity as so expensive. Don't believe what the information guides say about not really needing a/c and the cool breezes are enough. That is not true. Sometimes there is no breeze at all and we sweltered (even though we come from Cairns and are used to the tropical heat). We were so relieved to get back to our a/c room.
The room rates were very reasonable and were a bit heistant in going there as we expected less. It's self rated at 3 star, but we would rate it 4 star. Maybe when all the reno's are done it could be more.
The new owners, Pauline and Phil are in the process of updating and refurbishing and have started with lovely new Sheridan linen and towels.
The setting is so beautiful and peaceful overlooking the small lagoon full of fish that swim around for a feed while sitting at the restaurant. The gardens are lovingly maintained by the gardener, Jack.
The restaurant is highly recommended by us and the locals and is built over the lagoon. We would recommend the Beef Wellington and the Seafood Pasta as they are both superb. We didn't try everything on the menu but those we did try were all delicious. Our compliments to Chef, Samson. Jenny, our morning waitress knew before we asked what we wanted and always had a smile for us. Alik, our evening waiter is very professional and efficient. We can't mention all the staff but they are all Ni-Vanuatu and are extremely polite, pleasant and friendly.
Lastly, Pauline and Phil, who have come from non hospitality backgrounds were superb hosts. Their enthusiasm and way for making people feel welcome and comfortable was great and they couldn't do enough for us. They even drove us into the Private Hospital when one of us got sick and then came back and drove us back to the Vila.
There isn't a pool but we didn't miss that as the lagoon is safe to swim in.
We wish them well in their new venture and hope we will be back someday.

  • Liked — peace and quiet, restaurant, staff and setting
  • Disliked — little bit far from town, but buses go past all the time and are cheap
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 March 2006

We celebrated our 7th wedding anniversary dinner at Vila Chaumieres in March 2006 and had a fabulous evening. You sit on a gorgeous rustic jetty on the Erakor Lagoon and watch the fish go crazy beneath you - lovely music, gorgeous food and a simply delightful setting - the highlight of our holiday!

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
7.2 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
352 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Sunset Bungalows Resort
#9 of 47 in Port Vila
572 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fatumaru Lodge
Fatumaru Lodge
#8 of 47 in Port Vila
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Chaumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Chaumieres

Property: Vila Chaumieres
Address: 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila Chaumieres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Chaumieres is a child-free Resort set in a lovely tropical garden on the banks of Erakor Lagoon. Renowned for its excellent restaurant, and situated just 4 km from the centre of Port Vila, it offers a peaceful retreat to the discerning traveller seeking an alternative to the large tourist resort, but still within easy reach of all facilities and holiday amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Chaumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Chaumieres Hotel Port Vila
Vila Chaumieres Port
Vila Chaumieres Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing