We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

To be completely honest this was not my first choice but I am so glad I chose Sunset Bungalows over other options. The service was outstanding, and all staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome and cared for. On my return to Efate I will no doubt stay here over free options I now have. in one morning alone from My balcony I got to see over 30 starfish a sea horse an octopus various types of crab and an un countable amount of fish.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bret512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    140
    31
    11
    2
See reviews for
30
443
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

First and foremost our thanks go to Greg, Audrey, Bong, Roy, Ruth and Lily plus the chefs and all staff for making our stay restful although the first two nights were fairly harrowing due to the imminent arrival of Cyclone Hadi.
We stayed in the Ambrym Bungalow and there are a couple of things I would recommend
1. An area to boil the jug. We had to take it from the cupboard and boil it on the table where the telephone was situated.
2. A long ceiling fan would be ideal for those very still days and nights, if you did not want to use the air conditioner but still sleep with all the balcony doors open.
3. A mat at the front door of the bungalow to wipe ones feet on, as when it was wet we tended to bring the leaves and mud in from our shoes.
Other than that, menu is limited but there are plenty of eateries in Port Vila to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Be aware that breakfast is a choice of juice, tea or coffee and a main, if you require extra additions such as bacon, tomato, mushrooms and the like, it will cost you and it isn't much.
My husband ordered fried eggs and wanted some tomato on the side and all he received was 3 cherry tomatoes cut in half fried. Another guest ordered bacon and all he got was a strip about 2 inches x 2 inches in size. He was not happy at all. Where was the rest of it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
As long as you are aware of this fact, you will be fine
We ate very few meals in house and tended to eat out the 11 days we were there.
Be very open minded about how the people live over there, all are happy, friendly and live very basic ways. The roads are very degraded in town, lots of potholes.
People only earn about $1.70AUD an hour so where ever we could we would give the drivers extra cash. Not much to us, but certainly a lot for them and they are very appreciative of it.
Buses are easy to catch to take you into town, our central point to be dropped off was Chews Store and rather than use the laundry facilities there, we took ours to the laundromat across the road from the store, left it there and collected in the afternoon before closing. It was half the price of what Sunset wanted to charge.
150 VAT per person bus trip into town, more if you are travelling out of town and the laundromat was about 1800 VAT (washed and dried) as opposed to 3000 VAT
We found lots of beautiful places to eat and I have written reviews on each of them.
Really enjoyable and we met some terrific people during our stay, plus Greg and Audrey's dog is beautiful, ask them how they ended up with him! He is one lucky dog!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bixandlites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katoomba, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Everything about Sunset Bungalows was great for the 7 nights we stayed, Greg and Audrey run a fantastic place in a perfect spot, always helpful and on hand with advice and suggestions for getting the most out of our stay.

Their staff were always friendly and polite and also talented, they made some amazing cocktails and the best Coconut Crab meal ever!

Breakfast included was a great bonus, and always extra tasty, a great way to start the day and coming back to cocktails or a Tusker or three was just as welcome.

We will be back for more adventures!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoJo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Beautiful location, a 5 minute bus ride from town. Nice private room with overwater deck where you can watch the crabs, fish and starfish in the water below and see the amazing reflections on the lagoon surface on a still morning. Stayed in for cocktails and dinner a couple of nights in restaurant Ate, which we thoroughly enjoyed, along with the gorgeous sunsets. Great food and drinks and very friendly staff. It wasn't too far from town to go into Port Vila for shopping,dinner and drinks, and local buses are cheap (150 vatu each) and appear often. Managers Greg and Audrey are a great source of information and advice and give great tips about where to go, which tour companies they feel offer the best service and what days/times are best to travel to different attractions. No pressure to use the companies they recommend and they will help you with any bookings. All staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful, both at the front desk and in the restaurant. Would happily stay again. This is not a large resort and may not be "lively" enough for everybody, but that's exactly why we loved it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a bungalow....beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morwell, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at Sunset Bungalows Resort for ten nights in March being our second visit to Vanuatu. Greg, Audrey and all their staff are above and beyond wonderful help with service, advice and friendliness. The resort itself is so relaxing and peaceful with each room overlooking the lagoon, what a view to wake up to each morning and being able to see the water from your bed, the food was a limited menu but amazing in whatever you ordered and that's why we chose to return each night to dine there as well as the yummy cocktails. Thankyou for making our stay enjoyable and we will be back.

Silvana and Marc

Room Tip: Advantage of staying in an upstairs room you can sleep with the window/doors wide open and feel safe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A place to stay if you're looking for very relaxing atmosphere.

Pros:
• Great room
• Beautiful waterfront view
• Quiet
• Excellent food

Cons:
• It's a bit removed from everything, so you'll have to take a bus if you want to explore downtown or try other restaurants

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I visited Vanuatu in late 2013 and stayed in 2 locations on Efate (start and end of our holiday) and in one on Tanna. While the Volcano experience on Tanna is a must do if you go to Vanuatu, the accommodation was very rustic. We also stayed at Iririki Resort when we first arrived on Efate, but we found the Sunset Bungalows much nicer and it was a great place to end our vacation.

I am also a Coeliac and required a gluten free diet, which the Audrey had organised with the kitchen prior to our arrival, so this was really great and helped make the stay stress free. The menu is a little limited overall (gluten free food aside) but the food they serve is very good.

The location is fantastic, with the bungalows overlooking the lagoon. We swam in the lagoon and also enjoyed kayaking to the other side on one of the resort kayaks.

Audrey, Greg, Bong and all the staff are so helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

As frequent travellers, we appreciate the gems that we experience along the way, the Sunset Bungalows and the team there are one of those special encounters.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
3.2 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,488 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
666 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.9 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Property: Sunset Bungalows Resort
Address: Teouma Road | 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing