We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little slice of heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Chaumieres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vila Chaumieres
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Australia, Canberra.
1 review
“Little slice of heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at a few resorts whilst holidaying in Vanuatu but nothing could match the hospitality, food and the overall general welcoming feel that we received at Vila Chaumieres. Tracy, the manager was a great host, only able to commend her on how she looked us – Tracy don’t change!!!
We loved the food – other resorts could just not compare – but we could...and I guess we did and Vila Chaumieres came out top EVERY TIME! The food was divine - has reasonable is price - actually it was great!
It was lovely to be greeted in the morning by the lovely girls, they are so professional yet friendly and knew what they were doing! I loved them and I had a tear in my eye when I was saying good bye one of the girls (Elise) gave me a hug and I didn’t want to leave!!! I cant say enough how perfect Tracys girls were - they are the best! I really did enjoy being with them. The gardens at Vila Chaumieres were immaculate, the gardener Jack should be so proud of his garden! Very serene, peaceful little spots where you can just be peaceful and reflect on your days/holiday - awesome. And Jack picks the best coconuts-straight from the tree - he slices the top off and away you go - drinking thebest ever coconut milk and the fresh flesh - omg! I totaly recommend the stay just for Jacks coconuts – mmm bliss!
Cost – Fantastic – could not complain about the overall cost!
We loved every minute staying at Vila Chaumieres, it was close enough to town that it wasn’t a hassle – the buses were an experience! We had such a great time with lovely memories made.
YOU MUST STAY AT THE VILA CHAUMIERES!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLiesegangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    49
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
123
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

This place is a little oasis. The peace and tranquilty is perfect for relaxing. And it's only a short bus ride into town. The owner Tracey is the perfect host. Nothing is too much trouble. I would recommend this place to anyone in search of a peaceful holiday. In the words of the great Darryl Kerrigan "ah the serenity"

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bombersuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Overall Villa chaumiere is a good place to stay but probably not the best place to stay in Port Vila.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenHayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

My new husband and I spent 12 days at Vila Chaumieres and we could have easily spent another 12!! Tracy, the Manager, makes you feel like one of the family from the moment you step foot on the property. The bungalows are perfect for a honeymoon or a holiday where you need/want to unwind and get away from it all but at the same time feel pampered with breakfast on the lagoon or meals brought to your room. The domestic staff (hate the term but describes the job I suppose) are absolutely wonderful......warm, welcoming and very humble people. My husband and I got the dreaded "Vanuatu Belly" from eating lap-lap from a Kava Hut - apparently a no-no........Tracy did try to warn us but we got overtaken by th spirit of the evening........but the staff were nothing but helpful during our sick days. Tracy and the staff went out of there way to bring us food and things from nature to try and help our bellies; take us to the Chemist; calling the Doctor, etc......things that are important especially when you are unwell so far from home.

We hope to get back to Vanuatu and Vila Chaumieres one day and highly recommend this venue for anyone after a true holiday.

Ravi & Cheryl

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RavnChez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

It's a beautiful escape from the daily grind. The lagoon view room is stunning and the garden view bungalows are equally serene! It was the most relaxing moments and overseas(trip) stay in 6 years! You could enjoy a swim, paddle the boat down or kayak in the lagoon or simply enjoy the serene environment with a good book on the balcony of your room! It is 5 mins drive from the main city and the trip will cost you $2. The staff is very humble and hospitable and the manager, Tracy isan amazing person and remembers you personally! YOU WOULD BE A FOOL TO MISS THE DINNER ON THE LAGOON RESTAURANT. THE FOOD IS DELICIOUS AND THE AMBIENCE IS STRIKINGLY BEAUTIFUL IN THE EVENINGS!

Ranganath and Sonya

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

We just returned from a 5 night stay at Vila Chaumieres. What an absolutely beautiful place to relax & unwind. We stayed in a lagoon view room (one of two) and it was just perfect. It's a little out of the main strip but so easy to get into town, just jump on a 'bus' for 2 bucks (150 vatu) and within 5 minutes you are there. The resort is small so most of the time you feel like the staff are there just for you. We received a free fruit & croissant breakfast every morning: fresh fruit from the local markets and warm bread & croissants with butter, yummy! Our beds were made with fresh linen every morning and the air con in the room made sleeping in the heat so much easier!
You can swim and snorkel in the lagoon there, the local kids spend most days playing in the water all up the river. You can take the resorts kayaks out and go for a wander, you won't be short of any 'halo!'s or smiles as you paddle up or down to either of the two lagoons.
The staff were incredible, nothing was a hassle, and if we needed anything, they went out of their way to help.
You HAVE to eat at the restaurant there, excellent food cooked by their loyal chef of 20 years! The seafood pasta was my absolute favourite, i had it 3 times!!
All up, a wonderful holiday in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darbster85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

I followed the reviews on TripAdvisor when selecting a hotel for a week's stay in Vanuatu. Vila Chaumieres was rated so highly, I went with the reviews. It was a good decision. The location is ideal, about 4 km from town. The environment of Vila Chaumires is idyllic - beautiful lagoon, beautiful gardens.

The local staff are lovely and attentive in a low key and discreet way. We spent a lot of time at the hotel and never felt crowded or in the way. Nothing was too much trouble.
A word about the owner, Tracy - she is a delight! She was ever patient, ever helpful and ever friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
7.3 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
4.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#21 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Sunset Bungalows Resort
#10 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Chaumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Chaumieres

Property: Vila Chaumieres
Address: 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila Chaumieres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Chaumieres is a child-free Resort set in a lovely tropical garden on the banks of Erakor Lagoon. Renowned for its excellent restaurant, and situated just 4 km from the centre of Port Vila, it offers a peaceful retreat to the discerning traveller seeking an alternative to the large tourist resort, but still within easy reach of all facilities and holiday amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Vila Chaumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Chaumieres Hotel Port Vila
Vila Chaumieres Port
Vila Chaumieres Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing