We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great spot to relax.”
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fatumaru Lodge
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2011

My wife and I had visited Port Vila on a cruise in 2010 and we both agreed that of the 5 places the cruise went to, Port Vila would be the first that we went back to. We did a fair bit of research and thanks to sites such as Trip Advisor we came up with a winner.
Fatumaru Lodge is great spot to unwind, it is quiet, so if its nightlife onsite you are seeking please look elsewhere. We are of an age where nightclubs are a seldom visited establishment, but not yet on walking frames.
The rooms are large and airy, and have a really nice feel about them, the decor is perfect, the owners have done a wonderful job. The little kitchenette is just about right but lacking a couple of utensils and the bed was very comfortable.
We had a waterfront room, so waterfront that at high tide it was about six steps off the deck into the water. The swimming is safe and the water temp was fantastic,so good that we did not swim in the pool once, but swam in the bay every day and canoed. (There is nothing wrong with the pool, just our personal preference!!, the pool and bar area are very nice!)
The sunsets were magic, but with that come the mossies, but we have had it far worse on holidays in Queensland, so they are not really an issue. The rooms have mossie coils for your use, but no screens on the large doors, but when going to sleep you just close up and put the aircon on. We did not have to use the aircon during the day, the ceiling fan and flow thru breeze did the job.
The location of the lodge is a big thumbs up. If you want to walk into town it took us about 15 to 20 minutes, or just walk up the driveway to the main drag and you will have a bus into town in seconds for 150vt. Heading the other way out to Hideaway Island or Mele Falls, again just wait up the road for a bus and its cheap (don't book onto tours for these places, just hop on a bus and arrange a time with the driver to come back, or don't, there are so many about you will not wait long).
We bought food to cook for ourselves at the supermarket downtown and fresh fruit and vegies at the big market, you have to to do that, the fruit is great. We ended up cooking for ourselves 3 nights out of seven and did our own breakfasts each day.
(The lodge does offer breakfast but we did not partake so sorry no review on that)
Our only criticisms are small: there was nowhere to hang towels or wet cossies, apart from on the back of the outdoor furniture. A small fold-away drying rack would be a bonus. Also there was no carving or slicing knife in the kitchenette tools, we had a diving knife so we managed, and one extra small saucepan would have been handy.
But that's it for the negatives! Overall, we loved the place, we did not meet the owners, but the staff that we met were lovely, friendly and helpful. Especially Elizabeth and Thomas. We have to say that Thomas is one of the nicest guys you could meet, he taught us so much about the people that make up Vanuatu. It was our pleasure to meet him and that added to our experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimberBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2010

A very nice place to stay with agreat beach for swimming and pool. Quality rooms and plunger tanna coffee in your room. Fantastic!
Only downsides were the overpriced breakfast, feeling of a slight lack of privacy with the rooms all bunched together and the fairly tedious walk into town (but you save on taxi fares from the airport!).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventurous_Duo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Fatumaru Lodge is a hidden gem located 10 minutes "amble" from town. With only ten units this boutique hotel is for those wanting a relaxing holiday where you don't have to eat out every night and you can chose to stay in and self cater using the barbeque by the pool or create an intimate dinner in the kitchenette.

The accommodation is very comfortable - all units offering spectacular views over Fatumaru Bay. There is nothing like opening the louvre doors especially on your first morning - takes your breath away!

All staff members are welcoming, friendly and are happy to assist. Emily, Liz, Issac, Thomas and the girls can not do enough to ensure that your stay is stress free.

This was my fourth stay at Fatumaru - I will be back next year!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Well, others have commented on the outstanding views from these beachfront rooms, and they are right. Quite stunning, with its short golden beach, coral breakwaters, an attractive freshwater spring to the left and a multi-level view of the various headlands, way out to the open sea. The environs may well have been constructed for the purpose, but the designer has done an excellent job.

Again, as others have said, the units are basic but comfortable, with plenty of storage space, reasonably efficient lighting except in the ensuite, a very good king -sized bed and a generous furnished verandah separated by folding louvred doors. The air-conditioning had to work hard, and we had to chose between lots of natural light without AC, or semi-darkness with it. A minor disadvantage.

Our 'continental' breakfast was included in the tariff - not a buffet, but served beside the pool every day. Fruitjuice, fresh fruit, coffee and croisants, toast and bread with butter and preserves, and surprisingly, eggs and bacon on request, although on one day there was only one egg available and on another, the bread supply ran out, but this was generally in line with the 'laid-back' atmosphere where nothing was formal and where Emily, the manager, presided with a seemingly casual approach. Not for nothing is it called a Melanesian resort.

Fatumaru is placed in a natural ampitheatre, with hills rising behind to about 1000 metres and with the fronting placid lagoon water reflecting every sound. Thus expect intermittent duals between packs of dogs, chain-saw symphonies and lawn-mowing competions from neighbouring properties at most times, plus strident late night verandah conversation from next door units. Take efficient ear protection. Be also prepared for very steep climbs and descents - even to the resort office.

A couple of tips - although not related to this review. Take a cell phone. We did not., and we should have done. There is no phone communication beteen the units and the resort office.

Also, at your discretion, avoid the Chinese restaurant Harbour View, which although ony 100 metres away took 3 hours to deliver a grossly overcooked meal and had the nerve to charge 500 VT delivery fee.

In conclusion. Fataumaru Lodge, beautiful as it is, is really for the younng and the restless, the energetic and the fit, and those who appreciate the totally laid-back melanesian lifestyle. But not really for us in the passed 70 bracket

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Fatumaru Lodge is exactly how the website describes. WE had the room downstairs right on the beach. With having young children it was perfect. The hotel staff were all lovely and helpful. Having hte BBQ's at the pool were great - we cooked a few times and it was nice to cook and sit roune the pool without having to dine out every lunch/dinner. Plenty for kids to do with table tennis, canoes, paddle boards, swimming pool and DVD's available.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Fatumaru Lodge is well located, quiet, friendly and has a nice welcoming feel. Staff were excellent rooms clean and tidy.
Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank GeoffNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

we went over there for our honeymoon and it was great the lodge is about a 5 min drive or a 10 min walk to town so it was quiet and really relaxing its right on the beach or the pool the rooms were up kept every day if you wanted them to. and being a small lodge we got to know the other guests quite well it was really nice, the staff were great and very helpful and extremely friendly I could rave on about it sooo much and i will definately recommend it to our friends and family and i would like to say a big thank you to Liz and Thomas our stay wouldnt have been the same without them.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateispleased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
159 reviews
2.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
1,579 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#18 of 47 in Port Vila
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
716 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £79 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft, each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing