We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sportsmens Hotel
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed at Sportman's for two weeks. Excellent budget accomodation and friendly and helpful proprietors. I would highly recoommend Sportsman's as a place to stay. It is in easy walking distance to the town and next to the museum

Fiona

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaCam_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

Excellent value for the money, Great location right in town opposite the Parliament. Restaurant is always open and serves great meals. The lunch specials are highly recommended. Bob, Emily, and staff helpful and friendly. Rooms are comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The sportsmens hotel is the place to go and here are the reasons 
Good cold beer 
Wifi 24/7 
Cafe open 24/7 
Reception open all night 
Transfers from airport 1000 vt per person
Rooms from 2000 vt per person per night 
Clean rooms clean bathrooms  
Right in middle of. Town  
Opposite parliament  house  
3 foxtel stations on tvs with all important sports channels 
Beautiful outlook into their very own gardens 
Friendly well trained staff willing to make our stays as comfortable as possible  we stayed in the 2 bed flat for 1 week and it was the cheapest in town  i come from port  Vila and my wife needed a brake and my wife loved the free washing and ironing that was done by Anna the laundry girl   All in all it was a wonderful experience and i recommend it to locals and travelers from anywhere  

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
Thank Grahame C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Bob and Emily go out of their way to help guests. Emily even took up running so I would have a companion on my morning run. Service is great, the hotel is one of the cheapest in town, and the excellent Emily's Takeaway Cafe is attached and open 24/7. This hotel is only a few years old and is kept very clean, beds are very comfortable with really nice sheets and they do your laundry for free. Being just a short staircase away from the main street means it is close to everything but still quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I Have to Say that Bob,Emily and Staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome.nothing is too hard and they'll go out of there way to Help you any way they can.They have expert local knowledge.
The Food is excellent (pat on the back to the cooks) and the Staff provide an excellent service.
The location is very good with easy excess to rental cars(200m down the road)The local bus stop is right out front and shops and the main town are a short walk away.
I would recommend to all travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sportsmens Hotel. Great service and surrounded by friendly staff. The room was large and spacious and surrounded by beautiful gardens with a 24/7 cafe. Bob and Emily were always so accomodating and made sure that everything was running smoothly. I will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone that wishes to visit Vila.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

iam a bus driver and when there is heavy rain i can't get the bus to go to my house so i always stop at the sportsmens hotel the reason i stay is because the price is 2000vt the cheapest in town the rooms are large and always very clean the beds are top quality and the sheets and blankets are good quality too the bathrooms are large and are cleaned all the time by very helpful staff that do the washing and ironing free of charge the cafe in the hotel is called Emily's and the food is tops and well priced it is open 24/7 i recommend the sportsmens hotel to locals and visitors everyday.

Room Tip: Room 16, 17,18,19,20 or 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.0 mi away
Traveller's Budget Motel
Traveller's Budget Motel
#11 of 47 in Port Vila
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Paradise Motel
Pacific Paradise Motel
#43 of 47 in Port Vila
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsmens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsmens Hotel

Address: Opposite Parliament House, Port Vila, Efate 0000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Price Range: £15 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lovely staff here at the Sportsmens Hotel will make you at home right away. All rooms are cleaned daily. Convenience is our specialty, we are close to town, the National Museum, Our very own 24/7 Emily's Takeaway, and a great bar to relax and dance at with live music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sportsmens Hotel Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing