We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great alternative to the big resorts”
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fatumaru Lodge
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A great alternative to the big resorts”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was my 6th visit to Vanuatu and I would have to say it is also the best place I've stayed at. We loved the fact that it was so small which meant you got personal service. We had a room upstairs which looked over the water. I would say we were better off being upstairs as noise did travel easily between the rooms. The staff were very accommodating and eager to help. The pool was clean but very cold, so we didn't use it as much as we would have liked. We did get a lot of use of the kayaks. Like some posts before have said, the walk into town is a good 15 minutes, but it was always easy to get a bus for 150Vt a person if you didn't want to do the walk. The hardest part of the walk for me was getting up the steep driveway, but the fact I was 23 weeks pregnant didn't help that. I'd recommend the breakfast by the pool, it's a nice way to start a day in paradise.
We definitely plan on coming back to Fatumaru, it's a great place for couples but would also be a great destination for a family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NellyC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    144
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
113
183
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This was my fourth visit to Vanuatu & my husband's sixth.
On this holiday we had planned to stay for our last 3 nights in Fatumaru Lodge. The noise from accross the bay however (from larrikans having Kava nights & then hitting the booze) was too much to bear. We were pretty well wrecked after two nights with little sleep & checked out early. So much for a relaxing break...
The room was very dark and dingy, but clean. There was no iron or ironing board & no hairdryer-which are pretty necessary when you're travelling. They will iron your clothes-for a fee. They do have kayaks & paddle boards-which are fun

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireBathurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Lodge was great the owners and staff were friendly and cooperative. It was within walking distance from the centre of Port Vila. Our apartment was right on the water - very relaxing holiday

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

nice boutique resort if you dont mind listening to other guests in the connecting rooms it wasnt private enough for me. staff were great. 20 minute walk into town was getting a bit much unless you plan it properly mid afternoon then stay in town for dinner. as far as swimming goes in the bay, watch out for the 2 sea snakes living on the shore they are 1 to 2 feet long. banded sea snake one of the most deadly snakes in the water if you get bitten. they are very docile and heads are small so unless you stick your little finger down there throat you should be ok. so apart from the noise of other guests it was pretty good. beds are shocking to sleep in.

Room Tip: lack of privacy in all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed for a week in late JUne. The place was very much as depicted on their website. Service was great, staff very courteuos and helpful and knowledgeable. About 15 minutes walk from middle of Port Vila. Footpaths not great! but safe to walk day and night!
We would definitely stay there again, and are recommending it to friends.

Room Tip: just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippobianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My wife and I have just spent a week at this lodge and couldn't have more praise for the owners vision and the staffs dedication to making our stay comfortable, relaxing and fun.
located an easy walk to town and any number of good restaurants. helpfull information on which tours to do and avoid made booking activities a breeze.
Daily serviced ment coming back to a clean tidy room. with fresh bed linen daily and the option of a morning breakfast served over looking the pool and bay was well worth it.
canoes and paddle boards availiable free for our use was a great bonus as well.

Room Tip: request water side if you want to
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feistyfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed here with our 2 girls aged 1/2 and 3yrs in the seafront lodges. It was perfect for them as they were able to play in the sea safely and we could always keep a close eye on their safety.
The staff at the lodge are the best and will do absoluetly anything for you, i thank them from the bottom of my heart for helping me and my family have a beautiful holiday...will be back soon xx

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belladonnathompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,448 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
651 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Property: Fatumaru Lodge
Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for family and couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing