We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a relaxing getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benjor Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Benjor Beach Club
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at Benjor for 5 nights in February 2014. Have to admit that we chose it primarily because of the cost as we were saving our money for diving! We were expecting the accommodation to be pretty basic but that didn't bother us and we were happy to stay a little bit out of town.
The staff at Benjor were extremely helpful and organised buses to get us into town. We also did a walking tour of Mele village with one of them (Peter) and got to taste the local kava. When we ate there, the food was mostly excellent. It's not cheap but then nothing is really cheap in Vanuatu. We snorkelled off the beach a few times (the high tides are helpfully displayed out front), availed of the free wifi in reception and made sure we were at the bar in time for the daily happy hour! I would definitely return to Benjor again.

Things to improve:
- They had no reef shoes for hire/sale when we arrived so we couldn't snorkel the first day and had to wait until we'd bought some in town. I think the new managers will rectify this.
- The fans in our room were badly placed. One over the couch and one over the single bed but none over the double bed and we struggled to sleep with the heat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    90
    28
    20
    7
See reviews for
95
149
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Benjor is pretty good, not outstanding, but you have to pay a lot more to get anything special. Any beach lovers should really choose a different island altogether, as the grainy 2 metres of beach you get at the Benjor is about as good as you can expect outside of the 5 star resorts, and the public beaches are average compared to other south pacific islands, and are miles drive away from the Benjor. Beaches aside, the grounds are lovely, the staff great and the food can be very good. The apartments are quite basic, but charming, being quite individual and suited our needs. For a cheap break, perdectly enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uenuku2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We did not have high expectations based on a couple of reviews we read but now think they must have been staying at a different resort! We really loved this place - we had a warm welcome on arrival and really good explanation from Fred (lovely man) on everything we could do while at Benjor and in Port Vila. He explained how the public transport system worked (local buses) and the need to make sure that you get a price locked in if coming back from town. It cost us about $4 per person one way and sometimes the detours to drop off people was like having a private tour! The rooms are basic but large and clean with great views which more than makes up from any small flaws - paritcular considering the price we paid - can totally recommend travelling in February - everything cheaper. The food was very good - about similar to a good pub/bistro in Australia with the addition of pretty cheap lobster (only $60 and mine was really decent size). We totally relaxed by the pool and had two excellent snorkels off the main beach. Service and staff were great. This is little gem of a place - not flashy - just lovely....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Loved this place - what we liked - great views from the rooms (we travelledwith two other friends who had the room next to us which was great). nice little pool down by the ocean - excellent snorkelling off the beach which had lots of sand above the seawall so we could sunbathe or burn as actually happened. Staff are real friendly and helpful and the food was plentiful and fresh. On our budget (pretty low) this suited us perfectly - great location and grounds and access to lots of attractions near by - particularly loved the fire-dancing on Friday night at the beach bar. this was truely relaxing enjoyable holiday in a great country.

Room Tip: If travelling with friends like we were ask for adjoining rooms or maybe go for a two bedroom room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We (parents and two children of 5 and 8) spent a week at the Benjor Beach Club and can fully recommend it as a reasonably priced accommodation for a family - and in particular one with small children as they have large gardens, beach and pool to safely play without the need of much supervision. The rooms and kitchen of our bungalow are nicely done and well equipped but they also must have seen better times - they suffer from an obvious lack of maintenance (the door lock fell off, the fly screens have holes, the TV didn't work, etc.), a nuisance that was more than compensated by a very friendly and caring staff. The beach has some sandy patches that allow safe access into a sea that is normally lined by coral rock in that area - hence is a snorkeling paradise. The restaurant meals are excellent but a bit overpriced (as seems usually be the case in Vanuatu).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blechschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Holiday: 7th Feb – 14th Feb
We felt compelled to post our thoughts on Benjor after a truly fantastic stay just a few short weeks ago.
Benjor is all about the management of expectations; if you want flashy resort style accommodation in the heart of Port Villa then this is not the place for you. If you want luxurious surroundings and all the creature comforts from home, again this is not the place for you. If however, you have done your research and know what to expect at Benjor (both in terms of facilities and locations) then I fail to see how you could not have a wonderful holiday aided by, in all sincerity, the best staff we have ever encountered. They are sincere, helpful, knowledgeable and simply lovely people to be around.
Our bungalow (no. 2) was HUGE! Plenty big enough for 2 of us. Yes, it’s a little rough around the edges and yes the water was at times temperamental but this in no way negatively impacted our stay. After all, Vanuatu is a developing county and with the fantastic price we paid these are tiny details. We used our room to sleep at night (and very lazy afternoon naps sometimes!) so it was more than adequate for these purposes.
The grounds and Officers Club Restaurant / Reception are beautifully maintained and you can snorkel right off the beach. Yes, it is a coral beach but we had done our research and bought $10 Kmart reef shoes. Therefore, you can get from your bungalow to the ocean and be watching the fish in under a minute!
After a couple of trips to Port Villa we were actually thankful to be staying further out. Mele Bay provides a sensational backdrop (especially if you climb to the Summit Garden) and is actually closer to many attractions (such as the Tanna coffee store, the Summit Gardens, Cascade Falls, The Secret Garden and Hideaway island) than if you stay in the capital.
Overall, we enjoyed a 5* stay with 5* staff but not at 5* prices. We feel strongly that some of the criticisms of other posters are grossly unfair and, as mentioned, with appropriate expectations Benjor will over deliver in spades. Saying goodbye to all staff (We would love to list individually but would hate to miss anybody out!), drinking my final Tusker beer, on our last day made us really reflect on the great holiday we had experienced and how much Benjor had played a part. We would definitely recommend Benjor to anybody travelling to Vanuatu.
Some final brief pointers:
-Reception are great and ordering your buses (which are essentially taxis) and help agree prices and pick up times to avoid any misunderstandings or overcharging. We used these daily and, despite hearing some horror stories, never had any issues.
- Would recommend Hideaway Island, Secret Garden, Cascade Falls, The Summit (which is free – the Garden is $25 AUD each which we chose not to do) and, money permitting, a trip to Mt Yasur on Tanna Island which was an experience of a lifetime. Try and time trips on different days to the Cruise liners coming to the island as it can get busy.
- Buy reef shoes! (as mentioned, $10 in Kmart)
Ross & Laura

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestonRoss20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We loved this place - we had five nights in town in a back packer type hotel which we hated as it had no character and no ocean!! We were recommended by a local to try Benjor and wow - thanks Chris - good recommendation. Close to Cascades Watefalls and also the Jungle Ziplining - loved both. We also really enjoyed the kayaking tour which is run off the Beach at benjor. The girls working there are fabulous. Large spacious rooms all with great views and best of all the whole resort even though it is not a high star rating is located on the beautiful Mele Bay ocean. We adored the staff, liked the food and thought the grounds were beautiful - naturally tamed and made the most of the environment. We had swam off the main beach at high tide and the snorkelling was excellent. There is a great little private beach down the end of the property as well which we took advantage of. We willbe back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.7 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#20 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
7.3 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#29 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.8 mi away
Angelfish Cove Villas
Angelfish Cove Villas
#26 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hideaway Island Resort
Hideaway Island Resort
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
7.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fatumaru Lodge
Fatumaru Lodge
#8 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benjor Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjor Beach Club

Property: Benjor Beach Club
Address: Devils Point Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Benjor Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely boutique 3.5 star resort located 15 mins from Port Vila and 10 minutes from the International Airport, on 23 acres of absolute oceanfront, all Villas with ocean views, fabulous restaurant and wedding chapel, simply delightful. Attractions within 5 mins from Benjor include kayaking and snorkelling tours, diving, horseriding, zorbing, Firedancing, Jungle Zipline, International Golf Course, Botanical Gardens and the world famous Cascades Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Benjor Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benjor Beach Club Hotel Port Vila
Benjor Beach Hotel
Benjor Beach Resort
Benjor Beach Club Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing