We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Vanuatu Gem, a True Haven”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Worawia Holiday Haven
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
North Shore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Vanuatu Gem, a True Haven”
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We were lucky enough to spend a week at Worowia mid December - what a gem. This property has three fully self contained bungalows in a garden setting overlooking the pool and another larger one adjacent, as well as a dormitory style bungalow.
Service was A1.Nothing was too much trouble.
We were picked up at the airport as promised.
The locality suited us perfectly - away from the city, but a close bus ride there if we wanted to go, Worowia is set close to Mele village, the largest on the the Island.
Our bungalow was furnished simply, in 'Island' style, in keeping with the surroundings and locality.
The daily tropical breakfast( included in the tariff) was always beautifully presented with a variety of local fruit and complete with a flower on the tray.
Hideaway Island (with the best snorkelling) was a five minute walk to the jetty and five minute ferry ride away.
Mervyn, Janet and Valerie are a great team.It's the small things. What a delight to come back one afternoon to find that a lovely Christmas decoration had been hung on our front door.
If you are looking for value for money, want to enjoy staying somewhere other than a hotel or a big resort then Worawia is the place. It offers so much for so litte cost.
We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthShoreBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
3
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2009

I stayed in Worawia Holiday Haven for 7 days in late October 2009. I enjoyed my stay there. It is located 15 minutes bus ride from town centre, 5 minutes walk to Hideaway Island’s ferry and Mele Beach, and 15 minutes walk to Tana coffee shop (it is a worth visit for coffee lovers). Also, the resort is located very close to Mele Village which is the biggest village in Vanuatu. When I travel overseas, I always like to see how local people live and I had an opportunity to see this by visiting the village with one of the staff from the resort, Valerie who lives there with her family. That was a great experience for me.
Accommodation is basic however it was comfortable and clean. The room was cleaned everyday. The biggest asset of the resort is the staff. They are kind, friendly and helpful. Although I was the only guest, staff arranged a BBQ dinner one night – beautiful Vanuatu food with wonderful French wines (The owner of the resort brought those drops from his restaurant in Town. Thank you). I very much appreciated their gesture. It is a quite and relaxing place to rest and enjoy the holiday.
Thank you for making my holiday enjoyable and memorable. My special thanks to Janet and Valerie. I hope to see you again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EndlessTraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2009

a place where the staff really care for you and do everything to make you a wonderful and unforgetable holiday

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank monikow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Worawia is a fantastic place to stay!

I found the staff to be friendly and warm which is something you can miss out on in bigger hotels. They have great bungalows for families and friends with your own kitchenette which was useful during our stay. As a woman traveling with long hair i know the importance of a good water pressure and this place had great showers! The room was clean, fresh and comfortable. The Dorm was great as well which is a good option for backpackers as Vanuatu doesn't have that many!

This place is a few minutes out of town (10 min) but it is close to hideaway, nippers restaurant (awesome place to hang out especially on Sundays with wood fired pizza and you can watch the local volleyball tournament), mele cascades (which are amazing) and the secret garden. I think its nice to be out of town because Villa can get pretty noisy at night. If you do want to go into town backpackers may be interested to know it cost us 300vt by bus so cheap! the owner can also arrange transport for you as well at a similar price. all in all one of the best budget options in Vanuatu I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I have just returned from a relaxing stay at Worawia Resort , which is located at Mele Vanuatu

It has recently re opened after a period of closure due to refurbishment in late 2008 / early 2009

The property is small & very private, it is located close to Hideaway Island & only a 10minute drive to town, there is ample parking on site if you were to hire a car or a bus stop is located right outside the front of the property.

The Bungalows are self contained, very clean & comfortable, spacious with timber floors, ceiling fans & renovated bathrooms - they are set amongst a very tranquil garden & overlook the very inviting swimming pool which also has a swim up bar.

There is a great undercover BBQ area close to the pool & plenty of lovely lawn to laze the days away in the sun while reading a book.

Staff are warm, friendly & very accommodating

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate07syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanuatu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I have recently returned from a relaxing stay at Worawia Resort, which is located at Mele in Vanuatu

It has recently re opened following a period of refurbishment in Late 2008/ Early 2009

The property is small & very private, it is located close to Hideaway Island & only a 10minute drive to town. There is ample parking on site if you were to hire a car or there is a bus stop right outside the front of the property.

The Bungalows are self contained, very clean & comfortable, spacious with timber floors, ceiling fans & renovated bathrooms - they are set amongst a very tranquil garden & overlook the very inviting swimming pool which also has a swim up bar

There is a great undercover BBQ area close to the pool & plenty of lovely lawn to laze the days away in the sun while reading a book

Staff are warm, friendly & very accommodating

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VANUATU58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2009

i work 7 days a week and i needed to get away for a week, so i went to Vanuatu . i stay at worawia resort mele Port Vila, i enjoy the simple living, very relaxed and peacefull, it was what i needed. close to beaches and town. if you want to get away from a busy life i say its the perfect place to stay. i will go there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank shoe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.0 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pacific Paradise Motel
Pacific Paradise Motel
#43 of 47 in Port Vila
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worawia Holiday Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worawia Holiday Haven

Property: Worawia Holiday Haven
Address: Kumul Hwy, Mele Efate Island | PO Box 1625, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Worawia Holiday Haven Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing