We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT ON A BUDGET”
Review of Benjor Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Benjor Beach Club
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights after going to Tanna - loved it. Right on the ocean with amazing snorkelling and huge rooms with views! Couldn't believe what we paid and what we got - this was like staying at a 4 star resort on backpacker rates. Staff were very helpful and we particularly loved the kayaking tour we did right off the beach. Restaurant was very good and we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Brilliant stay here - large ocean facing rooms, plenty of cool breeze, great local tours, good food and really close snorkelling. Really had a relaxing wind down island time stay. Special thanks to Ben (the ben of Benjor) who was helping out for a week and could not do enough for us - kept us company when waiting for buses and told very funny stories about growing up in the Resort. Don't worry Ben we won't tell your Mum. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: From what we could see all the Villas had good views but the two bedroom Villas were selfcontainted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holly z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for a few nights in early August. Lovely big clean rooms, service with a smile from the staff, who were extremely helpful in terms of pointing us in the right direction for various activities etc. Great snorkelling straight off the beach, and well worth hiring kayaks to go out to the small island (sandbar) as there is good snorkelling there also. Meals were great also .... keen to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InSearchOfSunNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Had a great time here recently - spent four nights just chilling out and relaxing. Staff great - huge smiles and really good with their tour suggestions. The snorkelling was great - only had to go out about 20 meters and into amazing coral and fish. Room was large, clean and had a great view. This not a five star but then it doesn't claim to be and it definitely exceeded our expectation on service, food and rooms in comparison to what we spent. Would like to come back! Keepnupnthe good work. Cheers!

Room Tip: All seemed pretty good as faced the ocean but the big houses would be the best for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Great place, the staff were fantastic and always went out of their way to help us out. Good location just 15 minutes from the main street of port vila. accommodation was lovely. very relaxing. beautiful view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Therese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for 6 days since it was the suggested hotel for a wedding party we were with - although we had a one day break in the middle to go to Tanna for a night, and also attended the friend's wedding at a different hotel. The rooms here are pretty great - clean, spacious, with bathtubs and nice ocean-view patios. My only issue with the room itself was the toilet - although they have a sign posted in the bathroom to explain that the corrosion of the toilet bowl interior was due to calcium deposits in the water, it was still a fairly gruesome sight....

Our friends/family there for the wedding made up about 15 guests at the Benjor, so even though it was secluded (about half hour drive to town), we still had a fairly raucous time. Family of the groom had rented the Chief's Villa so we were over there a couple of times for BBQs and drinks. The Chief's Villa is basically just a big house and is a great option for families or even groups of friends who enjoy hanging out with each other - there is a kitchen (and again, a BBQ), so you can make your own food.

There isn't a sandy beach at this resort, although a quick 15min walk takes you to a public beach strip that locals like to hang out at. There is a village close by (about 10min drive) as well as a local "bar" you can visit and try some kava, as long as you befriend the right people. Going anywhere by car though was a bit difficult since we came right after some heavy rain season and the roads were filled with massive pot-holes.

The food at Benjor was ok but kind of pricey. All-in-all a good place if you're looking for some peace and quiet, or if you're coming in with a group of friends/family.

For me, I'd probably try another place next time just to see what else Vanuatu has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danni Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

A great place to getaway with friends, there were 11 over 50s. A lovely quiet (until we arrived) resort with beautiful views of the ocean from most of the rooms. Our accommodation was clean and spacious.The staff were very welcoming on arrival and very accommodating throughout our stay.I loved the fresh coconut juice.The food was fresh not super cheap but exceptable.This is a place to come to if you want to unwind and relax. Nothing moves very fast here but that is the charm of the place.Only down side was the hot showers sometimes didn't work in the large house other than that its a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motherofthebride88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.4 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
152 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
5.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#22 of 47 in Port Vila
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
181 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
543 reviews
5.4 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benjor Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjor Beach Club

Address: Devils Point Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £61 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Benjor Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely boutique 3.5 star resort located 15 mins from Port Vila and 10 minutes from the International Airport, on 23 acres of absolute oceanfront, all Villas with ocean views, fabulous restaurant and wedding chapel, simply delightful. Attractions within 5 mins from Benjor include kayaking and snorkelling tours, diving, horseriding, zorbing, Firedancing, Jungle Zipline, International Golf Course, Botanical Gardens and the world famous Cascades Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Benjor Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benjor Beach Club Hotel Port Vila
Benjor Beach Hotel
Benjor Beach Resort
Benjor Beach Club Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing