We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum with a soul”

The Vanuatu Cultural Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.98*
and up
Port Vila Self-Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #11 of 58 things to do in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Karratha, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Museum with a soul”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was a great afternoon, the guide was very easy to understand, and he explained many of the customs that we had never heard of. We realised we have barely scratched the surface in what we would like to explore in this amazing place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daymeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    64
    28
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rainy day visit”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Visited there on one of the few rainy mornings we had whilst in Vanuatu. Entrance fee was either with or without a tour...We choose without a tour. A fair few exhibits but it all feels a bit like show and tell at school. Interesting but definitely needs a bit of TLC with the exhibits.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kazjoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A definite must-do”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We'd gone for a walk and it started to rain so we ducked in here. Talk about luck! Although the exhibits are a bit ordinary, the show put on by the curator was brilliant. Telling a lot of the history and doing some sand drawings and playing the most unusual musical instrument I've seen make this a must-do.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JayBee5409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gairloch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A nice little museum but too small to be worth a visit”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The museum is nice enough but it's very small and I don't think it's worth the entrance fee.

For those wanting to learn more about Vanuatu's fascinating history and culture I would instead recommend the Secret Garden at Mele-Maat, which is a bit-like an open-air museum, and has a lot more to see and read. Alternatively buy a book on Vanuatu history and sit and read it on a nice beach somewhere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tabisini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hmm”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The displays were great, but only covered such a brief history of the islands - there is obviously so much more about this place that needs to be captured and passed on. Loved Edgar and the sand writing - totally mesmerizing, and a story to boot - this was fascinating as written and oral history.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vanuatu Cultural Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Vanuatu Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing