We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pacific Lagoon Apartments
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for the family”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Good value, great quiet location only a quick and cheap bus ride into town, friendly and helpful staff - recommend Seth the local driver for any outings you want to do. The kayaks were particular highlight - free and fun on the lagoon at high tide. A low tide walk will take you to the Erakor island ferry in 5 mins.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allofus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    51
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
107
30
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed for a week (2 adults & 3 kids) and were very happy here. Chris the manager is so helpful and friendly, he really makes what would be probably just an OK place to stay into a really enjoyable experience. He dropped us off to shop (and waited to take me back), drove us to the jetty when we wanted to eat at Erakor, drove us around Vila to show us the non tourist sights and even took us up to the Mele Cascades to save us the hassle of finding a bus. When I mentioned my daughter was interested in trying a coconut he got the gardener to harvest and prepare some for us straightaway. Full of helpful advice and interesting stories, he clearly loves working in Vanuatu and being involved with the local people as his volunteer coaching of cricket shows. As a result staying here (with the fact that you do have to self cater and go and buy food - beef is very nice!) rather than being stuck in a resort really encourages you to get out and experience the culture a bit more. Thanks Chris, we learnt a lot and had a great time.

The apartments theselves are a bit old but well maintained and kept very clean by the lovely staff. The DVDs, free WiFi, pool and kayaks are all handy to keep kids distracted. The beds are comfortable, the only minor annoyance in the whole stay (I am a very light sleeper) were next door's dogs barking at the local fishermen at night. However the location, being a bit out of Vila
is probably overall a lot quieter than average, but still plenty of buses go past to get into town (150 Vt).

We brought our snorkelling equipment and I had a bit of a look at the Erakor lagoon. Not much coral and fish (lots of starfish) but if you hunt around there are a few patches worth a look - follow the pipe which comes out from the shore near the Erakor ferry jetty, at the end are some clownfish etc. Bring your reef shoes as it is rather rocky to wade out at low tide.

We tried Erakor Island twice. I couldn't recommend the restuarant (kids got microscopic serves of fish and chips for 1700 Vt and they ran out of gas so our meals took an hour!) but the Melanesian night on Thursdays is actually pretty good value and good fun.

Would definately recommend Pacific Lagoon Apartments to any other families wanting to stay in Vila.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiji_Novice255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Best value in town. Wonderful hospitality from all the satff. We arrived in the evening and Chris, the manager, offered us his butter, tea, bread for breakfast the next day. He drove us for dinner that evening and also the next morning downtown for shopping. 2 bedroom apartments very claen with free wifi facilities. Laundry room, barbcecue facilities and clean swimming pool. The gardener will gladly provide you with fresh coconut from the garden!! Wide choice of DVDs and books at the reception. Only 5 minutes from town (150 vatus in public buses)
My wife and I enjoyed evry minute of our stay in this peaceful hotel with such a wonderful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is a great option for families traveling and site seeing around Efate (the main island) or Port Vila (the main city). The apartments are located about 10 minutes south of Port Vila in what seems a fairly remote location. This means you are away from the noise and business of the main city, but only a 10 minute (and $6 for 4 people) van ride into the city.

What we liked:

-Two good sized bedrooms which are on opposite sides of the apartment from each other
-A nice living area that we used often at night
-A small, but usable kitchen which includes stove, oven, microwave and small fridge.
-They had 2 single kayaks to use on the lagoon which is free of charge
-Across the lagoon (a couple minute water taxi ride) is a good restaurant
-A relaxed atmosphere
-A VERY helpful manager who will give you tips on making the most of your stay
-An extensive collection of DVD you can use for free

There were really only 2 things we were not completely satisfied with:
-The beds are not as comfortable as you will get in a well known hotel
-The television (which we used at night to chill) was very small and hard to hear

If you are on the fence about where to say, let me say that the manager of this place is second to none. He guided us to the supermarket, day trips, the most important things to see and experience. He is happy to help secure you rides and tours, but will also happily direct you to other established services that do the same thing. We felt very looked after by him. He did small things to make our experience fun, like having coconuts cut down from one of their trees so we could try coconut milk before we left. It is the small things like that which make the difference between a fun holiday and a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: If you are in a waterfront apartment you will notice local people walking around the lagoon during l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShawnintheGong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Reasonably well appointed 2 bedroom apartments, although like the rest of the Vanuatu accommodation we stayed in, desperately in need of an update. Chris the manager is very helpful and friendly and can arrange local transportation or tours on request. Reception has a wide selection of things to keep everyone amused on rainy days, including games, DVD, books and magazines. There are 2 kayaks available for use on the lagoon although it would have been handy to have 2 more so we could all go out together.

We opted for a lagoon view apartment at an extra 4000 VT per night, probably not worth the extra money as all the rooms are identical (hence the average rating for "Value") and you get woken early by locals walking along the waterfront in front of the bedrooms. The apartment was a good size it has 2 seperate bedrooms and a living/kitchen/dining area plus outdoor dining area which we used for most meals. The communal pool and bbq area is well fitted out with lounges and tables for socialising and eating at.

Getting in to Port Vila centre or to Mele Bay is really easy. Hail a mini bus at the end of the drive and tell the driver were you want to go - 150 VT pp to town and 400 VT to Mele bay. Avoid Port Vila on cruise ship days if you can as it gets very busy and prices go up.

For those brave enough to try kava there is a tourist and female friendly Nakamal (First Buket) in walking distance, turn left at the Pacific petrol station and take the road towards the Digicel tower. It's half way up the hill on the right hand side.

Erekor island resort is a short ferry ride away. Access to the island is free after 4:30pm and the restaurant there is very good. They also do movie and pizza nights on Wednesdays and Melanesian nights on Thursdays. Also in walking distance is a number of other resorts with bars and restuarants.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms quieter in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Wicked stay, Chris the manager at pacicfic lagoon was amazing, from when we first arrived. he was very helpful, friendly and full of infomation on where to eat and places to see, the rooms were tidy, clean and house keeping was AMAZING. We loved the apartment living you buy your own food at the local super market bring it back to cook or use bbq, you can save so much staying in apartments and not ordering food (if you perfer this option) ...you save money for trips as there is so much to do. If we were to come back to vanuatu i would definitely stay there again. We were a approx 5mins on bus to town which was cool and you walk to the top of the drive (2min walk) and catch a BUS, the most we waited was 5mins. I felt it was money well spent for accommodation and have nothing bad to say...LOVED it

Jenna& manu (NZ)

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenna Manu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Hi all I just got back from Vanuatu, we were there for a friends wedding which was held on Erekor Island, When i booked I had no idea how close Pacific Laggon Apartments was to both the wedding venue and Port Villa Town, Its fantastic all you do is walk out to the road and catch a "bus" for $1.50 and they take you where ever you want to go. Chris and Lilly at Pacific Lagoon are AWESOME, so helpfull and friendly. The ladies who do the cleaning are fantastic we would return each day to a clean apartment fresh towels and made beds, I felt very spoilt. The apartments are good size and very tidy - We had one couple and two friends sharing the two bed room and there was more than enough room. Our room opened up onto the lagoon it was great!

Room Tip: Ask for close to the lagoon, our room opened up to it and it was so nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.3 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
1.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Lagoon Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Lagoon Apartments

Property: Pacific Lagoon Apartments
Address: Pango Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Lagoon Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the water's edge in a peaceful garden setting Pacific Lagoon Apartments is conveniently located, a little out of town, at the mouth of picturesque Erakor Lagoon, near other resorts and 4 kilometres from Port Vila town centre. Our eleven 2 bedroom apartments are fully serviced, have well equipped kitchens, satellite TV, in-house DVDs, kayaks and barbecue. Our friendly staff will look after you and PLA can be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Lagoon Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Lagoon Apartments Hotel Port Vila
Pacific Lagoon Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing