We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!”
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fatumaru Lodge
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2010

This is truly a special location with a unique experience. Secluded enough to be very private, Proximity to the city centre and the wide variety of restaurants and fantastic staff make Fatumaru Lodge such a special location. The air conditioned room was very comfortable for 4 adults or open the wide front doors and experience the cool evening breeze. The staff were very friendly, proud of their work and ever willing to make travel or tour arrangements.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magpies2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2010

We stayed in two interconnecting sea front studios, well appointed, giving directly onto the the jetty. At high tide, it was a delight to just sit on the jetty and listen to the sounds of the sea and all the people and kids swimming around the bay and swim ourselves in clear , cool welcoming waters.
Nothing was a problem for Liz and her colleague, so friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgetteAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Close to everything but private and quiet. The staff are fantastic and we were exeptionally well looked after. The facilities are great and we found the self contained unit to be comfortable and suited our needs. Small number of units meant there were never too many people around.....discuss your tour needs direct with the staff...they will advise the best things to see and do and will get you the right price.......

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamptonsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We were lucky enough to travel to Port Vila in early December 2009, we chose off the net and from Tripadvisor reviews to stay at Fatumaru Lodge. On first impression it looks like a South Pacific dream with nice open style living with patios looking out over Fatumaru bay, but once you move in and stay for a while you realise the place needs a good scrub, bathroom/toilet could use bleaching (towels and sheets also need bleaching) and cleaning, everything is top surface tidy but not as clean as we would like. The pool area was okay and you can swim in the sea, although not worth snorkelling, the jetty is great especially at night with a glass of wine. The location was futher out of town than we read off the web site, ok to walk one way but not both, but you can catch a taxi or bus quite readily. Emily, Liz and Thomas were very helpful, we did not see the owners. Something comfortable to sit on would have been nice.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeyfieldDoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We had stayed at Fatumaru on 2 previous occasions and have had a great experience and a not so great experience so I was a little unsure about my trip this time. I must say that our stay here this time was the best. Great staff...thanks Emily for your help and Thomas for the post dinner chats. Great to see Pascal and Patricia staying in the background and making the local people the face of Fatumaru Lodge - they are doing a fantastic job. Emily, Liz and all the staff make the place a relaxed, friendly and welcoming place to stay. The kitchen still needs some extra items - like some extra utensils (ie. bread knife & cheese grater!!) and some containers to store food - as it is self catering! But overall we loved it - it's a completely beautiful spot for a week of R & R!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseeker71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

This is our fourth trip to Vanuatu. Fatumaru Lodge was wonderful. Location, service, amenities and the friendliness of a small boutique resort make for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAYLEYBARGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Fatumaru Lodge has a great pool area with a fantastic views of Fatumaru Bay. Having the jetty and pontoon at our door was really nice with free use of kayaks and fishing rods. The room was really good value and it was nice having the water splashing against the front of our unit. The lodge is close to town whilst also being in a quiet location at the bottom of the hill. Also, the breakfast is really good.
The best part of Fatumaru Lodge would definitely be Emily and the fantastic staff that work there. They really made our stay so much fun!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ENTBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#11 of 47 in Port Vila
1,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
157 reviews
3.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
713 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
554 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £78 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft, each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing