We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay but bring your earplugs!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fatumaru Lodge
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay but bring your earplugs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights at the end of July, the week before Independence day. Comfortable, clean accommodation with great staff. Good walk into town with lots of nice eateries along the way.
We didn't have breakfast due to the cost (travelling on a budget). Definately not a swimming beach, but nice lookout from room.
We experienced lots of noise at night during our - stay, dogs, roosters, tv from next door, loud music until 2am on several nights and neighbours having loud conversations at 7am some mornings (only have louvre windows so noise travels up from balcony below), ear plugs did nothing to dull the noise as we are both light sleepers. The lack of sleep definately affected our stay, but I think it was mainly due to timing and Independence Day preparations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antarisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pascal0164, Owner at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for,your comments, YES Independence day in Vanuatu is not one day but more 8 days & NIGHTS of celebration. This is a new country very proud to have decolonized and this is absolutely true that it was noisy. Lot of parties around, music travel very well on water...and we are WATERFRONT!!! apologies for this noise out of control and out of our property.. But this is ONCE A YEAR ONLY...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    141
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
112
174
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at Fatumaru for 1.5 nights having arrived from Melbourne at 2am. The proximity to the airport makes this a great stopover hotel, as the taxi fare is very inexpensive (don't bother with an overpriced 'transfer'). We stayed in one of the upper units and there is some road noise, and of course (being Vanuatu) some dog and rooster noise! Nothing some earplugs can't address. This is the best included breakfast we have had in Vila, generous serve of fruit and excellent croissants and coffee. The outdoor kitchen is really great, comfy bed and the location is an easy walk into town. The standup paddle boarding was a lot of fun, but this is not a swimming beach (we were aware of this). The check-out process was a bit laboured given we needed to get to the airport in a hurry.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed with my now husband and 13 month old baby for a trip for our wedding. We were looked after superbly by all the staff at Fatumaru, and really enjoyed such a relaxed and quiet place to stay. It was easy to flag down a bus at the top of the driveway and head in to town, or it was a 15-20 minute walk and you were there anyway. Beautiful outlook over the water. Enjoyed paddle boarding!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjanesteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at Fatumaru for one night on our way to Aore Island. It is very well located on the way from the airport and far enough out of the hustle and bustle of Port Vila town. We stayed in one of the units at the rear of the property and couldn't fault it. Minimal road noise, very well equipped and a great welcome. It has a very Bali feel about it. The pool area is tranquil and relaxing, and the position right on the water is fantastic with kayaks and SUP's available. We would definately stay longer next time. Breakfast next to the pool was perfect - fresh local produce and the most amazing croissants provided by a local French bakery.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruzesales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

To start with the lodge booked us in for three nights not four as we requested through their site. At first they wouldn't let us pay for the four nights at once in advance and then they decided they actually couldn't check us out without us paying the balance on the third night. Confusion all around. In addition they didn't take what they said they were taking as a deposit (I think they took less than the 50% stated) which added to the confusion when trying to figure out how much we owed them.

We were less than impressed with the colour choice of the rooms and balconies and the rooms were quite dark. There was a small pool, hammocks and a tiny beached area.

Fatumaru was okay but nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs rooms as more sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pascal0164, Owner at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that Fatumaru Lodge did not meet all your expectations and that you did not like the light brown colour of the rooms. We are very proud that Lonely Planet selected us as one of the best boutique hotel in Port Vila. As the Owner, I have personally checked your booking, there was a mistake in our records on your length of stay 3 nights instead of 4. To compensate, we upgraded your family into two waterfront studios for your last night, the second studio was free of charge. Fatumaru Lodge tried their best to meet your expectation during your stay, it is unfortunate that a data entry error has affected also your appreciation of the quality of the room & service provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Beautiful waterfront unit with high ceilings and local art on the unit.Good number of kayaks with seats and SUP's. Kayaks were a bit bashed up and showing their age. Close walking distance to Port Villa.The grounds were nicely landscaped and well looked after. Staff were friendly and helpful - booking restaurants, tours and taxis for us.

Room Tip: Book early to secure a waterfront unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank robden123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
205 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a stay of five nights at other accommodation so unfortunately we only had 2 nights here. It was very enjoyable. The accommodation was quaint rather than luxurious but had everything one needed. It was well equipped to cook and eat on site. We were made to feel very welcome and the staff couldn't do enough for you. It was a delightful setting with a georgeous view looking out on the bay. We loved sitting on the balcony listening to the water lapping our toes almost. A highlight was kayaking into town, pulling the boat up onto the rocks and sand this side of the market and shopping at the market and having brunch. Be prepared for quite a walk into town, although plenty of vehicles offer to drive you it may feel safer to organise a taxi via the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rme48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.6 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.6 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Property: Fatumaru Lodge
Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for family and couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing