We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable stay.”
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fatumaru Lodge
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We have just come back from Vanuatu and our second stay at Fatumaru Lodge. Once again it was a very enjoyable stay, too brief though. Probably the best review anyone can give for holiday accommodation is to recommend the place to others and we can do this for Fatumaru Lodge without hesitation.
Our kids have grown up so we travel as a couple and we have never been bothered by noise or children playing while staying there. The location is great, right on the main road but down off the road far enough that road noise is not a problem, and right on the water. Walking straight out of our room and into the bay for a swim is fantastic. Another reviewer made mention of the walk into town as "getting a bit much", one of the fantastic things about Port Vila is the buses. Any vehicle with a red B at the start of the number plate is a bus. It costs 150 Vatu per person to go anywhere in town, and all you need do at Fatumaru is walk up the driveway to the main road and stand there, you will get a bus in seconds, so if you don't feel like a walk spend $1.60 and meet some locals!
Another big plus for Fatumaru is the kitchenette, there are some great places to eat in Port Vila but you have to shop at the markets and cook some of the local produce for yourself at least once, or do it as often as you like! The BBQ next to the pool is really handy, the beef in Vanuatu tastes like meat should taste like, try a BBQ'd huge banana with it.(skin on to cook)
The rooms at Fatumaru are really tastefully decorated, each named after a different Island from Vanuatu, with a little history of that Island on the wall, they are clean, roomy and the aircon, while not a necessity, can come in handy especially on a humid night. The huge sliding french doors open up to give you a fantastic view.
We spent our short stay there swimming, kayacking , reading, having the odd beer or wine by the bay and relaxing, with a couple of trips out to Hideaway Island (330vt pp in a bus) to snorkel, and a couple of dinners in town, very very nice.
Fatumaru Lodge is a good place to holiday, it is value for money, well located, the staff are very friendly and very helpful and we will back again for our 4th trip to Vanuatu next year.

Room Tip: If you are a couple without small kids, ask for room Erromango when booking. It is on the water with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimberBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    144
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
112
182
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2011

After staying at two other resorts in Vanuatu, it was nice to have a quieter place to spend some time. We enjoyed using the kayaks and the swimming pool. Breakfast is served by the pool each morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed at the Fatumara Lodge in October after a long trip from the midwest--my first trip to the S. Pacific. I had reserved a 2 bedroom apartment so that my daughter, who was coming into port after a long time at sea, could have a pleasant place to stay, and so that I could rest up for a ten day tallship voyage. Lovely facilities and the owners and staff are very helpful. My daughter especially was really wowed at the hospitality and the facilities ("I never knew there were places like this!").

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My Wife and I stayed at Fatumaru Lodge for our honeymoon in September 2011

the Lodge was great, the staff were helpfull and it was a nice 10-15min walk into town.

I probbaly would not reccomend fatumaru lodge to honeymooners unless it was a quiet time of the year, although we loved our stay and they gave us complamentry champ and flowers on arrival. we felt that the resort was more family focused then couples retreat

as honeymooners, kids running and playing continuously all day outside our room was not our idea of a relaxing romantic getaway.

we were somehow were blessed with very obnoxious neighbours, who felt the whole resort was theirs and took over all the activities/pool (including swimming in the pool untill early hours of the morning and using all other guests private balconys) so we were a little dissapointed - (obviously that was out of the resorts control)

so as honeymooners i can safely say dont expect much privacy, as the rooms are very close but I strongly reccomend for familys and groups

The Lodge had everything we could hope for, Hammock on the beach, Pool, Jetty, fishing, canoes, paddle boards, town was a short walk, staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and even a handful of dvd's if you want a day in the cabin

they service the room each day with fresh sheets too which is great
if your going to port vila, as a family or group of friends this Gem is worth checking out

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abaker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at Fatumaru in September with a toddler and a baby and it was great. We had one of the two bedroom villas, set back from the beach, but with a great view over the bay. The staff were so friendly, provided a cot and baby bath for our kids and booked a couple of tours for us, making our holiday very easy. They even climbed a coconut tree, picked some coconuts and cracked them open so we could drink the milk straight from them. The little beach was good for the kids to play on (it's not huge and not heaps of sand, but enough for us) and our toddler loved having a kayak on the bay with me every day.

It was an easy walk into town (a bit bumpy with the pram but we still did it), but there are plenty of buses, so no need to walk if you don't want. The driveway is fairly steep so consider this if you have any mobility issues, but the taxis will drop you off /pick you up down the bottom. The villa itself was lovely, the second bedroom was huge with a TV and DVD player. The kitchen and dining in our villa was outdoors (I think it was the only one like this) but this was great, as it meant we sat outside with that amazing view whenever we were there.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We enjoyed a five night stay at Fatamaru Lodge. With a studio and little terrace right on the lagoon it provided the perfect setting for a relaxed break. A tiny kitchen meant we could
buy the wonderful local beef, tuna and tropical produce and eat overlooking the tranquility of the lagoon. Kyaking, reading in the hammock hitched to a couple of palm trees, swimming in the pool, walking into town for shopping and restaurants, the Lodge is very well located away from the hubub but close enough to enjoy the port. Definitely recommended - we will
return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Concerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was my 6th visit to Vanuatu and I would have to say it is also the best place I've stayed at. We loved the fact that it was so small which meant you got personal service. We had a room upstairs which looked over the water. I would say we were better off being upstairs as noise did travel easily between the rooms. The staff were very accommodating and eager to help. The pool was clean but very cold, so we didn't use it as much as we would have liked. We did get a lot of use of the kayaks. Like some posts before have said, the walk into town is a good 15 minutes, but it was always easy to get a bus for 150Vt a person if you didn't want to do the walk. The hardest part of the walk for me was getting up the steep driveway, but the fact I was 23 weeks pregnant didn't help that. I'd recommend the breakfast by the pool, it's a nice way to start a day in paradise.
We definitely plan on coming back to Fatumaru, it's a great place for couples but would also be a great destination for a family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NellyC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
3.6 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.7 mi away
Hideaway Island Resort
Hideaway Island Resort
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Property: Fatumaru Lodge
Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for family and couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing