We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and accomodating”
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fatumaru Lodge
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort and accomodating”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I arrived late and the staff were very helpful in settling me in and even walking with me to show me nearest retaurant. The room was lovely with great views and the helpful staff allowed me to check out late so that I could fill time before my flight. The rooms were well designed and fitted and I would stay again when passing through Port Vila for work.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RPlotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    144
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
114
186
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Although in the heart of the city this is a great spot for a few days in between your trips to Santo and Tanna... Swimming pool, SUPs, kayaks and a peaceful little retreat when the cruise ship comes to town... Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Have just spent 7 nights at Fatumaru Lodge. It was just what we wanted for a relaxing holiday.
It is exactly as the photo's look online. It has amazing views from the front rooms. Just sit on the balcony and look out over the bay.
The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The pool is very clean and the grounds are looked after every day.
The bed was comfortable but the pillows could have been a little firmer. They do not have hair conditioners or shower caps in the toiletry's only shampoo.
As the other reviews say the lights are very dim, apparently because electricity is very expensive we were told.
It was nice to have a security guard on at night and the security gate locked in the evenings.
We didn't choose to have the breakfast as AUD 12 is too expensive for fruit, toast and coffee.
It is not included in the cost of the resort price. As it is self contained we cooked our own if we wanted a hot breakfast.
There is a convenience store across the road for daily supplies etc.
The Chinese restaurant is across the road and around the corner. Great meals and a fantastic view.
Town centre is a good 15 min walk with very bumpy so called footpaths.
Best restaurant is Baywatch 10 mins down the road. Great steaks and tapas. Go lunch time specials about 12 AUD for mail meals. Great music and staff. Thomas the owner is very welcoming.
Will go back again to Fatumaru , loved it!
Thank you all for your hospitality.......

Room Tip: We stayed in both the top floor and ground floor rooms. Loved both of them. Better Wifi reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Pentecost room is the best and THE most private. High ceilings, private balcony over the water. It's on the top floor to the right and was great! The staff are genuinely truly lovely people and go above and beyond to help you in any way you might need. Many thanks Fatumaru lodge!

Room Tip: Pentecost room is my absolute first pick for size, noise level and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennapaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pascal0164, Owner at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for nice comments and tips.
Pentecost room has been designed according to the "local bunji jumping" called Nagol jump. People from Pentecost island are jumping from a 25 m towers with just a rope attached to their ankle. This is just amazing and we managed to bring back one of the jumping platform with 10 m rope and we put it in the room . Quite spectacular.
Thank you for sharing this with potential travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My teenage sister and I spent 7 days at Fatumaru Lodge and we can't speak highly enough about it. Nothing was too much effort for the staff and we felt very safe with a security gate and security guard at night. It's about a 10-15 mins downhill walk to town and there's a Chinese restaurant across the road.

The lagoon was awesome! We used the kayaks and paddle boards every day, by the end we just strapped our life jackets on and floated in the middle of the water.

Our room was right on the water and though the studios were close together, we didn't hear our neighbours once.

I have never had such a relaxing holiday in my life.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siennaopium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our second visit to Vanuatu brought us to Fatumaru Lodge, a quiet place right on the waterfront.
The accommodation is spacious,self contained with air conditioning,deck with amazing views.
There is complimentary kayaking and paddle-boarding available along with a nice pool area.
Lazy hammocks by the water's edge complete the tropical idyll.
Breakfast was not included and we chose to self cater or go elsewhere as we felt the menu was slightly unadventurous.But this is a minor quibble,Fatumaru Lodge was our piece of paradise by the sea.We met other visitors at the pool side and there was a bar service available upon request.

Room Tip: We were on the top level with high ceilings,very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We booked this apartment so we could relax on the balcony as close to the lagoon as possible, we were not disappointed - the tide came right up to the building and we watched fish just below our wide sheltered balcony. The entire front wall opens up to the lagoon through bifold timber louvres for uninterrupted views across the lagoon. So peaceful in immaculate grounds, with only a small complex we were able to really get to know the cheerful, helpful staff. The room is very large, kitchen very well appointed, and bed was comfortable. The room has plenty of storage space, the furnishings are high quality and local artworks add to the Vanuatu vibe. Negative is the TV, very old and appalling program selection. The pool and BBQ area is so inviting, overlooking the lagoon but far enough away from the rooms to avoid any potential disturbance, and I really want one of those fantastic BBQs at my place. You can walk into central Port Vila in about 20 easy minutes, or 150 Vatu bus fare, and convenience stores are almost next door. Try Harbour View Chinese restaurant just around the corner (the cleanest restaurant I've ever seen), or Baywatch 5 minutes walk down the hill. Have stayed in other Port Vila apartments but this is the best. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are more private but if you want gentle waves lapping at your balcony choose a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandi11a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,466 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
662 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
478 reviews
3.6 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Property: Fatumaru Lodge
Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for family and couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing