We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little place”
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fatumaru Lodge
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful little place”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner are just home from 4 nights staying here. We stayed in the ground floor room that was beside the little beach. It was perfect. Wake up every morning and walk straight out to the sea.
The pool area was lovely and the room was big and had everything. The shower was lovely rainfall shower.
The free paddleboards and kayak were a great way to spend a few hours every day. Exploring all the places around..this is a small resort but for a couple who want relaxation and privacy u can't beat this.
The staff were great and it is do safe we never locked anything. Security guard at night was great. Highly recommended ...
Tip... Take the kayak and go over to chantillys for breakfast. Only takes ten minutes but well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ennis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    144
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
114
186
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courbevoie, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Large exotic rooms with terrace and convenient shutters which provide fresh air and can be wide open. Breakfast outside near the swimming pool with nice view on the sea.
Good location if you want to visit the island. But if you wish to spend more time on the beach, there must be better places. As we only spent 3 days on Efate this place was exactly what we needed and as we left very early in the morning we appreciated very much the location near the airport. We found buses very easily and quickly to go to restaurants in the evening and by taxi we got the same price for two because we bargained.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris196563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I found Faumaru a really restful place to stay. Quiet surroundings, very helpful staff, lovely rooms, close to most things. It is an easy run from the airport and equally close to the centre of town. The grounds are well manicured and well maintained and all the amenities are there - pool, internet etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Fatumaru lodge is situated in a great location which is an easy walk into Vila or a simple bus ride (make sure you catch the bus in the direction you want to head, or else you could head for half an hour in the opposite direction before you head back into town, this is an adventure in itself & part of the charm of getting around Port Vila).
There was a mix up in our booking & we were double booked on the first night although the staff told us it was due to room repairs & maintenance, this wasn't true as guests were still in our room when we arrived at 10am the next day.To their credit the lodge management picked us up at the airport & took us to an excellent resort for the first night then transferred us back to the lodge the next morning. The only inconvenience was the fact that we spent half a day waiting around instead of exploring the island. If it wasn't for this inconvenience I would have rated the Lodge as very good.

During out stay the team at Fatumaru were very obliging & if staying in Vila I would recommend it as a place to stay.

Room Tip: choose an upstairs room as they seem to be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needmoreholidays25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pascal0164, Owner at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review, It is true that we did have to overflow you to another hotel for the first night. And Chantilly hotel was a pretty nice upgrade. It does not happen very often, I think the first time this year . We believe that two online bookings arrived at the same time. Anyway Stella and Sabrina our local Managers tried their best to make your stay as nice as possible and thank you for nice comment on the room and your tips. It is true that the rooms upstairs have amazing view. But some guest prefer to be even closer to water!!
Once again thank you for choosing Fatumaru Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I arrived late and the staff were very helpful in settling me in and even walking with me to show me nearest retaurant. The room was lovely with great views and the helpful staff allowed me to check out late so that I could fill time before my flight. The rooms were well designed and fitted and I would stay again when passing through Port Vila for work.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RPlotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Although in the heart of the city this is a great spot for a few days in between your trips to Santo and Tanna... Swimming pool, SUPs, kayaks and a peaceful little retreat when the cruise ship comes to town... Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Have just spent 7 nights at Fatumaru Lodge. It was just what we wanted for a relaxing holiday.
It is exactly as the photo's look online. It has amazing views from the front rooms. Just sit on the balcony and look out over the bay.
The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The pool is very clean and the grounds are looked after every day.
The bed was comfortable but the pillows could have been a little firmer. They do not have hair conditioners or shower caps in the toiletry's only shampoo.
As the other reviews say the lights are very dim, apparently because electricity is very expensive we were told.
It was nice to have a security guard on at night and the security gate locked in the evenings.
We didn't choose to have the breakfast as AUD 12 is too expensive for fruit, toast and coffee.
It is not included in the cost of the resort price. As it is self contained we cooked our own if we wanted a hot breakfast.
There is a convenience store across the road for daily supplies etc.
The Chinese restaurant is across the road and around the corner. Great meals and a fantastic view.
Town centre is a good 15 min walk with very bumpy so called footpaths.
Best restaurant is Baywatch 10 mins down the road. Great steaks and tapas. Go lunch time specials about 12 AUD for mail meals. Great music and staff. Thomas the owner is very welcoming.
Will go back again to Fatumaru , loved it!
Thank you all for your hospitality.......

Room Tip: We stayed in both the top floor and ground floor rooms. Loved both of them. Better Wifi reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
142 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
299 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Property: Fatumaru Lodge
Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for family and couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing