We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Paradise on the Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fatumaru Lodge
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Paradise on the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our second visit to Vanuatu brought us to Fatumaru Lodge, a quiet place right on the waterfront.
The accommodation is spacious,self contained with air conditioning,deck with amazing views.
There is complimentary kayaking and paddle-boarding available along with a nice pool area.
Lazy hammocks by the water's edge complete the tropical idyll.
Breakfast was not included and we chose to self cater or go elsewhere as we felt the menu was slightly unadventurous.But this is a minor quibble,Fatumaru Lodge was our piece of paradise by the sea.We met other visitors at the pool side and there was a bar service available upon request.

Room Tip: We were on the top level with high ceilings,very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    141
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
112
173
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We booked this apartment so we could relax on the balcony as close to the lagoon as possible, we were not disappointed - the tide came right up to the building and we watched fish just below our wide sheltered balcony. The entire front wall opens up to the lagoon through bifold timber louvres for uninterrupted views across the lagoon. So peaceful in immaculate grounds, with only a small complex we were able to really get to know the cheerful, helpful staff. The room is very large, kitchen very well appointed, and bed was comfortable. The room has plenty of storage space, the furnishings are high quality and local artworks add to the Vanuatu vibe. Negative is the TV, very old and appalling program selection. The pool and BBQ area is so inviting, overlooking the lagoon but far enough away from the rooms to avoid any potential disturbance, and I really want one of those fantastic BBQs at my place. You can walk into central Port Vila in about 20 easy minutes, or 150 Vatu bus fare, and convenience stores are almost next door. Try Harbour View Chinese restaurant just around the corner (the cleanest restaurant I've ever seen), or Baywatch 5 minutes walk down the hill. Have stayed in other Port Vila apartments but this is the best. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are more private but if you want gentle waves lapping at your balcony choose a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandi11a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

8 ladies stayed for 5 nights in september 2013, we had 2, 2 bedroom villas and 1 single room. rooms were lovely and clean,beds comfortable. the first morning we were asked if everything was ok with our rooms and if not what can we do to fix it. the light that had blown was fix that morning. loved the huge bifold doors that opened up. staff were fantastic,a bit of traffic noise from the top rooms, nothing too bad. liz, sebrina and julie were very heplful in sending us in the right direction. walk into town very easy. pool spotless just a bit cold. breakfast fruit, croissants, toast delivered daily from the local market the juice was freshly squeezed . perfect for us ladies, felt very safe and secure. easy to book tours from reception.
Fatumara Lodge perfect for a relaxing get away. oh loved the standup paddle boarding.

Room Tip: go for the water front if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwandalan, nsw, australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed for 12 nights in 2 off the ground floor sea view rooms, rooms were wonderful had every thing you could want. Loved waking up in the mornings to the beautiful view of the bay....rooms were serviced daily by happy friendly staff....we were lucky to have breakfast included and was really nice to walk up to the pool area and have fresh fruit and juice followed by toast and crissonts...the staff were fantastic they made us feel at home...so a big thank you to , liz, sebrina, julie, mary, jenny, lilly and issac...not far from town, staff helped us with booking tours ect...we enjoyed the water activities and chilaxing in the hammocks

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie-anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at Fatumaru Lodge mid August in one of the upstairs waterfront villas. I loved waking up every morning and opening the shutters to look out across the beautiful view of Fatumaru Bay, a great start to the day. The rooms have a great feel, each one taking on the theme of one of the islands and have both ceiling fans and air con. The kitchen was well enough equipped for holiday cooking and we made use of the BBQ by the pool several times. It is a great place to relax and get away from the fast pace for a while. There are only 8 waterfront villas and two 2 bedroom units, so there is never really a lot of people around. The pool area is lovely and breakfast is cooked and served poolside. There is a good selection of books and DVDs and we made good use of the kayaks to explore the bay some more. There is no restaurant for lunch or dinner, but good restaurants and cafes are within walking distance or the 'bus' stops just at the top of the drive for a 3 min drive into town. It can be noisy at night, particularly with local dogs barking through the night, so don't forget to pack some ear plugs just in case. We would definitely go back to Fatumaru Lodge

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Battmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Fatumaru Lodge for 6 nights while on our Honeymoon in Vanuatu in late June. We stayed in one of the ground floor studio units right on the water.
The room was well set up, was clean and tidy, bed was comfy, the bifold doors opening out to the balcony and the water were fabulous!
Fatumaru is great for people who don't want to stay in one of the big flashy resorts and want something quieter and more relaxing. We made good use of the kayaks and stand up paddle boards and explored the bay.
A short walk or bus into central Port Vila but far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle that is Port Vila.
The studio units were nice and quiet (we heard from other guests that the two bedroom units up the top were noisy as close to main road but the lower ones were fine - suggest if you need two bedrooms to ask for two studio units to be connected - this is possible!)
We spent a lot of time sitting on our balcony or in the hammocks watching the world go by - a beautiful view!
Only negative comment would be that our sheets were not changed during our stay and were quite sandy by the end due to being so close to the water.
All and all a good time was had and we were very happy we chose Fatumaru rather than one of the bigger resorts that we visited. Good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RileyMarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

we stayed here on our last 3 nights of our holiday. it was just what we needed, nice, clean, relaxing, spacious, peaceful and the rooms are gorgeous. Beautiful interior decorating. We had a seaside room on the top floor and watched little fish from our balcony while we ate breakfast. The pool is clean and refreshing, while its great having a free book and dvd library for when it rained. We gave the paddle boards a go in the bay as its really calm and the perfect place to learn. The only downfall is the apparent noise amplification from the bathroom to the living room. (thats not so romantic haha). Other than that we loved it

Room Tip: seaside top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Octomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.6 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#21 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
3.6 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Property: Fatumaru Lodge
Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for family and couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing