We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradise Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“A Piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at Paradise Cove Resort. Having holidayed in Vanuatu many times, we finally found our perfect piece of paradise at Paradise Cove. From the time we were greeted (at 2.30 am) with a big smile, by security guard Naulita, to the time we waved goodbye to Benjamin and Jerony, hosts Constance and Marc and their wonderful staff made us feel welcome, relaxed and free to enjoy all that the resort has to offer.

All the bungalows are located in a spacious garden setting. They are well appointed, very comfortable and offer nice privacy. The kitchen/dining area is quite adequate and the lounge area ideal for an afternoon nap. The outside covered area with lounges and a hammock is great for relaxing after a long walk to Pango village. Bed is comfortable, plenty of hot water and no TV, Radio or Phone – A REAL PLUS. Our bungalow was perfectly serviced every day with fresh fruit and flowers by our lady (Toumal) with her ever smiling face - nothing was too much trouble for her. We were in a one bedroom bungalow, Number 3 which is nearest the water and the Nakamal which gave us a little more of a breeze than the ones further back in the gardens.

The huge Nakamal is the focal point of the resort. With its restaurant, bar and lounge area it is the perfect meeting place at any time of day. At 5 o’clock each night, the drum sounds for Happy Hour when you can join Constance and Marc to socialize with other guests, or take your drink down to the beach to watch the sun go down or see the cruise ship leave the harbor. Benjamin, Johnny and the girls are great at mixing cocktails (even added Harvey Wallbanger to the cocktail list). Free Wifi in the Nakamal is a plus for those who want to keep in touch with the outside world.

Meals are served in the Nakamal, as well as a smaller dining area down by the beach. Great breakfasts of fresh fruit, cereal, toast, croissants, lime juice and coffee. A good choice on the menu for lunch and dinner with specials every night and Chef is always happy to please and prepare something a bit special. The Santo beef and lobster are to die for. Dining in the Nakamal was always a happy time with the presence of Edna, Kathleen, Jane, Wendy, Benjamin, Jerony and Johnny who were always eager to swop stories about theirs and our lifestyle.

The beach is great with nice sand and although small, has plenty of shade and sunlounges to relax on. The water is calm because the resort is on the sheltered side of the peninsula. For those who want a bit of exercise, the resort is not far away from Honeymoon Beach and Pango village. Honeymoon Beach is about a half hour walk. A nice beach on the windy side of the peninsula, which belongs to Pango so you may be asked to pay a small fee to go there. We also did the walk back through Pango village from there which takes just over an hour. This way we got to see and talk to some of the villagers.

All in all, our stay at Paradise Cove was the best Vanuatu holiday we have had. If you’re into large resorts with lots of people, noise, TV etc. don’t go to Paradise Cove. If you want a quiet, relaxing Melanesian style holiday at a small friendly resort, where you’re treated like one of the family, then we'd highly recommend Paradise Cove to you.

Thanks Constance and Marc and all your staff, we’ll see you back next year
Jim & Evelyn

Room Tip: Bungalows nearer the water get more breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJB633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    60
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
197
234
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We are a family with two boys (5 and 8) who are noisy, curious and active. I should preface this review by saying we are not really resort people. In Australia we camp in national parks.

One of the main reasons that we chose to stay at Paradise cove is because it is a small contained resort that nonetheless has plenty of gardens and lots of place for the kids to safely explore without constant supervision. (Younger children who would be unsafe around water would not be able to have these freedoms of course). On these terms, it was really well suited. We were lucky that there were other children to play with for our stay including Marc and Constance's two boys and the kids really enjoyed the spaces. They enjoyed playing chess and cards in the shared area also.

The staff were very kind and friendly to our kids and this made a big difference to our experience there. We did speak with the boys about being considerate of others and being quieter in shared areas etc of course but they were not perfect. We never got the sense that our boys were not welcome at Paradise Cove.

We were also attracted to the fact that the bungalows are self-contained. This turned out to be a good choice as having the opportunity to retreat by cooking a simple meal in the bungalow was just what was needed once or twice during our stay.

Our kids particularly enjoyed complimentary continental breakfast particularly the croissants. The restaurant is a good option with interesting and varied food. We were offered our choice of vegetarian meals - all we had to do was request what we wanted from the chef. However he did not really know how to make many vegetarian meals so this could have been better. The kids meals were enormous and a lot of what we ordered for them went to waste! It was all excellent quality though.

One really good aspect about Paradise Cove is the excellent staff, particularly Benjamin, who offers thoughtful, helpful and accurate advice on activities/bookings etc.

My husband and I have lived in Melanesia before and could hold a conversation in Bislama and I highly recommend giving it a go. Ni-Van staff at Paradise Cove say that they rarely speak to a white person in Bislama, which is sad really. Frankly it isn't a difficult language when spoken slowly and a willingness to try completely changes the relationship you have with people. Of course staff speak excellent English and there are French speakers also I believe.

The physical environment at Paradise Cove is lovely, nice gardens, great restaurant area, lovely waterfront, lots of fish (some coral but very little compared with other parts of Vanuatu) and very easy and safe to learn to snorkel for kids (there are life jackets, reef shoes etc for guest use). It is naturally a coral beach, but they have built a sandy beach also.

The family bungalows are quite spacious and each is slightly different (we stayed in no 5 and 7). We all slept very well, although our kids woke earlier than usual as the rooms were not overly dark in the morning. Refurbishment is probably a good idea as there is still some damage from the white ants that needs fixing but generally the rooms were far nicer than we could rent in Australia for a similar cost. At the time we were there there was absolutely no need for air con. It is much cooler than we expected and we were never overly hot/sweaty. We left the doors open for the breeze and some nights we shut them because it was too cold!

We also saw no mosquitoes even after a day with rain, but one could order mosquito nets if needed.

We were given a very reduced rate for our stay at Paradise Cove as we stayed so many nights and I believe we got excellent value for money. Much was done to accommodate our needs - eg. we changed our plan and asked for some extra nights at short notice. Also we were moved to an empty room on our last day so we could have a shower after lunch and a swim before the plane ride home at no extra charge.

We ate one lunch at the Lagoon Beach Resort where we had considered as an alternative choice. The grounds are more extensive there, it is more convenient to town and there is a great children's playground but there is much less shade and the staff were much less friendly.

We were very pleased with our choice to stay at Paradise Cove.

Room Tip: For family rooms Room 5 is the closest to the restaraunt/beach/pool and has a good layout. Room 7 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My daughters and I wanted a holiday where we could do nothing but relax. We found paradise at Paradise Cove. Beautiful clean Villa serviced daily with friendly staff eager to help. A well rounded menu for all meals with excellent food. A fair drive from the main port but this adds to the beauty as you have no need to leave as everything you need is there. The snorkelling is beautiful with the fish and varying depths providing a great variety, we even saw Nemo and his family. If you do need to sight see the staff behind the bar can organise everything for you. The owners Marc and Constance are never far away and are always ready with tips or just an interesting conversation. There are no TV or clocks which we found interesting that we never missed them. We had dinner on the Jetty for one of my daughters birthdays which was followed by a wonderful version of happy birthday from the staff. We look forward to returning and seeing the changes that Marc and Constance have planned to enhance the already amazing experience that is Paradise Cove.
Our thanks to all involved in our stay.
Yvette and girls

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms in 5 buildings so I believe you would be happy anywhere. You just can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avi'el, Hefa, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Vacation just as we always dreamed of. My wife Margaretha and I spent 5 romantic nights in this wonderful resort and enjoyed every bit of it. First, the hosts Constance and Marc are very helpful and great company to enjoy an evening drink, with their life experience and international flavor. Then the resort itself is peaceful, the bungalows are large and well designed, the beach is great, and the food is a positive surprise too ! The staff are very nice, and all is well managed. Add to this the beauty of the island and you have a vacation to remember. We don't know if we'll come back, we live far far away, but we warmly recommend. ובעברית: חופשה חלומית

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iftach W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

To match an unforgettable wedding in Italy with an equally wonderful honey moon was indeed a challenge. Well, we could not have chosen better! Paradise Cove is a step away from the busy Port Vila yet it feels like being in a different place altogether: heavenly, relaxing, just what we were after. The staff is really welcoming, friendly and helpful yet not intrusive. Constance has been a great host throughout (unfortunately Marc was in France during our stay). The accommodation was clean, beautifully decorated and looked after. The Nakamal, impressive wooden structure, is indeed a focal social point and not just because of the happy hours (fond memories) but also because it is where we began our day with a delicious breakfast; plan our trips and activities and enjoy some of the most amazing meals cooked with skill by the chef, virtually every day. Gardeners were out early every day grooming the garden and beach so meticulously I almost felt guilty walking over them. Snorkelling gear was provided and so were the kayaks (better still if you know how to use them properly...not like me...) that allowed us to go out and explore the beautiful reef and stretch of water just a stone throw away from our own bungalow. Top moment for us was the special dinner served on the jetty as the sun was going down... we could not have staged it better. A dream holiday at a very reasonable price. We just simply loved it. A big tangkyu tumas to all the staff, nambawan; to Constance and the family friend (whose name escapes me now, apologies!) that made our holiday a memorable one. Just hope our words have done enough justice to this truly remarkable place. Ginny and Stefano

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefandGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Lonsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We took a taxi and snorkel gear to Paradise Cove. It's a small resort with a small coral beach and jetty. We decided to have lunch. I had the grilled chicken Caesar salad which turned out the best I've ever had. The setting idyllic and the service to match. Then off the jetty and snorkelling in Mele Bay, a highlight with plenty of coral and small fish. The name matches the enjoyment. Highly recommended for eating, snorkelling and if you want solitude, staying there.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VFrequentTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our family of four including two kids 6 and 7 recently stayed for a week in a two bedroom bungalow. The resort can only be described as outstanding. From when you arrive you are made feel special by both the outstanding hosts owners Constance and Marc, but also by their very friendly professional staff.

Everything that others who rate the resort as excellent is true. In addition having two small kids the thing that we noted was how safe the resort was. The kids had great freedom to roam around the resort very safely and both staff and other guests also kept an eye on them for us.

The highlights for us was how peaceful the resort was you have to relax, the food was outstanding (whatever you do try the chilli prawns), cocktails on the beach at sunset is a must watching the sun sink over the horizon, snorkelling over the reef is essential, and Jane does the best massages ever.

Constance and Marc have really created a special resort here and they have only just got started.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
13.3 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.6 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Eratap Beach Resort
Eratap Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Resort

Property: Paradise Cove Resort
Address: | Pango, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Business Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This private and intimate small boutique resort is located 15 minutes from downtown Port Vila. It offers 10 self contained One and Two Bedroom villas in a well established tropical garden by the ocean. The beautiful reef offers great snorkeling and diving opportunities with an easy access from the private beach and jetty. Under an iconic traditional roof celebrating the Melanesian architecture, the restaurant serves the best fresh local ingredients prepared with a Mediterranean touch. With a relaxed atmosphere Paradise Cove Resort provides a genuine tropical island holiday. Please note that the access by boat to our private jetty is strictly limited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Hotel Port Vila
Paradise Cove Port Vila
Paradise Cove Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing