We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Bungalows Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Sorry for the late review. We stayed for 7 nights in August broken in the middle by a flight and overnight stay on Tanna Island to see the Mt Yasur volcano. This was one of the things we most wanted to do whilst in Vanuatu as it's not every day you get to walk up and look into a bubbling, lava filled, rumbling volcano. Greg and Audrey could not have been more helpful in organising this tour for us and as you can only take 5kg of luggage each on the overnight tour, they also looked after our luggage for us while we were away. We stayed in one of the bungalows which were dotted along the lagoon and it was very clean and spacious, although a little dated. We ate in the restaurant a couple of nights but it was never a problem catching a bus to town if we wanted to eat there. All in all we had a great stay at Sunset Bungalows and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The bungalows with their over water balconies are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    136
    30
    11
    2
See reviews for
28
428
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We visited for a week in early September, following advice of others on Tripadvisor. Everything was as we imagined, lovely comfortable lagoon rooms over the water, serviced daily, beautiful views from the open air restaurant, food was good, service from staff is attentive and friendly. Cocktails in the late afternoon is a lovely way to relax after a busy day exploring the island. Greg and Audrey couldn't be more helpful with advice about what to do (even suggesting cheaper ways to do tours) and we really appreciated their care about every single guest. It's a small resort, not posh at all, very laid back, no strict rules or regulations which was nice (on a cool night we took our meal and drinks back to the room) so that was very much appreciated. The weather wasn't kind to us for our week there, cool and windy, but we still loved everything about Sunset Bungalows. Highly recommend it for a relaxing and caring holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at Sunset in a lagoon view room for a week in September. It was a perfect venue if you are on a couples holiday and really romantic (we noted many of the couples there were on their honeymoon!) The room was really lovely and we really loved spending time on the deck taking in the view. The only thing I would mention here is that a few times we had other guests cigarette smoke drifting onto our deck which meant we had to go inside and close the doors (as I hate cigarette smoke) which was a bit annoying. The location, although a little out of town, does not really matter as we never waited more than 5 minutes to catch a bus into town (or wherever we wanted to go).

Greg and Audrey were amazing hosts and on hand with information and recommendations on how to spend our week. They helped us plan and book all the activities we wanted to do. We liked how Sunset was relatively small and didn't feel like one of those huge resorts which can seem a bit impersonal. We ate a few times at the restaurant which was great.

Would recommend the funky monkey cocktail :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinosaur10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We enjoyed our week at Sunset Bungaloes immensely
Greg and Audrey were fantastic hosts with a great knowledge of what to see and how and who to get you there
The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and I had Coconut crab which was sensational
We will be back !! Thanks to all at sunset
Cheers Rob and Karen Campbell

Room Tip: The Bungaloes are extremely relaxing and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in early October in a Studio Room. Room was comfortable, loved the four poster bed, balcony, and views of the lagoon, we will choose a Bungalow next time however, as they are more private. We ate in the Restaurant every night the food was plain but well cooked, well presented and yummy - the fruit platter for breakfast was delicous! Greg and Audrey are excellent hosts and all the Staff were really friendly and helpful. The sunset cruise on the lagoon on our last night was a highlight..we hope to return some day soon.

Room Tip: Bungalows are better than Studio Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked the honeymoon suite for our stay in August. The honeymoon bungalow is set at the end of all the bungalows and slightly turned out which makes it very secluded and peaceful. It was great to sit on our balcony, sun bake and drink cocktails.
Greg and Audrey (and the team) are the most fantastic hosts. Extremely accommodating, helpful and caring. Being our first time to Vanuatu, they were able to offer advice on things to do, how to get around and assisted us with arranging all of our tours and activities which made things so much easier. I love the way they would greet everyone at breakfast and dinner to see how your day was and if they can offer any more assistance.
The rooms themselves are in an older style but generally well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tenaxious_jenq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed three nights in September 2013 in a lovely over-water room. Fabulous setting but the weather was awful - winds and rain. Very good massage organised by hosts who were friendly New Zealanders. Pool out of order while we were there too unfortunately. Breakfast was included but you had to pay extra above the one item which was included in the room price. The museli was lovely. We chose this place as it does not take children.
Had two dinners there which were OK. Some traffic noise in the mornings as the resort is between the road and the lagoon. Room beautiful and well appointed. Would have liked to swim in the pool or lagoon but weather prevented!

Room Tip: Over-water bungalow great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 624HelenC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Property: Sunset Bungalows Resort
Address: Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing