We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theft”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Fantastic apartments great views,unfortunately after staying for all most a week i did not lock my safe one morning and later discovered a valuable ring had been stolen,i realise this was my mistake but other guests should be aware of the potential of theft

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonymunro62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Can really recommend this place. Very clean and comfortable, has everything you need and more.
The attention to detail is wonderful and the views are lovely over the lagoon. Would be even better if built on the beach, but has a lovely pool.
Staff are very friendly and nothing is any trouble.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Terraces was the perfect accomodation for us. A few steps but it wasn't a problem. Some initial hiccups with power were addressed immediately. This was the only tiny hiccup. Location was great. Staff very very helpful and friendly. I will definitely return. Loved our holiday.

Room Tip: Bus only 150 vatu. Travel anywhere in Vila.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellight4489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

First world problems - do you go with the luxurious apartment that is close to town or the secluded picture postcard perfect resort?

I like to first say that the Terraces is all that and more. You have to just remind yourself though that it is a boutique apartment and not a resort. If you visit the Havannah, you will know what I mean. What is missing is the island resort ambience. Then again, it does not market itself as that.

Once you get over that, the standard and quality of the rooms are top notch. They are very well maintained which is hard to do in tropical weather. There are some minor damage such as water stains on one or two parts of the wooden floor but that is really nit picking.

The apartments are located close enough to town that you can walk. Otherwise, you can always take the local bus (in bus I mean van) which is a cheap alternative. There is no proper lighting along the way so I do not suggest that you walk after dark although it is relatively safe.

The Terraces are also right next to Mangoes which is the sister resort. You can have your complimentary breakfast at Mangoes. The breakfast is good but limited in choice. The staff are absolutely amazing and friendly. They offer useful honest local advice and the on-site travel consultant is an absolute darling to deal with.

There are no faults that I can find with the Terraces other than perhaps it is what it claims to be, a boutique service apartment. Being in Vanuatu, one cannot resist yearning the island resort ambiance.

Regarding the Havannah, my wife and I made the trek out to have lunch there one afternoon. We arranged for a taxi to take us there and the journey takes about 30-40 minutes. The scenery and waters from the resort were absolutely amazing. If you are happy to spend your entire trip at the resort and not have to venture out, the Havannah is an excellent option. For me, a big minus is the lack of food options. When we visited, there was only one other restaurant within walking distance and that itself had only just opened. The resort is far enough for you not to want to make a trip out every or other night. We were also very disappointed with the resort's policy of not allowing patrons who were not hotel guests to use the beach. The staff were polite enough but I think the 'exclusiveness' was unnecessary. It is a long way to come for lunch and to spend the day so if you were thinking of doing what we did, don't bother.

In short, if you are looking for a comfortable, private and luxurious place to stay that is close to town, I would go with the Terraces hands down. But if you want a beautiful resort that is secluded for you to kick your shoes off, read a book and drink pina coladas all day, go with the Havannah,

Room Tip: Pick the furtherest/lowest apartments - you get more privacy and the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kerwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Loved this place: it's private, tasteful, peaceful, beautiful views, helpful staff and a good restaurant. When we stay at resorts we tend to only return at night for a meal and sleep; hopefully it's not a sign of our age but we found ourselves having to get motivated to go out and do stuff rather than lounging around the gorgeous little terrace houses there with the view over the lagoon.

Room Tip: Well from memory we stayed in 308.. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This accommodation is some of the best I have ever stayed in and I've been lucky to stay in a lot of accommodation around the world. The layout is open, airy, spacious and beautifully decorated. We had the 2 bedroom Vila at the front which overlooked the lagoon. The private plunge pool and deck with sun lounges is just heaven. The bed and free standing bath is huge! It's tempting not to leave your Vila!

The location is great. We never had an issue getting a taxi to town (500) or a bus (150). We also hired a car one day and parked it overnight at The Terraces.

Wi-Fi did not work on my ipad in the Vila but it did work on my partner's laptop. My ipad did work at The Terraces reception and Mangoes restaurant so no big issue.

We had breakfast in the restaurant and room service for a lunch and a dinner. My only issue with room service is that there was no cover on our food so by the time dinner arrived from Mangoes, it was cold. Lunch arrived hot though, even without covers.

The owners are really lovely and accommodating. We were even able to check out late to enjoy the Vila right up to the time we had to catch our flight. That was really appreciated.

I am really nit picking here, but my only suggestion would be that the cleaning be of a higher standard in order to maintain such beautiful accommodation. Coasters would be handy to protect the furniture. Very small things for such a wonderful place.

Thank you The Terraces!

Room Tip: Vilas at the front and private with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicoleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The terrace apartments have all the ingredients for a luxurious and romantic holiday. Modern equipment ,furniture, extra king size bed, bath and shower. Well appointed, beautiful location with resting views from all rooms especially from the private plunge pool of a lagoon and beautiful canopy trees.
Management were so friendly obliging and helpful nothing was a trouble for them.
The restaurant food was a beautifully presented with an innovative selection.
Sarah and Ros made our holiday with their cheerfulness and information.
The location is not far from the Port and most landmarks.
If you wish total privacy romantic location don't look any further.

Room Tip: All the Terrace Apartments are private from each other however the lower level are very private from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,545 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
576 reviews
1 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
704 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terraces Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terraces Boutique Apartments

Address: Rue De Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £104 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Terraces Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring breathtaking views over one hundred year old tree top canopies and tropical sparkling waters, The Terraces is Port Vila’s finest boutique apartment styled resort.Elevated well above Erakor lagoon these 16 show stopping apartments offer generously proportioned one and two bedroom combinations. Each of these spacious apartments, which span two levels, is contemporarily and stylishly furnished and designed specifically to take full advantage of the natural light, cool breeze and views.Generous open plan living and dining areas with soaring ceilings flow out to your own generous personal space with its private pool and balcony complemented by the onsite floodlit tennis court, massage facilities, gym and the sparkling waters of the Resort Pool.Adjacent to The Terraces, the highly regarded Mangoes Restaurant offers superb dining and a full room service menu with charge back facilities. Resort FeaturesServiced DailyBreathtaking resort pool Stunning cliff top water viewsFull kitchenBose ipod docking systems, DVD playersPrivate poolAir conditioningGym and shower areaOnsite tours and massageResort open for families - 5 years plusLess than a 10 minute walk to the centre of town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Terraces Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Terraces Boutique Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing