We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Siviri Cave interesting kayaking and bat experience”
Review of Siviri Cave

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Siviri Cave
Ranked #48 of 57 things to do in Port Vila
Attraction details
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Siviri Cave interesting kayaking and bat experience”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

You must negotiate for a kayak and adequate torches (maybe take your own) to paddle from the first cave through a hole into a deeper second cave. Then if you are interested in walking in caves do walk further into the dark tunnel. We personally found the bat guano a bit too much. However, the kayaking through both the caves is a lovely experience. Well worth the experience. A friend said that they have glow worms like in New Zealand but we did not see them as we were not looking. Not too sure if this is correct.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Scuba_Diver56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    11
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davistown, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dont expect Jenolan Caves”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Blink and you will mis it - it is one cave, our "tour guide" had his 3-watt torch at the ready and walked us into the one and only cave - we saw and commented on the single kayak at his disposal, but that was as far as it went.

If you are looking for a life-changing moment, dont, if however you wish to grab another "what a giggle" experience, go, for $A5 its worthwhile.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not for the claustrophobes!”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Interesting side trip on the way round Efate. Prepare for a reasonably large cavern - accessed via a narrow crack in the rocks in a leaky kayak... And unless you enjoy cockroaches and bat guano, the walking part of the journey is maybe best left to those who do.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomTerrific52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed - organise to kayak it and it may be good”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We went to the Siviri Cave but did not know about the kayaking element. If you just did what we did, it's pretty ordinary. Just a cave with some water in it. The guide gave a great commentary about it, but aside from that it was nothing special. Thankfully it only cost us 500 vt each to go in.

You can pay more to actually kayak through the cave in the water. This would have been much more interesting, but we didnt know about it and we were on another tour, so couldn't do it at the time. So please, take my advice and do the kayaking there for a better experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Island_Hopping74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Siviri Cave also viewed

 

Been to Siviri Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing