We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ripples on the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ripples on the Bay
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

After having lunch here we decided to come back and spend a night. We enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night. There are only four bungalows so it's very quiet (no children except in the restaurant). The bungalows are simple but very tastefully furnished and there's really everything you might need including a very comfortable hammock. The beds are very comfortable. We were the only guests and it felt like a resort just there for the four of us. Damien and Sally are excellent hosts with their two dogs India Rose and Barny. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and I would absolutely recommend this to anyone who enjoys a bit of indulgence but doesn't want to share the moment with dozens of other tourists. If you want any of the recipies from Sally she drives a hard bargain but you will want to try to recreate some of the delicious food yourself at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear westieAuckland,

Thanks for taking the time to write this great review of our little resort. Positive feedback is always very much appreciated.

It's true that I drive a hard bargain ( but I do hope that you'll agree, fair) over giving out my recipes, having put quite a lot of time and effort into developing them.

Enjoy your Balinese Pork experiments. I promise that I've not left anything out. Perhaps next time I'll win the backgammon, and you'll miss out.

All the best,

Sally & Damien
Ripples on the Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Willalooka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to dine at this fabulous little hideaway the other night. Thank you to Damien and Sally for having such a wonderful place, the meal was sensational (all four dishes) and the service superb (thanks to Fred and the Chef). We got a tour of the bungalows after dinner and they look amazing, this would be a perfect place to get away and recharge, we especially liked the look of the rock pool area. It was especially fabulous to have Damien pick us up and drop us back at our other accomodation, that was true service. Do yourselves a favour and visit this place whether its just to enjoy a perfect meal or stay in an equality perfect location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mellem37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Mellem37,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this delightful review of Ripples. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal so much, and hope that you decide to take advantage of our bungalows, for a longer stay, next time you visit us.

All the best,

Sally & Damien
Owners/Ripples on the Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Damien and Sally made us feel very welcome, they're a very laid back and friendly couple and nothing seemed too much trouble. The guys who work with them are also very friendly, and the food, drinks and cocktails were all top notch. We borrowed bikes, a kayak and reef shoes. The rooms were comfortable and immaculately cleaned every day. Definitely would go back :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laloumarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Laloumarie,

Sometimes people's Tripadvisor names make it difficult to know where, exactly, these delightful reviews have come from - making individual responses a bit difficult, as all of our guests are such different people. One thing you do all seem to have in common, though, is a desire to take it easy in beautiful surroundings, and that, as far as we're concerned, is what holidays should be all about.

Thank you for coming. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. And we look forward to your next visit.

All the best,

Sally & Damien
Owners
Ripples on the Bay Vanuatu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

As a local, I love going out to Ripples to spend a night or a weekend. Its one of the most relaxing places. Rooms are great - new, clean, quiet - all you hear is the sound of the waves. Damien and Sally are great hosts, look after you without being intrusive at all and make every stay one of the best.
From the shells in the bathroom, mozzie coils, reef shoes - those small touches help to make it one of the nicest places to stay. Of course, along with the rock pool and amazing scenery.
Food and drinks are second to none as well!
It's my favourite place to stay in Vila. :)
Ginger

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you, Virginia H.

We always enjoy your visits. I derive particular amusement from yours and John's animated and highly competitive Scrabble tournaments. Next time, I'm going to record a session, for the entertainment of other guests!

See you next time.

Damien & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Ripples is set amidst lovely gardens and has a magnificent fish-filled rock-pool. The well-appointed, spacious bungalows have a ceiling fan, delightful bathroom with free toiletries and private patio. Throughout our stay the owners and staff were approachable, welcoming and informative. They added to the relaxed, comfortable and stress-free ambience with some thoughtful touches (e.g. aerogard and mossie coils, reef shoes). Nothing was too much trouble: breakfast could be eaten on the patio, in the restaurant or at the pool, as we wished. Ripples has a good menu, which includes very tast vegetarian options. This is an excellent resort and we recommend it for couples seeking a friendly, relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Not really important since there are only 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hello Erik,

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ripples. We very much enjoyed having you here. We love it when guests respond so completely to the spirit of the place we have built - casual, relaxed, laid-back. The beauty of having such a small is resort is that we can get to know our guests personally, and cater to their specific holiday needs. We hope to see you both again, when next you visit Vanuatu.

Sally & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgeeraba, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our brief stay at ripples wet our appetite, now we can't wait to go back! Everything there is Vanuatu at it's best. Beautiful clean comfortable accommodation. The amazing restaurant at your front door which overlooks the best natural rock pool in Vanuatu. Food, comfort, rest, scenery all five star! Sally and Damo are wonderful hosts and have a great team working with them. We will be back

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csdonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, CS Donovan. It was our pleasure to welcome you and Gin to Ripples on such a special occasion, and are delighted that our little tropical hide-away lived up to your expectations, and sharpened your appetite for more.

We look forward to your next visit.

Damien & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I wanted to to have a short break away from long hours in the office, and somewhere warm was the way to go...

So, I have been aware of this new place in Vanuatu, that my friends visited last year, so off I went.

This is a small VERY quite resort, 4 bungalows right on the water, and I was not disappointed, managed to sleep so much, that I have never thought possible.

I have spent 6 days at the resort, and the most I have down beside catching up on rest is, swimming in the water, enjoying the great food, and chatting with the friendly locals.

I long time dream have come true by this trip, to be near the water, with a quite neighborhood and relaxing quite time...

I am going to visit this place at least once a year!!!!

Room Tip: They are all the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laszlo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hi Laszlo,

Thanks for the glowing review. Your stay at Ripples was as much a pleasure for us, as it was for you. It's always nice to see somebody who has arrived looking stressed and pallid, leave looking relaxed and sun kissed. Our staff were sad to see you go.

We'll have your room, and the Pina coladas, waiting for you when you return to Vanuatu.

Damien & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Vila
7.2 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#39 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
7.4 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#21 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
12.4 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Bungalows
Treetops Lodge & Bungalows
#48 of 48 in Port Vila
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
7.6 mi away
Angelfish Cove Villas
Angelfish Cove Villas
#28 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tamanu on the Beach
Tamanu on the Beach
#42 of 50 in Efate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripples on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripples on the Bay

Property: Ripples on the Bay
Address: Lot 19 Narpow Point | PO Box 2036, Port Vila, Efate 0000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ripples on the Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ripples is a small, relaxed, boutique hotel, set on beautiful Teouma Bay, a 25 minute drive out of Port Vila. Swim in our tidal, ocean pool, relax in a hammock, or enjoy a meal in our island style restaurant. Accommodation is for over 15's only, unless you book all four rooms. If you're looking for somewhere unique to stay in Vanuatu, away from the hustle and bustle of the city, we're here for you. Contact us directly by phone, or by email - details on our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ripples on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripples On The Bay Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing