We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“going on my third week here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sportsmens Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sportsmens Hotel
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“going on my third week here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Bob and Emily go out of their way to help guests. Emily even took up running so I would have a companion on my morning run. Service is great, the hotel is one of the cheapest in town, and the excellent Emily's Takeaway Cafe is attached and open 24/7. This hotel is only a few years old and is kept very clean, beds are very comfortable with really nice sheets and they do your laundry for free. Being just a short staircase away from the main street means it is close to everything but still quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    23
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
7
14
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I Have to Say that Bob,Emily and Staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome.nothing is too hard and they'll go out of there way to Help you any way they can.They have expert local knowledge.
The Food is excellent (pat on the back to the cooks) and the Staff provide an excellent service.
The location is very good with easy excess to rental cars(200m down the road)The local bus stop is right out front and shops and the main town are a short walk away.
I would recommend to all travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funafuti, Tuvalu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sportsmens Hotel. Great service and surrounded by friendly staff. The room was large and spacious and surrounded by beautiful gardens with a 24/7 cafe. Bob and Emily were always so accomodating and made sure that everything was running smoothly. I will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone that wishes to visit Vila.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port vila
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

iam a bus driver and when there is heavy rain i can't get the bus to go to my house so i always stop at the sportsmens hotel the reason i stay is because the price is 2000vt the cheapest in town the rooms are large and always very clean the beds are top quality and the sheets and blankets are good quality too the bathrooms are large and are cleaned all the time by very helpful staff that do the washing and ironing free of charge the cafe in the hotel is called Emily's and the food is tops and well priced it is open 24/7 i recommend the sportsmens hotel to locals and visitors everyday.

Room Tip: Room 16, 17,18,19,20 or 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Was travelling through Port Vila on business and spent a night at the Sportsmens. Room was basic but clean and well presented with flowers on the (double) bed and roomy bathroom with huge shower area. What you get for your money is probably the cheapest in town, but certainly not done "cheap". And that's only the room. Bar area is expansive with Vanuatu styled roofing and supports, sat TV and even a projector with huge (total wall) screen for sporting or special events. Good value drinks and food with Emilys takeaway part of complex (see other review) and mine hosts, Bob and Emily, readily available and more than willing to assist with any local information. Highly recommended and not only if on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Surprised by the welcome and freindliness of the owner Bob and Emily we never stopped appreciating the value for money at this spot. Away from the maddening crowd and enjoying the cool breezes, and quiet and top of the hill location, but close enough to walk to town. No problem too small for Bob and when we asked for local fruit, what a delight to find some in the room on returning, such is the service! We went away for the weekend after an amazing FREE cultural night and couldn't find anything to compare so we're back for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuross Head
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

This oasis is the best kept secret in port villa. You can get a cold draught beer for 300 vatu and a decent size quality meal from 600 vatu. The locals in the know go there and many expats. Wonderful hospitality from staff and owners Emily and bob. As a bonus they put on a FREE cultural evening with dancing and singing by villages nearby. The Sporties and Emily's cafe takeaway are a must visit if you just want to chill out. And if you are looking for action, they have all the sports channels and the big screen.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Paradise Motel
Pacific Paradise Motel
#40 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
#43 of 48 in Port Vila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#24 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#27 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coconut Palms Resort
Coconut Palms Resort
#31 of 48 in Port Vila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsmens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsmens Hotel

Property: The Sportsmens Hotel
Address: Opposite Parliament House, Port Vila, Efate 0000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lovely staff here at the Sportsmens Hotel will make you at home right away. All rooms are cleaned daily. Convenience is our specialty, we are close to town, the National Museum, Our very own 24/7 Emily's Takeaway, and a great bar to relax and dance at with live music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sportsmens Hotel Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing