We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, self-catering apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacific Lagoon Apartments
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2011

A reasonably spacious 2-bedroom apartments right on the lagoon with a view of Erakor Island. The apartment had a small kitchen that was well appointed, and a living and dining area. The TV had only 2 stations and was quite small.

The suite was comfortable but there were several small issues that could have used some maintenance. The shower nozzle was missing a bracket to hold it on the wall, the toilet was leaking water onto the floor, the shower drained very slowly, and the screen door catch was broken which caused it to swing in the wind. We didn't use the pool, although other families were, as it looked very cloudy.

The caretaker here was very helpful and friendly, and gave us tips and advice on anything we asked about. He did note that locals may walk right through the property and things left out may vanish. So there is security on site, patrolling the premises at night.

The property is too far out of town to walk to downtown, but buses are easily caught, and cost only 150vatu each way. It is a very short walk along the beach to the Erakor Island ferry or you can just borrow one of the kayaks and paddle over.

There was also free wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at Le Lagon for 5 nights and found it to be too large and impersonal for us so moved to these apartments. We found Chris the manager to be very helpful and informative and for $100 per night less were very impressed with our lagoon front apartment No 8. The interior of the rooms are modern and clean and we loved having a kitchenette and separate lounge with dvd player for rainy days. Would be great apartments to take 2 children to as has extra bedroom with single beds. Small pool which needs work as heavy rain had run from the roof into the pool making it green for a couple of days. The view from our room was exceptional and even though swimming in the lagoon wasn't that great, it's only a short walk to use the pools at le lagon and we spent time snorkelling at Hideaway Island (which is a must-just catch a bus up there and $15 each to snorkel there all day) and Pele Island (the best snorkelling 500m off shore-local villagers can take you to the spot on their boat). No surf while we were there unfortunately, but did couple of dives with Nautilus. Reef dive was great but dive on wreck was average-covered in silt and no fish or coral swimming around it. Recommend Cafe du Village for dinner-great steak. Expensive to eat out so handy having BBQ at apartments-buy great steak for $16/kg and buy salad stuff from local market. Supermarket few kms up the road $1.50 per person one way to town/supermarket on bus. Overall would recommend Vanuatu as the people are lovely-Bessie at the apartments at reception great example and great snorkelling and beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Loved No 8- water front though attached to another unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krazykiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We have just returned from our second stay at Pacific Lagoon Apartments, which we thoroughly enjoyed again. The staff (especially Bessie) were so helpful and friendly. The location is superb, quiet and close to Port Vila and other resorts. The apartment was very clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. Highly recommend these gem to any traveller to Vanuatu. Hopefully we will return again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frenchtoowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

On arriving from NZ Flight Centre had not notified the resort we were booked in for the week for my daughters wedding which was to be held at Erakor Resort just across the Lagoon.However on handing over our paper work the managers soon sorted it out and we were upgraded to a Lagoon Apt which was brilliant having a view of Erakor resort. Bessy in the office soon had us sorted out ,which were the best tourist attractions to visit. We took her advise and enjoyed everyone of them. We found the management very helpful, lovely and interesting people, filling us in on the culture of the people. We really enjoyed our stay at reasonable rates. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marka2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed for a week at Pacific Lagoon Apartments in an ocean view room with our 2 children aged 7 and 9. It was so relaxing. Kids kept themselves occupied between snorkling and hunting crabs in the lagoon, kayaking on the free kayaks and swimming in the pool. No need to try to entertain them. Even though it rained nearly every day we were there the kids were still in the pool as it was still around 28 degrees. We were able to get up every morning and sit out on our verandah having a cuppa and watching the locals as they went about checking their fish traps etc. Although the kitchen is small it has everything you need. We used the BBQ several times instead of eating out. The supermarket Au bon Marche Numbatu is a short bus ride down the road and is the best one to go to.
Bessy was full of lots of knowledge and was able to let us know a few of the ins and outs to make our visit much easier. The managers were extremely friendly and very helpful. The only problem we had was a light not going which was fixed straight away for us. The rooms were tidy and clean and had everything we needed. It is not 5 star accomodation but has more of a homely feel. We were extremely happy with our choice of staying here as resorts are not for us and we will hopefully be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Pacific Lagoon is a welcoming place right on the Lagoon in Port Vila. The management, Kate and Bessie are most welcoming, friendly, efficient and helpful. The apartments are comfortable, well-fitted-out and very clean. PLA is a comfortable and convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaduong_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We made a last minute decision to go to Vanuatu during the recent school holidays. We are a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 teenage children) after looking at Last Minute and Wotif websites PLA came up as a place that would be able to accommodate us within close proximity of Port Vila. The positive comments about the place on Trip Advisor also helped me to make a decision to stay there.

We stayed in a Lagoon View Apartment, with two bedrooms and a fold out bed (to accommodate the 5th person). There was certainly plenty of room for all 5 of us. The fold out bed was very comfortable (I slept on it one night to make sure it was comfortable). Their is air conditioning in the main bedroom and fans in the other rooms. The view across the lagoon was superb. We could use the kayaks to go across to Erakor Island (the other side of the lagoon) or up to Le Lagon.

The Kitchen was well equipped for us to cook (rather than eat out), but in all honesty, we bought supplies from Bon Marche (supermarket up the road) and the fruit and veggie market (in town) for breakfast and lunch at the apartment and then we ate out every night. Yes, eating out can be a bit expensive, but no more than what you would pay for a night at a restaurant in Melbourne. The only night we paid more for food at a restaurant in Port Vila than we would have at home was at Le Rendezvous. However, the food was well worth what we paid, especially given the view that we had after arriving at 6.30pm; it was well worth the cost.

If you want to you can buy meat from the supermarket and cook it on the BBQ in the new BBQ area near the pool. This area has lounge chairs and is under cover so that you are not sitting out in the sun all the time.

The rooms we were excellent value for money. Whilst they need a bit of TLC they were more than adequate and I would have no hesitation in going back there. In fact, I would go back to PLA as it is in such a good position that if you need a place to base yourself, we wouldn’t go anywhere else. My thoughts are that the more you spend on your accommodation, the less you spend on the superb food that can be found in many of the restaurants in town or at some of the resorts. Sure there are other places that are more up-market and have restaurants and other facilities that some people want, but after having stayed at other places we realised that we liked the adventure of trying different restaurants and not eating in at the place that we were staying.

What was really good was that we had a fabulous view from our Lagoon View Apartment. The pool was really good and clean (an outside contractor comes in to assess the water quality) and there was rarely anyone in it - which meant the kids loved having a pool to themselves, and so did we. Bessie, ‘who is the best’, made sure that if there was a problem then she would fix it and was on call during the week days. There is also a Manager who lives on site and who you can speak to if you need to. When we had a problem, we told Bessie about it and within minutes, she had someone fix it. She also gave us a contact for someone what would drive us around for a lot less than the usual tour guides, but who also ensured that the tour would suit our needs. Bessie was also a wealth of (local) information.

The surrounding gardens are clean and well maintained and the only noise we heard one night was the dogs howling at the full moon, not that it lasted very long. Other than that there was just the sound of the waves as the tide was coming in.

A close restaurant you can walk to is a Chinese Restaurant (their signage says ‘The best Chinese Restaurant’) apposite the road into Le Lagon. All I can say is that the food there was really good and the best ‘won tons’ I have ever tasted (and that says something given that we regularly eat out in Vietnamese restaurants back in Melbourne). We ordered a beef dish and the owner came over to make sure it was what we really wanted as he was concerned that it would be too spicy for us. Everything we ordered had genuine flavour and you could taste the various herbs and spices in the meals. Other restaurants that are in town and just a short bus ride or a good walk are:
Chill - a ‘safe’ bet – the food is consistently good, nice view, shame there is no outside seating area, especially in the warmer months.

The Port is also a good ‘safe bet’, but is a touch pricy for what I would consider to be “Pub Food” back home, but, in all fairness, it is a good meal and you get very generous servings.

The Vietnamese restaurant in town is also good value for money and is worth going to.

The good thing about being close to town is that there are so many different places to eat at and we have never had a bad meal. In fact, make sure that you do try Vanuatu/Santo Beef as it is so tender, you will never want to eat beef anywhere else.

The buses run regularly past the driveway at PLA, in fact we used to joke about the fact that we had to wait a whole minute once before a bus came along. The 150 vatu into town is worth the trip, sometimes you might be taken a little bit out of your way (due to the other passengers on the bus) but you also get to see a little more of the local area. You can walk into town, but when you start out there is no footpath so you just have to be a bit careful. As far as feeling safe walking to or from town we did this during the day and the night and felt completely safe doing so.

A must is to go to is Honeymoon Beach. Catch a bus that takes you away from town (past Breakas) and then out past the Pango Village. It will cost you 200 vatu to enter the beach (Douglas will make sure that you pay, but will also make sure that you are comfortable while you stay there). We were the only people on the beach and the snorkelling was really good (in fact I think it was better than Hideaway Island), and temperature of the water is really warm. Getting home can be a little more difficult, but if you begin to walk back home, you will pass the turnoff to Paradise Cove and eventually a bus will make its way past you. You could walk back to PLA but if you don’t want to walk back you may have to wait a little longer than a few minutes to get a bus back home. Don’t wait at Honeymoon Beach – not sure how often the buses come past given that they only go there if people ask to be taken there, so it is better to start to walk back and keep an eye out for a bus on the way back from Paradise Cove.

So, if it is 5 star luxury that you want you won’t get it at PLA. If it is a place to stay and relax and use your money more wisely on food and tours then PLA is a great place to stay and the management will do what they can to ensure that you have a good time while you are there. Having been to several places over the years I would be more likely to go back to PLA – in fact I would like to be able to bring the whole family back again, along with a friend for each of our three children. We would then book two apartments and would be well catered for at a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tistru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.3 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
1,579 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
322 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
226 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
201 reviews
1.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Lagoon Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Lagoon Apartments

Address: Pango Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £97 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Lagoon Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the water's edge in a peaceful garden setting Pacific Lagoon Apartments is conveniently located, a little out of town, at the mouth of picturesque Erakor Lagoon, near other resorts and 4 kilometres from Port Vila town centre. Our eleven 2 bedroom apartments are fully serviced, have well equipped kitchens, satellite TV, in-house DVDs, kayaks and barbecue. Our friendly staff will look after you and PLA can be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Lagoon Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Lagoon Apartments Hotel Port Vila
Pacific Lagoon Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing