We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect apartment option on the Lagoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacific Lagoon Apartments
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect apartment option on the Lagoon”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in October 2013 and Chris, the manager, and Anthea went out of their way to help us with trip suggestions and dinner recommendations around Port Villa.They also arranged several day trips for us that were spot on. The acccomodation was exactly as advertised - great location right on the Lagoon, opposite Erakor island. We particularly enjoyed the use of the free kayaks every morning! Self catering apartments are a great idea for those that would like to spend their money on activities,rather than flashy hotels. Might be too basic for some though. Easy and convenient transportation into town, only 15min, by bus. These can be flagged on nearby road and seem to pass every few minutes and only cost 150vatu ($1.50) per person. Taxis cost quite a bit more but still cheap.

Would not hesitate to stay here again next time we're in Port Villa. Keep up the good work, Chris!

Lee+B

Room Tip: Lagoon view rooms good for sitting out and enjoying the view at night but we were more than happy wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TannaTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    51
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
108
31
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our third visit and it keeps getting better! Our first stay was 5 years ago and after a visit in April we decided to come back these past Sept holidays and share it with friends. Our two families had adjoining bungalows on the lagoon, where we could sit back while the five girls aged between 10 and 16, could freely snorkel, kayak and swim. The bungalows are two bedroom which allows separate 'space' for parents, a small kitchen and a good size family area. They were spotlessly clean and the 'cleaning fairies' visited daily while we are out exploring the island. Chris the manager has a wealth of knowledge of the island and places to see, and nothing is too much trouble for him. Roy the gardener, masterfully had fresh coconuts for me daily, and we send a big thank you to Chris, Anthea and all the staff for making our holiday so personal and memorable. You won't be disappointed staying here, as all of the people we have met here have had the same experience and have said it's a little gem! Staying here gives you the unique opportunity of BBQing fresh wagu beef and dining on your own veranda overlooking the lagoon, or taking the 5min bus trip into town, or the short walk to Le Legon, Breakers, or ferry to Erakor Island for an evening meal. PLA may not be 5 star but they don't claim to be, however what they offer is spotlessly clean, spacious, self-contained bungalows perfectly positioned on the lagoon and gardens, and exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. Yes, it is a short B Bus drive out of town but we have had wonderful times talking to the locals on the bus and enjoy coming back to the quietness, being that short distance away gives us.It truly feels like coming home each time we visit, and yes, we will be back next year, hopefully with more friends!

Room Tip: Bungalows on the lagoon are the best, however, we met people who had garden bungalows and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

At this price we weren't expecting much, but we weren't expecting to be told not to leave shoes or laundry outside as there was a public walkway 10 metres from our room. Nor were we expecting a thick layer of dust on the hairdryer and light switches in the kitchen so dirty that it made me glad we took some hand sanitiser. My brother had sheets with a suspicious looking stain on them and a lovely surprise when he opened his bedside drawer and found a used cotton bud. The kitchen was so small dark and dismal the thought of cooking there was ridiculous. The amenities were so poor we left after one night after paying for 4. We booked for 4 people - there was no room for 4 people to sit inside. For not much more money you can stay in much better - DON'T BOTHER.

Room Tip: Don't even think about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 662Annie662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavan, Manager at Pacific Lagoon Apartments, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We were surprised and disappointed to see your comments here on trip advisor.
As a small property we pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable accommodation supported with quality service, as well as being approachable at all times. When asked about your early check out you gave no indication there were any issues with the apartment other than you finding it too small for your liking. We would always try and address any issues guests had with their accommodation. Unfortunately our first knowledge of your other complaints was your trip advisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My mother and I stayed here from 30 August through to 6th September. If you are looking for clean, comfortable, self catering accom then Pacific Lagoon fits the bill. We had a garden view room- and were still only a few steps from the lagoon.Chris, Anthea and the rest of the staff are very helpful and able to answer any queries regarding PV.
There is a small shop about 5min walk towards Pango village which we found to be useful (saves going all the way into town for some water or chips), and the centre of town is a short bus ride away. We did actually walk into town once & found it to be not a bad stroll- mostly all down hill on the way in.
Snorkelling opportunities right on your doorstep or you can hop on a water taxi just round the lagoon abit and go across to Erakor Island (1000vatu redeemable).
Would definately stay here again when returning to Vanuatu- perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: We had no 3 :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rens33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A couple of metres from water's edge with the ocean in view and an island across the way- what more could you ask for? We spent many hours watching the locals fishing with nets- either in the shallows or casting from canoes. The accommodation is basic- but functional and clean-with a terrace to sit and view the lagoon.
We went to rest- and it was incredibly quiet- other guests were well mannered. The pool area is very clean & up to date furniture/ lounging opportunities- both sun & shade. Kayaks provided to explore the lagoon. Only a short trip out of PV- but lovely & quiet (except for the Independence Day -week!- of celebrations- which affected all of PV- huge sound systems blasting music. Inescapable for the holiday duration.) We were ably assisted by the on-site manager Chris- always available & gave us great insight into the ways of Vanuatu- and pointed us in the right direction for tours, meals etc. Chris is a friendly, approachable man & certainly enhanced our stay in PV.

Room Tip: Go for a lagoon view- any would be good.Much better than pool/garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie0359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My family and I stayed at the Pacific Lagoon Apartments from the 10th-17th of July and it was a great stay! This is was our time to Vanuatu and the manager couldn't have been more helpful. His advice about transportation, food, tourist attractions were all spot on. He really made our stay memorable. While we were in town the manager went out of his way to chase us down thinking that our flight had been scheduled an hour early! As for the apartments they were great for families and the location was perfect. Its just out of town about 5 minutes by bus. We had the lagoon view apartment looking across Erakor Island which was beautiful. They have free kayaks which could be used and they were fantastic. We kayak around the whole of Erakor island which was great fun. Don't be afraid to get out and explore the island!

Room Tip: Lagoon view apartment can be really windy at nights however is a great view during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pracharee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Pacific Lagoon Apartments isn’t a 5 star resort and doesn’t claim to be, but it can give a true taste of that laid back lifestyle of Vanuatu. Chris, the Aussie manager, has the job everyone envies! He did make a big sacrifice though and resides in one of the apartments with a garden view instead of the ocean view. There are about a dozen apartments and you only have 1 apartment next to you and lots of greenery separating you from the others. Apparently Erakor Lagoon can get quite windy, but I enjoyed listening to the swaying coconut palms outside. And speaking of coconuts, don’t be afraid to ask Chris or one of the staff to pick a few fresh ones for while you are there. If you haven’t planned any tours or activities before you get there, don’t worry, Chris has all the local knowledge and will arrange anywhere you may want to go. He has endless suggestions. Even if you have booked a tour through an agent it would still pay to ring and confirm they will be picking you up as sometimes tours are cancelled if there are small numbers. In particular I suggest just doing a private tour around the Island on the ring road with Seth and his mini bus which Chris can arrange. There is an art gallery next door to the PLA which you can access via walking along the beach, or keep walking a little further and get the ferry to a restaurant on the other side of the lagoon. If you are after accommodation that is very quiet and great for kids and BBQs and only a short mini bus trip away from the center of Port Villa, give it a go, you won’t regret it.

Room Tip: Next I will try a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeikoLade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.3 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,450 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
1.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Lagoon Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Lagoon Apartments

Property: Pacific Lagoon Apartments
Address: Pango Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Lagoon Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the water's edge in a peaceful garden setting Pacific Lagoon Apartments is conveniently located, a little out of town, at the mouth of picturesque Erakor Lagoon, near other resorts and 4 kilometres from Port Vila town centre. Our eleven 2 bedroom apartments are fully serviced, have well equipped kitchens, satellite TV, in-house DVDs, kayaks and barbecue. Our friendly staff will look after you and PLA can be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pacific Lagoon Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Lagoon Apartments Hotel Port Vila
Pacific Lagoon Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing