We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a truly lovely stay at Ripples!”
Review of Ripples on the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ripples on the Bay
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We had a truly lovely stay at Ripples!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Damien and Sally made us feel very welcome, they're a very laid back and friendly couple and nothing seemed too much trouble. The guys who work with them are also very friendly, and the food, drinks and cocktails were all top notch. We borrowed bikes, a kayak and reef shoes. The rooms were comfortable and immaculately cleaned every day. Definitely would go back :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laloumarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Laloumarie,

Sometimes people's Tripadvisor names make it difficult to know where, exactly, these delightful reviews have come from - making individual responses a bit difficult, as all of our guests are such different people. One thing you do all seem to have in common, though, is a desire to take it easy in beautiful surroundings, and that, as far as we're concerned, is what holidays should be all about.

Thank you for coming. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. And we look forward to your next visit.

All the best,

Sally & Damien
Owners
Ripples on the Bay Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Vila
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

As a local, I love going out to Ripples to spend a night or a weekend. Its one of the most relaxing places. Rooms are great - new, clean, quiet - all you hear is the sound of the waves. Damien and Sally are great hosts, look after you without being intrusive at all and make every stay one of the best.
From the shells in the bathroom, mozzie coils, reef shoes - those small touches help to make it one of the nicest places to stay. Of course, along with the rock pool and amazing scenery.
Food and drinks are second to none as well!
It's my favourite place to stay in Vila. :)
Ginger

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you, Virginia H.

We always enjoy your visits. I derive particular amusement from yours and John's animated and highly competitive Scrabble tournaments. Next time, I'm going to record a session, for the entertainment of other guests!

See you next time.

Damien & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Ripples is set amidst lovely gardens and has a magnificent fish-filled rock-pool. The well-appointed, spacious bungalows have a ceiling fan, delightful bathroom with free toiletries and private patio. Throughout our stay the owners and staff were approachable, welcoming and informative. They added to the relaxed, comfortable and stress-free ambience with some thoughtful touches (e.g. aerogard and mossie coils, reef shoes). Nothing was too much trouble: breakfast could be eaten on the patio, in the restaurant or at the pool, as we wished. Ripples has a good menu, which includes very tast vegetarian options. This is an excellent resort and we recommend it for couples seeking a friendly, relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Not really important since there are only 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hello Erik,

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ripples. We very much enjoyed having you here. We love it when guests respond so completely to the spirit of the place we have built - casual, relaxed, laid-back. The beauty of having such a small is resort is that we can get to know our guests personally, and cater to their specific holiday needs. We hope to see you both again, when next you visit Vanuatu.

Sally & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgeeraba, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our brief stay at ripples wet our appetite, now we can't wait to go back! Everything there is Vanuatu at it's best. Beautiful clean comfortable accommodation. The amazing restaurant at your front door which overlooks the best natural rock pool in Vanuatu. Food, comfort, rest, scenery all five star! Sally and Damo are wonderful hosts and have a great team working with them. We will be back

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csdonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, CS Donovan. It was our pleasure to welcome you and Gin to Ripples on such a special occasion, and are delighted that our little tropical hide-away lived up to your expectations, and sharpened your appetite for more.

We look forward to your next visit.

Damien & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I wanted to to have a short break away from long hours in the office, and somewhere warm was the way to go...

So, I have been aware of this new place in Vanuatu, that my friends visited last year, so off I went.

This is a small VERY quite resort, 4 bungalows right on the water, and I was not disappointed, managed to sleep so much, that I have never thought possible.

I have spent 6 days at the resort, and the most I have down beside catching up on rest is, swimming in the water, enjoying the great food, and chatting with the friendly locals.

I long time dream have come true by this trip, to be near the water, with a quite neighborhood and relaxing quite time...

I am going to visit this place at least once a year!!!!

Room Tip: They are all the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laszlo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hi Laszlo,

Thanks for the glowing review. Your stay at Ripples was as much a pleasure for us, as it was for you. It's always nice to see somebody who has arrived looking stressed and pallid, leave looking relaxed and sun kissed. Our staff were sad to see you go.

We'll have your room, and the Pina coladas, waiting for you when you return to Vanuatu.

Damien & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed at Ripples in September 2012 for a week with my boyfriend and another friend and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and catch the ocean breeze perfectly. The private ocean pool at the front of the property is perfect for lying in and sipping champagne and for the more adventurous a little trek over the reef will open up a wonderland of tropical snorkelling.

The licensed restaurant offers a wide range of drinks and sumptuous cocktails, but these are left for dead once you have eaten at Ripples. Every meal I had during the wek at Ripples was a gastronomic delight, I am still torn between the "Low Flying Duck Curry" and the fresh caught local Sashimi.

For a quiet romantic break or a relaxing holiday with friends with top notch service and the opportunity to mingle at the restaurant in the afternoons and evenings if you choose, you can't go past Ripples. Thanks to everyone that made my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaH1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hi Tanya H,

Sorry, we've got a bit behind on our management responses. So, belatedly, thanks for the delightful review, thanks for having so much fun at Ripples, and thanks for introducing James, our wonderful barman, to a few, new cocktail recipes.

We all look forward to seeing you again, next time you're in Vanuatu.

Damien & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just recently returned to Vanuatu for a short stay and was looking for accommodation that was on the beach and relaxed. Found it with Ripples on the bay. Only about 20 minutes from Port VIla but well worth the drive. Bungalows are brand new, clean and have amazing views across the ocean. Rock pool swimming area to relax for a swim and the restaurant serves great food. If you need to unwind for a few days this is the place. Been to a few resorts in Vanuatu but would return to Ripples without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Andrew0089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you, Andrew,

Thanks for our inaugural Tripadvisor review. I'm a bit behind with my management responses on the accommodation, and we've had the pleasure of your company a couple of times, now. Looking forward to next time.

Damien & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Vila
7.2 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#40 of 47 in Port Vila
6 reviews
7.5 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
193 reviews
12.3 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Island Magic Resort
Island Magic Resort
#17 of 47 in Port Vila
164 reviews
5.9 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
174 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tamanu on the Beach
Tamanu on the Beach
#33 of 49 in Efate
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripples on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripples on the Bay

Property: Ripples on the Bay
Address: Lot 19 Narpow Point | PO Box 2036, Port Vila, Efate 0000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ripples on the Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ripples is a small, relaxed, boutique hotel, set on beautiful Teouma Bay, a 25 minute drive out of Port Vila. Swim in our tidal, ocean pool, relax in a hammock, or enjoy a meal in our island style restaurant. Accommodation is for over 15's only, unless you book all four rooms. If you're looking for somewhere unique to stay in Vanuatu, away from the hustle and bustle of the city, we're here for you. Contact us directly by phone, or by email - details on our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ripples on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripples On The Bay Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing