We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SINGLE EXPERIENCE”
Review of Benjor Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Benjor Beach Club
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Travelled to Vanuatu by myself on a much needed holiday. Found this a very safe and welcoming country for a single female and pretty close to home (Christchurch) - from Auckland only a short three hour flight which was great. Benjor was a very comfortable place for me to stay - the staff were very helpful and had the best smiles. Tours were organised by the front desk as well as my buses into town - only had to wait for a relatively short time about 10 mins usually and the price was pretty resonable about NZ$5. The managers were great - always had time for a quick chat and I did not feel isolated or unsafe in any way. The room was large and had a great view of the ocean. I enjoyed the food in the restaurant most nights and there was lots of variety. I would definitely come back but hopefully next time with friends!

Room Tip: If travelling by yourself chose a room close to the main restaurant and reception as not too far to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank missadventure500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here recently for a week. Great location, restaurant over looks the ocean and friendly staff. The place is clean and well looked after. On Friday nights, the restaurant has a great curry night.

There are many great tours that can be booked through reception. I recommend the day trip on the Coongoola boat. The boat takes you out to a small island where there is snorkelling either just off the beach or a smaller boat can take you out to a reef, BBQ lunch on the beach and the opportunity to hold baby turtles.

There is a zipline activity on the hill behind the resort and there is stand up paddle boarding just down the road. The resort has a pool and a mini golf course. I also had the opportunity to go to one of the local villages.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EmmaJR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a great exprience at this charming resort. We have travelled the pacific islands many times but never to Vanuatu and we were glad to have made the change. This is a non-commercial unspoilt country with friendly helpful people and amazing scenery and snorkelling. The resort itself is on very large grounds and situated on the ocean front at Mele Bay. We spent most of the time at the resort and enjoyed snorkelling and the restaurant - can recommend the Friday Curry party - very good food and value with the local beer Tusker. Our room was large and had all the amenties we needed like a fridge, seperate bathroom and electric jug. We did some shopping in Port Vila but can't say we really enjoyed the city - noisy and not many shops of a high standard. The staff and managers were very helpful in arranging tours and we would definitely come back to Benjor and Vanuatu.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moondog158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I had high expectations for Benjor Beach Club and I was a little let down to be honest. We had to leave early due to my grandfather's death and the staff didn't really go out of their way to make this process any easier for us. The location was quiet but quite a long way from the town and any grocery stores, making it difficult to self cater. The rooms, though spacious and comfortable, were only cleaned every 3 days and for "addition services" you had to pay something ridiculous like $100 for something other resorts do willingly for free. By the second day, especially living with a teenage boy, our room was very dirty and the bathroom was crawling with bugs. The towels were constantly wet because they weren't being replaced and the weather wasn't great during out stay so we couldn't dry them in the sun.
I found the lighting in the rooms to be quite depressing to be honest, and found myself staying in the bedroom not wanting to face the harsh lighting of the living area. The resort itself is quite picturesque but the "deck chairs" they provide for you to admire this, probably will cost my a future trip to a chiropractor. They advertise a mini golf course, which is concrete, making the actual mini golf playing extremely difficult.
The quality of the wifi was shocking and may as well not have been there at all - I couldn't even load a web page.
The staff were very friendly and we met the manager who was a kind man and offered to drive us to the restaurant we were dining at one night after we waiting for an hour in the pouring rain for a bus the reception told us they called...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygirlmm, General Manager at Benjor Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Chloe, given your young age and recent loss we wont be commenting too much on the approx 36 hours you spent at the Benjor Beach Club. Suffice to say the room cleaning arrangements are clearly stated and at no time were you quoted by a local, who don't use dollars as their currency or the management, $100 to clean your room. We are happy to accommodate any extra cleaning on an as required basis. We are pleased you found the location quiet and the rooms spacious and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Not to be mean to the people who work there as the local people are just lovely and made my time at Benjor quiet enjoyable but the place itself is quiet old and dirty which I'm not a fan of. I didn't like how the rooms were cleaned every 3 days as I found that they got dirty quickly. Also didn't like the fact the curtains did nothing to keep the light out of the room. Aircon would have been nice considering a lot of people who visit are not use to the heat. If you are wanting to sleep in I'd double check on where you are staying as if there is a family with kids you can hear them clearly if they wake up early and start running around. Also found the pillows useless to sleep on. Every night getting to sleep was a hassle as it was warm, sweaty and just not comfortable.

Location wasn't too bad.

Food at the restaurant was nice but was annoying if you wanted to order something and get told number of times that they have ran out of it! Quiet annoying!

Overall if I go back I'd only be popping in to say hello to the lovely staff. I'd rather be staying in the Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlemissgiggles379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygirlmm, General Manager at Benjor Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you littlemissgiggles379 for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Benjor Beach Club. With our ongoing renovations, we have this week replaced curtains in the ocean front rooms with blackout curtains. Our rooms are serviced every three days but this can be increased to daily for a small fee if required. By commenting that location "wasn't too bad" we are assuming you meant that the Benjor Beach Club's location had you close to the top experiences that Port Vila has. Within a couple of kilometers on average we have the Cascade Falls, Ziplining, Zorbing, The Summit Gardens, Tanna Coffee and The Secret Gardens, not forgetting Kayaking Vanuatu operating from our property plus snorkeling and swimming out the front. The Holiday Inn you mention is approximately 3 times what you paid for your stay at the Benjor Beach Club plus it is approx 8 times further from these top attractions than the Benjor Beach Club .. Its like paying for a mini and saying you would prefer a Mercedes. Yes, in our endeavours to provide fresh food in our restaurant we do occasionally have items missing off our extensive menu. We don't advertise we have air-conditioning preferring the fresh sea air and fans over resort rooms with non-opening windows and air-con..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a quick break at this picturesque resort. We were pleasently surprised at what we got for the price. Very spacious rooms with ocean views and good facilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful with information on Port Vila and Vanuatu. We also enjoyed the restaurant. This resort delivered above expectation.

Room Tip: We liked the view from our room which overlooked the pool and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinaboy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We chose Benjor simply because we wanted somewhere quiet to start our holiday, and being out of town we thought this was the perfect option. From the moment we set foot in the foyer, we were blown away. The staff were amazing during all aspects of our stay. They were all incredibly helpful and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was organised efficiently.

We stayed in an Ocean Villa and were not disappointed with the view. Our room was open-planned with simple furnishings, however it was very comfortable. The grounds are immaculately kept, and as previously mentioned by others, the resort is right on the waters edge. We went snorkeling directly off the beach, wading out about 30 meters (make sure you bring reef shoes!), where there were hundreds of fish in amongst the coral.

While we didn't venture into town during our stay, we did organise tours that picked us up from the resort. We did an Around Island Tour that was fantastic and did a Kayak tour from the Resort's Beach. We also choose to go to the Summit Gardens, however we went by bus not tour, which was easily organised through Benjor's front desk.

We ate most of our meals at Benjor's restauraunt and can say that there is a great variety and good quantity in all the meals. The restauraunt is a great place to sit back and enjoy the view and the quiet calming surrounds.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and can thoroughly recommended staying at Benjor.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nickers0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.4 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
157 reviews
7.2 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
183 reviews
5.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Ripples on the Bay
Ripples on the Bay
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
74 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benjor Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjor Beach Club

Address: Devils Point Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £62 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Benjor Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely boutique 3.5 star resort located 15 mins from Port Vila and 10 minutes from the International Airport, on 23 acres of absolute oceanfront, all Villas with ocean views, fabulous restaurant and wedding chapel, simply delightful. Attractions within 5 mins from Benjor include kayaking and snorkelling tours, diving, horseriding, zorbing, Firedancing, Jungle Zipline, International Golf Course, Botanical Gardens and the world famous Cascades Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Benjor Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benjor Beach Club Hotel Port Vila
Benjor Beach Hotel
Benjor Beach Resort
Benjor Beach Club Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing