We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money and great for families!”
Review of Cocomo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocomo Resort
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value for money and great for families!”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We are a family of 2 adults, 2 children and a grandparent and we stayed at Lagoon Beach for 5 days. The children loved the swimming pool which isn't huge but still great fun, there is a fantastic children's playground on site with swings, tree houses and a huge trampoline. There are free canoes and life jackets for the children to go canoeing in the lagoon that the resort backs onto. There is a great little supermarket a two minute walk up the road for lovely fresh bread and cream buns! (and all the other basics too!) We used the islands buses for 100VTU (AUD$1) and they came past every couple of minutes and took us wherever we wanted to go include Cascade Waterfalls and the Secret Garden (which has snakes and geckos that you can hold if you like!) My 5 year old son LOVED it! The trip into town takes about 10 mins by bus and it's interesting to look at the surroundings as you go past. The town is very small and doesn't have a lot to offer so it's more of a relaxing type holiday. There is very little shopping to do I am sad to say! The resort itself is very nice and the 2 bedroom apartments are great with air-con and a kitchen and all the mod cons you could want. Nicely furnished but no bath - only shower. Annie at the on-site cafe made lovely dinners and lunches for the chilldren and fruit juice cocktails and my kids said hers were the best chicken nuggets in the world (and we've travelled a LOT!) They are home made from fresh chicken breast and they are excellent! Annie will bring the food to your apartment or you can eat in the dining area/hut which also has a pool table. Felix came and saw us each day to check we were ok and see if we wanted to participate in any activities on the island. He also sorted out the internet and other little things we needed help with. I would recommend this place to families - it's great value, in a good location and provides good activities for the children and there is food provided if you can't be bothered! PS You definitely need to take reef shoes as the bottom of the lagoons and most of the beaches are covered in huge starfish which the kids loved to pick up but it would hurt if you stood on one!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom apartments are in groups of 3 or 4 - an end one would have less neighbouring noise. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LJtravels71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    58
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
168
68
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
BRISBANE
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed in September 2011 and found the apartments to be nice and clean, well maintained, and serviced daily. The bus service was great as the hotel is situated along a main road. The longest we ever waited was 10 minutes. The only drawback was the pool was small, and did not seem clean, and the resort was very quiet. Quiet to the point of distraction. Very few activities for the children. In the hotels defense thought it was just before school holidays so this may have influenced the amount of children around.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank usa2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is our 4th time we have been to Vanuatu and the first time we have stayed here. It was perfect for us - my daughter and I prefer the pool while my husband and son loved the lagoon so we had the best of both worlds. Big playground which kept the kids entertained, and cafe on site which was great if we were too lazy to do our own cooking in the apartment. Close to town so we just had to walk out to the side of the road and catch a bus going past - we were charged a range of prices for the bus but they are still cheaper than a taxi.
The apartments were quite soundproof - we had children staying in the unit next to us but didn't hear them at all (although they may have heard ours!!). It was very clean and really convenient to have a washing machine and dryer as well.
My only niggle would be that by the end of the week the pool water was a bit murky (it was clean and clear when we first arrived) so maybe the pool maintenance needs to be done more regularly?
Other than that we had a great time and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at Lagoon Beach for four nights in January and had a lovely stay.

We stayed in a waterfront bungalow, which was beautifully appointed and was perfectly positioned. The bungalow had everything we could have asked for, including a kitchen, comfortable lounge area, a very comfortable king bed and a lovely bathroom. It also had a laundry, which came in very handy.

The resort is in an amazing spot. We felt like we were the only couple staying there throughout the trip, we had no trouble taking a kayak or snorkelling equipment and exploring the area. We had starfish, sea cucumbers and all sorts of tropical fish directly under our balcony.

The resort is in a handy location, with buses easily flagged from the main road, and the trip into town being about 10 minutes. There is also a basic supermarket a fve minute walk away for essentials.

We had dinner two nights at the restaurant, fish and chips both times - delicious!! We also had some amazing cocktails by the pool. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely ladies in the cafe.

The only word of warning - I did wake up one morning to find that my shoes and snorkelling equipment had been taken from the balcony after I had left it to dry overnight - no doubt local children keen for some new equipment. Just make sure you lock everything up at night!

Otherwise we had a fantastic, relaxing stay at Lagoon Beach and would recommend it as a location.

Room Tip: The waterfront bungalows are in an amazing location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kellytaylor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband and I spent the last 5 nights of our stay in Port Vila here and we just loved it! We had a waterfront villa with our own private beach, and the villa itself was superb! Everything was brand new and in immaculate condition, it has a lovely spa bath, large shower, self contained kitchenette and laundry, there was nothing really lacking at all! The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and the food is very affordable by Vanuatu standards. Although the resort is out of town, it’s only a short 5 minute drive by public bus, at a cost of 1.50 one-way, well worth it for where you get to stay. This is definitely a great place to come back to after a big day of tours/shopping/relaxing in the sun : )

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rfead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold coast australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We are currently staying at the modern, clean and fantastically maintained lagoon beach apartments. The staff are amazing, so incredibly friendly. Feels like you're part of the family - not just another tourist! The lagoon is a great place to swim, kayak and hang out. Big playground for the kids in a really safe atmosphere. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hendo300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We booked the Beach Spa Cabin at Lagoon Beach after researching any number of resorts in Vanuatu and it didn't disappoint, it lived up to everything other people had written. Although the resort was probably more than 50% full when we visited we hardly saw a soul except for the gardening staff of which there were plenty to keep the grounds looking immaculate. The cabin itself was exactly as photographed on the resorts website and the private beach was a wonderful oasis to escape to with a book or for an afternoon snooze. The team at Lagoon Beach were all happy & helpful and in their own quiet way made the stay especially enjoyable.

The owners of the resort have recently acquired Iririki Island Resort. Which may in time be a double edged sword. On the positive side guests at Lagoon Beach have free access to Iririki and all its facilities but on the other hand we did notice the supervision staff were being switched between resorts and you were never sure who was running the resort from one day to the next. I suspect this was just part of the bedding in process at Iririki but unless it is sorted soon there could be ramifications in the future for the smooth running of Lagoon Beach.

Finally, don't be put off by any comments you read or hear about simple requests taking too long. You're on Vanuatu, you're running on Island Time, just relax and go with the flow. You weren't in a hurry to get anywhere were you?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
661 reviews
2.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,461 reviews
1.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
475 reviews
3.9 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomo Resort

Property: Cocomo Resort
Address: Teomou Road | Tassiriki, Port Vila, Efate 9999, Vanuatu (Formerly Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments)
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocomo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cocomo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments Hotel Port Vila
Lagoon Beach Hotel Apartments
Lagoon Beach Port Vila
Cocomo Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing