We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Air Taxi

Air Taxi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mt Yasur, on the Southern Vanuatu island of Tanna, is the archipelago’s most iconic landmark. Words can’t adequately describe the thrill and awe of walking to the edge of an active volcano and watching it erupt. It is one of the most spectacular natural events you’re ever likely to witness, especially at night when the molten magma displays are truly awesome. AIR TAXI Vanuatu offers premium Day and Overnight Tours to Tanna.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Can you imagine standing on the edge of an erupting volcano, looking down into the crater at dusk as it shoots out molten larva every minute or so. That's what you get on an overnight trip to Tanna.

I recommend you book as early as you can as seats on the planes sell fast. Definitely do the overnight trip. Seeing the larva glowing orange is a must.

The tour package with Air Taxi was really well organised and ran like clockwork. We were picked up from our hotel, taken to the airport where we boarded one of Air Taxi's 6 seater Cessnas. The one hour flight was great and the landing on Tanna with a cross-wind is an adventure. We were taken to the Evergreen Resort and shown to our room. A little while later we piled into the 4WD for the 2 hour drive up to the volcano. You only have to walk the last 200m up a steep concrete path to a large level viewing area. If your fit and brave you can walk a further 300m up to and along the edge of the volcano. It is well work the extra effort. Standing on an edge that's only 2m wide looking down into the crater is breathtaking. It might sound dangerous, and it could be if you don't listen to the guides, but they are there to keep you safe and they won't let you get too close if the volcano is overly active. We spent close to an hour at the volcano before driving back to the resort, where they had dinner waiting for us. The Evergreen Resort is the most beautiful place. The rooms are like traditional village huts, but with doors, fly screens and mosquito nets over the 4 poster bed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixixly, Chief Pilot at Air Taxi, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear David F,

You've definitely hit the nail on the head, the Overnight is by and far our most popular tour and allows for the best viewing of Mt Yasur Volcano, it is truly mesmerizing to see it light up in the dark.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the Adventure of this Tour, in my opinion,it is definitely more interesting than say an Air Conditioned Coach tour and as you pointed out is worth the extra bit of effort. Everything from a bit of a hairy crosswind landing, to the 4WD on dirt roads and the excitement of the Volcano make this a "Bucket list" item not to be missed!

Kind Regards,
The Air Taxi Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    42
    8
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Simply awesome, great adventure.”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We took the day trip and it was a crappy rainy day when we were due to go and they did give us the option of postponing for another time. Thankfully we decided to go and the weather on Tanna was not bad, just a bit overcast.

We left on the tiny 8 seater plane and took the hour flight. We were then taken to a nearby resort for refreshments and transfers to 4x4 utes for the 90 minute drive down to the volcano. Tanna is a very underdeveloped island so do not expect tarmac roads. They are rough and full of potholes but that just adds to the adventure.

Approaching the volcano there is less and less vegetation and the ask gets deeper and deeper (and the roads rougher), eventually the cars park about 2/3 the way up Mt Yasur. There is then a short steep walk to the rim. Nothing can prepare you for standing on the edge of a live volcano, just awesome. It boomed and spat rocks and lava every 30 seconds or so. The guide was very informative and scary at the same tame, walking barefoot and saying things like "oh that rock is new" as you walk around the ridge.

Lunch was basic but fresh and tasty (baked fish with veges and salad).

Recommended if you are happy with a bit of adventure.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixixly, Chief Pilot at Air Taxi, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear DaveCardiff_UK

It's great to see you taking the right approach to the Adventure of seeing Mt Yasur Volcano. As you rightly pointed out Tanna Island is not very highly developed and as such the roads are more 'Adventurous' than most people would be used to, but it's all apart of it and the drive there, as I'm sure you saw, allows for a better view of Ni-Van villages than you'd get on Efate, if it was more highly developed we'd probably have to bring in more OH&S and you wouldn't be able to get as close to such a raw, natural power.

Good to see the Adventurous spirit and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your Tour!

Kind Regards,
The Air Taxi Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“For under $400 you'll have a lifetime of stories”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

For a day activity in a place that is very western for pricing this trip is well worth it. It is almost the same as the trips by Unity Airlines and indeed you will all be picked up at the same time, fly at the same time, drive at the same time, and be on the volcano at the same time. The planes are cozy but offer really nice views. The pilots are very experienced and do a great job. I'll get to the wild bit later and focus on the wonderful first. We took the daytrip to the Volcano option and I'll gladly do it again. After an hour flying you land on a great runway and are taken briefly to Evergreen Resort where your car journey begins. We went on a very windy day and I dont want to ruin it by concentrating on that....we stood on the rim of an active volcano and watched in quiet awe at the magnitude of the forces driving it. For days I kept saying I stood on an active volcano. You will just have to experience it....wear or bring a hoody and if your soft then wear long pants just in case its windy. I am sure at night time is even more amazing and I would so like to do that trip next time. The flight back had an electrical issue where our navigation went down and when we landed on the grass we had a fire engine chase us just in case...apparently a newly installed instrument was at fault. The plane itself kept flying and the pilots knew the area well so please don't stress too much.....We stood on the rim of an active volcano so its not the most life threatening thing to happen that day. The pilots acted like they were meant to, no one panicked and we landed safely. Like they say...any landing you can walk away from is a good one. Oh, and did I mention active volcano.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bastian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixixly, Pilot at Air Taxi, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear BastianF,

It's great to hear from another happy customer, as you mentioned the day you went to the Volcano it was very windy, probably about as windy as it gets now that I think about it! But as you pointed out, it's pretty hard to get past the "Standing on the rim of an active Volcano" part, it is truly a rare experience.

In regards to the Aircraft, I should point out that it was not our Navigation that had the issue, we actually navigate primarily by compass and map with the aid of a handheld GPS unit, the instruments are only really used during inclement weather. After examination on the ground it was simply our digital clock which had recently been installed which had the issue, Air Traffic Control decided to have the Fire Engine ready for as a precaution and we're always happy to have whatever extra assistance we can. I do apologise again though, I usually advise our Passengers that we're going to be using the Grass Runway, this is a fairly normal thing we do as it's easier on the Aircraft Brakes and Tyres and unfortunately it slipped my mind to mention it that particular day!

Kind Regards,
The Air Taxi Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE MOST AWE INSPIRING JOURNEY YOU WILL EVER TAKE !”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We did the Overnight Yasur Volcano Tour and stayed overnight on Tanna Island@ Evergreen Resort and Tours. It all starts with weighing in at the airport to board our small 5 seater, single prop airplane. Never in my life have i been in a small plane and i was very nervous on the trip there but honestly it was smooth and our pilot Sebastian was totally awesome :) The tour also included Dinner and Breakfast and a early flight back to Port Vila the next day. 3pm is Tour time and off we all go in 4wd vehicles (needed to negociate the tracks and roads into the volcanic area) we have a convoy of 4 vehicles heading out, fully loaded. We stop along the way to catch a glimpse of village life and other interesting things. 1 and a 1/2 hours later .... BOOM it's like you just landed on the Moon I tell you, just surreal with the Volcano it the background, Welcome to the Ash Fields. We stop and listen and watch .... we then look up and think, how are we going to climb that ?? it is HUGE and Steep but back in the cars and off on another quick drive around the base a bit further and before we know it we are on the side and nearly halfway up already. Thisi s were we walk from, Oh and you can even post yourself a postcard at the Volcano Post Box ! it is a little steep but there is a concrete path to help with foot grip .... I just cant describe that 1st glimpse of that exploding Lava when we reach the rim of the crater and the feeling of the booms though the earth .... you realize just how small you are in the world, I must say. AMAZING, AWESOME and a little SCARY all at the same time !! A MUST DO if you can !! Add a day even if you can just to do this .... it is WORTH IT ! The Volcano was Level 2 on the day we visited, if it is a 3 or more you can only view it from the car park as they will not let you go up the mountain for safety reasons :) We drove back though the jungle in the dark which was also a experience (no street lights here) in itself let me tell you ! but our driver was great and knew the roads VERY well and we all arrived safely back at the resort around 8pm all still in AWE let me tell you !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel_Baxter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixixly, Chief Pilot at Air Taxi, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Rachel_Baxter74,

Thank you for your great review, we agree entirely that the whole experience can be utterly surreal and definitely awe inspiring, the ash planes are like something from another world and watching the Volcano erupt infront of you is mesmerizing. We're really glad you enjoyed your tour and that you chose us to take you on this incredible experience.

Kind Regards,
The Air Taxi Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing and terrifying trip to Mt. Yasur”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I am terrified of flying but our pilot, Duncan, was extremely capable and the flight over and back was smooth. On Tanna we were greeted by our guide, Sammy, who was extremely informative and an amazing driver. We passed a school on the way to the volcano and were greeted with cheers by all the kids as we passed by, which was an amazing experience in itself. The volcano was spectacular but definitely the single most terrifying experience of my life. Like many others have said, no words can describe this experience. At least it made the flight home seem less scary! Overall, all of the air taxi staff, from admin, to pilots and tour guides were extremely helpful and friendly. Would definitely like to do another tour with them when we are next in Vanuatu!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixixly, Chief Pilot at Air Taxi, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Jana B,

I'm so glad to hear that Duncan put your mind at ease, flying on a Light Aircraft can be a bit nerve racking the first time but as you discovered like so many others it is well worth it and adds to the adventure.

Kind Regards,
The Air Taxi Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Air Taxi also viewed

 

Been to Air Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing