We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Bungalows Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was a honeymoon destination for Bill and I and we couldn't have wished for a more beautiful resort to spend our week in. Resort was magical, staff friendly and Vanuatu wonderful. Recommend this resort to anyone!!

Room Tip: All rooms had a view of the lagoon We were upstairs and no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    135
    30
    11
    2
See reviews for
28
427
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you are planning a relaxing and effortless holiday, this is a great place to start. My wife and I spent two enjoyable weeks here for our 20th anniversary. We cannot speak highly enough of the wonderful hosts, Greg and Audrey, and all the staff who work there. They would be the most pleasant people I have ever come across. No task is too great and it's ALL done with a smile.
Their attitude and willingness to look after you makes you feel so special and they deserve all the excellent reviews received on this site.
For example, my wife loves relaxing on a lounge type chair and reading. That afternoon Greg and co. arrange to have this huge super heavy timber chair lifted onto our balcony so my wife could sit, read and enjoy the beautiful lagoon views...that's service!
And the rooms were simply majestic. The perfect setting with a balcony overlooking a tranquil lagoon. The sound of water lapping up on shore was peaceful. Loved to quietly watch the fish and the day go by from here. Seeing a seahorse for the first time in its natural environment was a treat. The sunsets and sleepy humming sound of a small local fishing boat looking for its next meal would send me off to sleep.
Breakfast on the restaurant deck is special. Loved the omelettes. Dinner in the evenings is very romantic and peaceful. Try the coconut crab if it's available. Make sure to arrange dinner one special evening on your own private balcony. The staff set up a romantic table on the balcony for us with lobster and champagne on the menu.
Location is a short ten minute adventure bus ride into town. Great opportunity to meet the locals. They are such wonderful happy people here. Try the local church on Sunday and meet some amazing people. There is one 200 metres from here heading into town.
Location is on a main road but not that evident. Unless you are sitting in the pool you don't hear the traffic
Quiet, peaceful, no kids around (we left five at home), I highly recommend this place. Just go there with one agenda....Relaxation.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony...and ask for the lounge chair!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aldo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I went with a group of 8 friends and having to prepare the majority of the trip, I am thankful that I had the owners' (Audrey and Greg) help! They were spectacular and I could not have asked for more. They responded to my emails quickly, their knowledge of the area was vast and they were super friendly! The staff even helped in organising our daily tours and even accommodated to the groups different interests.

Whilst we were there, the staff members were very attentive and the food never let us down. It was always a good start to the day with complimentary breakfast and a nice cup of Vanuatu coffee.

The location was perfect as well - with a big pool, kayaks and snorkel gear to use, it felt like we were in paradise. Only a 5 minute bus ride into town, we had the opportunity to explore the markets and the city. We even went out for a drink of Kava with Ester, one of the staff at Sunset Bungalows.

Definitely the best place to stay when going to Vanuatu!

Room Tip: All the bungalows are pretty much the same with little differences here and there. Staying in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Went with a group of friends and loved the place. The hosts were very helpful and organised and helped us with all aspects of our time in vanuatu. The location is beautiful and the food spectacular but the highlight would have to be the amazing cocktails. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vania L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My fiancee and I headed to Vanuatu to celebrate our 5 year anniversary! I chose this place after i found it in an online deal and looked awesome!
The managers were super attentive, checking in on us, providing us with local tips and they even upgraded us!
Breakfast was complimentary so it was a great way to get your day started :)
They were very helpful and the staff were all local and friendly..

The location was amazing and we experienced some amazing sunrises! it felt like paradise...beautiful!

Lastly we forgot some belongings in our room and they rushed to the airport to return it to us! great service...i would recommend it to any traveler!

Room Tip: get the actual bungalows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaUrrutia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We recently had 5 nights here to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary.
What a great position overlooking the lagoon. The room was very comfortable.
Our hosts were helpful, but unobtrusive. The staff where typical Ni - van smiling and pleasant.
We eat in the restaurant each night which was very relaxed and enjoyable.
Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was such a perfect place for couples, but would also suit anyone who wanted to get away from a busy life. We went there for our 30th wedding anniversary for a calm, peaceful and relaxing time and we couldn't have asked for better. The waterfront bungalows were beautiful with the deck out over the water (you've got to have a breakfast on your balcony at least once). The managers Audrey & Greg were friendly and very helpful regarding places to go and things to do. Bong was always able to help with any queries and Lily makes some amazing cocktails! The omlettes at breakfast were a treat (don't waste your time with anything else). The menu for lunch and dinner provided some really good food but they could do with a few more choices. We ate there almost evry night and generally the food was very good, but there were a few dud meals - a lack of consistency in the quality of the meals. A range of specials were offered on different nights depending on what fresh seafood that was sourced (the coconut crab is nice, but a lot of work). The prices for the meals were a bit high, but you have to remember that a lot of the food (even the milk) is imported. The restaurant also hangs out over the water so we spent many hours just sitting there enjoying the serenity - sometimes from one meal to the next! It's a fantastic place to sit, have dinner and a drink, chat to other guests, and watch the sunset (see photo). The pool is also a magnificent setting to relax day or night. We were there for 7 nights - and didn't want to leave. Would not stay anywhere else if we went back to Vanuatu.

Room Tip: The waterfront bungalows overhanging the water are THE place to stay. Can't remember how much mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJtravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Property: Sunset Bungalows Resort
Address: Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing