We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Beautiful Location by the sea"”
Review of Blue Pango Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Pango Motel
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Reviewed 22 December 2011

What it lacks in frills, it surely makes up by being right next to the sea. I slept and woke up to the sound of the waves. I don't think any other budget hostel in Port Villa can boast of that.(I am not talking about the resorts of course!) For $16 per night, I thought it was value for money, considering how expensive everything in Port Villa is.
And the ferry to Erakor resort is a ten minute walk away.Trip to the island requires a 1000 Vatu voucher, but you can spend it at the resort spa,cafe or to hire snorkeling gear.
Lee, the owner was very helpful.Even woke up at 6 A.M to check me in and let me check out at 12:30. The bus is just a three minute walk away and the buses will take you around town and to the airport for 150 vatu. However, the path does get really dark at night. I recommend taking a torch with you.
Don't expect anything fancy. But great value for money and I met some wonderful people there.Would stay there again if I went back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rabi_Awan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

The fact that the Blue Pango is for sale may contribute to the terrible upkeep. Our room did not have fresh sheets, the bathroom had not been cleaned for some time, we had to rat around in a back room behind the main living quarters to get cooking utensils. While we were told the cost was $1200 vatu on the phone and that was the price advertised on the sign, we were charged 5000 vatu, which we paid because we needed the room for one night. We're not picky travelers, but this was the worse place we've ever stayed. Clearly, the owners just want to sell and are no longer interested in keeping the place up. Go someplace else!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed 10 days at blue pango. We loved it.
It is back to basics however I would choose to stay here over some of the other more expensive resorts.
I booked directly with Solomon lee via email. Helen (solomon's wife) is lovely. She provided us with some fish one night which we cooked for dinner. She also cooked some fish cakes another night.
My two kids aged 16 and 13 had a great time playing soccer with the kids from the village next door. Some good friendships were made with some of the kids even making there way to the airport to say farewell.
Buses are frequent and cheap.
Wifi is free and reliable.
It is also close to some other resorts like breakers (sat night feast) and paradise cove (see review).

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodies0039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

5 minuts by local bus from town, down a gravel road, you dont expect his little hideaway to have such a lovely view. lying in the hamic under the pandana trees and chilling out. it gets the trade winds so can be cool on a blistering day. 5 minuts from the posh resorts if you want a meal or to lie on sandy beaches with a coctail. I didnt expect the well equiped little kitchenet which was a bonus or the little shop at teh top of the drive for basic suplies. i had a streem of crew on shore leave stying with me and they all exclaimed " what a wonderfull peaceful hideaway i'd found and cheep!" it was great to play with thier two dogs and kittens too, after a month away that was a real bonus.

Room Tip: i took the cheepest room available. it slept 3 and was spactious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This is a very nice place, if you want to stay close, but at the same time out of the city, located right next to the ocean,we enjoyed a beer watching the waves in a hammock..., however, there is no sand beach for swimming, the accommodation is quite basic, we even had a few cockroaches; the owners are friendly, but do not speak English very well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

If you are looking for a budget place in Vila (which is very expensive accomodation wise)then you can't go wrong with Blue Pango. It is about 12 motel style units around a clean blue swimming pool right on the coast. There are palms along the shore with hammocks swung between, and a refreshing sea breeze that you dont get in town or on the lagoon. There is no beach but snorkelling outside the reef is good.
The rooms are smallish but clean and have a kitchenette and sheets were changed and fresh towels brought daily. They have free internet if you need it. It is along pango Point road about 1km past the "Le Lagon resort" turn off, and maybe 3km from the town centre, but this is not a problem as buses pass the Blue Pango every minute or so.
Very good.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Hotel has a great location: At the oceanfront (however no sand beach), very quiet because outside of the city (but buses to the city pass by every couple of minutes) and away from the road. Our room had aircon and a small kitchen (that we didn't use). Every room has a small terrace with table/chairs. Moreover, there are hammocks and a swimmingpool.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenHarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
3.1 mi away
Pacific Paradise Motel
Pacific Paradise Motel
#43 of 47 in Port Vila
29 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
#39 of 47 in Port Vila
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Treetops Lodge & Bungalows
#47 of 47 in Port Vila
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
361 reviews
3.3 mi away
Traveller's Budget Motel
Traveller's Budget Motel
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
397 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palms Resort
Coconut Palms Resort
#31 of 47 in Port Vila
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pango Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pango Motel

Address: Pango Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £22 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Pango Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Blue Pango Motel. Located in Port Vila, 5 minutes from the City centre, but far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet of Vanuatu. Sat in a tranquil location overlooking the ocean with beach access, We have five triple private rooms, four double private rooms,and two 5 bunk-bed shared dormitories. All rooms have their own kitchen with refrigerator/freezer, gas stove and sink. There are also extra communal cooking facilities complete with cooking utensils provided. All private rooms have their own ensuite with hot shower and flush toilet. The dormitories have a shared shower/toilet. All rooms have fans and windows are protected with mosquito screens and have shutter style wooden vents to let the cool breeze in. There is a cool North Easterly breeze most of the year. Free wifi available. Secluded terrace with outdoor seating. Due to Cyclone Pam our swimming pool is non-operational but will be available from December 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Blue Pango Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Pango Hotel Port Vila
Blue Pango Motel Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing